Salesforce Senior Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Find jobs for Senior Manager

Salesforce Senior Manager Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 109 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Salesforce CEO Marc Benioff and Keith Block
Marc Benioff and Keith Block
17 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Success Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Success Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fast paced, at the forefront of innovation, very philanthropic - 48 volunteer work hours per year. Young and fun culture. Amazing training and learning. Lots of upward mobility. Growth stock with Employee purchase plan. Conveniently right downtown by union station. Global offices for expanded opportunity to move. Change is the only constant. REcognizes and is working on diversity in the workplace (ie. hiring and... promoting more women). Very collaborative!

    Show More

    Cons

    Change is the only constant so we move so fast that sometimes work is redundant or not as well planned out as it should be for optimal effectiveness. Sometimes Political. Leadership is stale in the Customers for Life organization.

    Advice to Management

    Org Structure and communication of progress and vision can be improved in the commercial business unit for scaled programs execution. Difficult to understand who does what.

    Salesforce2015-04-22
  2. "Culture is key"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Top notch culture, awesome benefits, ability to give back to the community.

    Cons

    Hard to affect change and drive product direction that is meaningful to the market as opposed to the "cool" flavor of the month being driven from the top down.

    Advice to Management

    bring back the startup vibe and allow product decisions to to bubble up from the lowest levels.

    Salesforce2013-02-11
  3. Helpful (13)

    "Want PTSD - Work for Salesforce"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Program Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plush office space Snacks Nice view from the upper floors

    Cons

    Salesforce is the most toxic organization I have ever worked for, and I've worked for a lot of organizations as both an FTE, contractor, and consultant over the past two decades. Trying to pare down what I want to warn others of is difficult. I'll just bullet it out and you can decide what would wear you down, disrupt your sleep, and leave you paranoid, the most. - 1:1s with senior management where the most... hateful things are said about your character, etc., and then afterward, the manager acts as though it never happened. -Pressure to give Salesforce a glowing Glassdoor rating after less than 30 days at the company when you do not know enough to provide an accurate review. - No written reviews, something called a 9 box where management provides their opinion of you and tells you it exists but then says you are never allowed to see it, per H/R. - If you want to apply for an internal position, you must have your manager's permission first. If you tell your manager you want to apply for the role and he/she does not want to lose you, he/she just says, no, you do not have my permission. Game over, you are going no where. - If you are allowed a desk (many have to submit to hoteling and never knowing where they will sit day to day), no personal plants, photos, or non SF toys allowed. They want a uniform look to the desks. -Forced volunteerism, if you do not log your 50 hour minimum of volunteer hours per year, you will be shamed at team meetings. Doesn't matter if you have kids, sick parents, 60 hour work week, whatever, you are expected to make the minimum. -No criticism of Benioff permitted. And don't ever say out loud that you found it disturbing to see a laying on of hands and someone praying over him as though he were a prophet at an internal company meeting. Management will quickly remind you that he is leading the 4th industrial revolution and he is the leading mind of our time. -If you are managing young hourly employees, be prepared to be instructed that you are to tell them they MUST go to team dinners, volunteer events, and SF "fun" activities but this is not work, so they don't get paid. If you push back, you will be reprimanded for "not being Ohana." - Teams are run by popularity. Backstabbing, shaming, and shunning are used to get the teams to stay quiet about how bad things are. People who speak out about behaviors, lack of professionalism, etc. are labeled, "unOhana" and told that they are not acting like family. - When you interview and you take a position, there is ZERO guarantee that the role you interviewed for and were hired for is the role you will be doing. The management opinion is to hire highly qualified people, they will be so grateful to be permitted to work at Salesforce, they will do whatever job we give them. I kid you not, you may have more than a decade of experience, be highly technical, have managed teams, and be hired for a technical role, then be told you are going to do data entry level work and you will be glad you are permitted to be at this company doing that. -If you are uncomfortable participating in some public events, e.g. parades, events, etc., and SF is participating in one, there is incredible pressure to spend your weekend in the parade or event. The expectation is that Salesforce and its needs come first. I cannot stress this enough, you are told that Salesforce is YOUR family and your family comes first. A lack of loyalty to the company will get penalized far more significantly and quicker than complete incompetence, maliciousness, or even harassment. Salesforce demands absolute devotion.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hate to break it to you, but you aren't all that. Your technology stack is antiquated, think Oracle lite. You are an employer, you are not and never should be anyone's family. Your employee turn over rates continue to go up, this is not a good sign. The people that remain cannot go anywhere, golden handcuffs, lack of real technical knowledge. As a company you are slow to move, lack agility, and if anyone ever... decides to seriously compete, you are in trouble. Oh, and Benioff is a good businessman, he is not the 2nd coming. The slavish devotion is off putting to anyone with a healthy world view. EVERYONE should be questioned, that is how you learn and grow. Putting him and his views off limits, is not a long term strategy for success.

    Show More
    Salesforce2019-09-09

    Salesforce Response

    September 13, 2019Linda Aiello, SVP International Employee Success

    Thank you for your review. What you've described is concerning and not at all what we want to see at Salesforce. Please reach out to your Employee Success Business Partner to discuss your concerns so we can learn more. If you don't feel comfortable doing that, please reach out anonymously ...

    Show More
  4. "Amazing role with plenty of future opportunities!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Program Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture, challenging problems, teamwork mentality

    Cons

    None, Salesforce offers learning opportunities, community involvement, and career support from Day 1.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Salesforce2019-07-31
  5. Helpful (1)

    "So proud to be a part of the Salesforce family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was working as a contractor at Salesforce for several years and was very impressed with the company culture. They have an incredible sense of inclusion and really value their employees. The work/ life balance is incredible and there is a lot of management encouragement to spend time with the family.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons... it's likely the most rewarding company that I've worked with.

    Advice to Management

    The Core values are amazing and it's so great to work with my team at Salesforce!

    Salesforce2019-07-12
  6. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Senior Program Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Salesforce for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced Aligned goals Fair compensation Socially Conscious Excellent benefits

    Cons

    Sometimes unreasonable expectations Not-invented-here syndrome -- sometimes

    Salesforce2019-06-28
  7. "Great benefits, work ethic and business ethics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Customer Success Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits that cover all life aspects (insurance, well-being, time off, parental leave etc 1:1:1 model where the company donates 1% of it's product, 1% of its profit and 1% of the employees' work hours

    Cons

    Corporate work - politics over territory, long processes, physical distance from high level managers

    Salesforce2019-06-23

    Salesforce Response

    June 27, 2019Linda Aiello, SVP International Employee Success

    Thank you for your review – it's good to see that you enjoy working at Salesforce, our benefits and our giving back model. Regarding the cons, I encourage you to reach out to your manager, or if you feel more comfortable, to your Employee Success Business Partner to discuss how we ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (29)

    "Going down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, unlimited PTO, the name of the company, Media and market stronghold, Ruling the cityscapes

    Cons

    Company is imploding. The 3-4% annual merit raises aren’t good enough. Existing employee salaries are sub-par. No RSUs or stocks given to employees anymore. Incentivization by pay is a distant dream. Management and upper management take the meat of the money - typical of any company getting avaricious. Heavy attrition in critical functions is chipping away at all levels. Politics and power grab is the main game and... not quality of work. Nepotism, favoritism is definitely on the rise. Transparency is questionable.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your existing employees well and you may save yourself from a sure shot downfall.

    Salesforce2019-05-27

    Salesforce Response

    June 13, 2019SVP, ES Business Partners and Global ER

    Thank you for your review. As you said, we're growing fast, but we're very committed to creating and maintaining a great workplace. In order to ensure we're doing that, feedback like yours is very important. If you feel comfortable to do so, can you reach out to your ESBP to provide ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Good overall, depends what team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineering Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and pay.

    Cons

    Each team is different. First team had so many re-orgs that it became toxic. Second team is so stuffy that it's hard to be yourself.

    Advice to Management

    not sure.

    Salesforce2019-05-22
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Manager Product Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salesforce is an amazing company to work for. That being said, your happiness is HIGHLY dependent on being on the right team with the right manager and leader.

    Cons

    Sometimes the promotions are questionable. The process is 100% questionable - but this is a big initiative from our CMO - to offer more visibility into this.

    Advice to Management

    A lot of managers need sensitivity and management training.

    Salesforce2019-05-06
Found 109 reviews