Salesforce Senior Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Salesforce Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Sep 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 60 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Salesforce CEO Marc Benioff and Keith Block
Marc Benioff and Keith Block
8 Ratings
  1. "Love the Ohana culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Great Ohana culture 2. Real care to employees 3. Fast response to the trend of cutting edge techs 4. 1:1:1 Model is great 5. Frequent acquisition and quick integration

    Cons

    1. Working remote require some business trips every couple months

    Salesforce2019-09-20
  2. "Salesforce Canada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture, Life Balance, Innovations

    Cons

    I should think more ... Really nothing

    Salesforce2019-09-04
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Good benefits, decent place to work, weird corporate culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Salesforce full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very good benefits, competitive salary, good co-workers, good priority on giving back.

    Cons

    Management out of touch, insane corporate culture, non-existent career development, major layoffs.

    Advice to Management

    Stop crushing satellite offices and let them be autonomous.

    Salesforce2019-05-07
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Unusual development organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software QA Engineer in Burlington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Salesforce full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Generally a pleasant work environment, but it's very fast-paced and demanding.

    Cons

    They don't have separate developers and SQA. They do "Hybrid Engineering." Which means everyone tests and everyone develops. So naturally testing often gets neglected. Their medical benefits were 2nd or 3rd rate. They were losing good people where I worked because of this.

    Advice to Management

    Stop with all the extraneous meetings and allow people to focus on their work.

    Salesforce2019-09-09
  5. "Great Culture, Dev Nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bellevue, WA
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are great and welcoming. Benefits and comp are pretty solid as well, and being able to work remotely full time is a great perk. Work life balance is also insanely good, with unlimited PTO as soon as you are a mid level engineer. Which for a bigger company is a huge perk.

    Cons

    Their core codebase is a nightmare to develop on. 30 minutes of build time to just fail out due to a minor build issue. And just because tests pass locally doesn't mean they will pass in the remote build, and you won't find out for 4 hours if you are lucky. This wouldn't be the worst if it was well documented, but everything is passed on via tribal knowledge, so if you are on a small team with maybe 1 engineer with... tenure, pray they know what they are doing.

    Show More
    Salesforce2019-09-10
  6. "Terrible recruiters!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time

    Pros

    I think in my life dealing with 50+ more companies recruiters, Salesforce recruiters are the worst. They have reached out to me through linkedin asking for updated resume and once they get hold of it they disappear. I try reaching out to them asking for updates for never hear back from them. Mind you, I work in FANG and this has happened to me atleast 4 times now. The only reason I am interested in this company... is because I happened to speak to few managers and looks like they really care about their employees. Sadly, the recruiters dont!

    Show More

    Cons

    Recruiters, stay away from them!!

    Salesforce2019-09-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Current employee at Salesforce"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very supportive and caring environment for employees. Excellent people policies and benefits Open and feedback welcoming environment Great opportunities to network, enhance career and learning

    Cons

    Salesforce is huge and there are so many products with a lot of acquisitions happening. You might feel lost sometimes.

    Salesforce2019-08-13
  8. "Ohana!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance Good environment Good benefits

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons

    Salesforce2019-07-30
  9. "good work life balance, nice team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good work life balance, care about employees

    Cons

    big company, bottom down management

    Salesforce2019-06-29
  10. "Best Work Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -- flexible work culture -- good company to learn -- flexible to try different responsibilities -- great management

    Cons

    -- no stock refresh

    Salesforce2019-07-11
Found 60 reviews