Salesforce Senior Director Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Find jobs for Senior Director

Salesforce Senior Director Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Salesforce CEO Marc Benioff and Keith Block
Marc Benioff and Keith Block
14 Ratings
  1. "Great company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great senior leadership with a real vision for the company and industry Transparency senior leadership make a real effort to communicate to all levels and they listen to feedback from employees, customers and partners Great culture of Diversity and Giving back . Competitive compensation

    Cons

    Work life balance can be challenging It is very much a sales organization so other departments take a back seat at times Senior Management are great but they need to give more authority and autonomy to the regions. Very HQ centick for Senior Management positions

    Salesforce2019-09-17
  2. "Great place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company really cares about its employees Competitive salaries Strong focus on giving back, equality and sustainability Growing organization with lots of opportunities to move across fields and functions Open and transparent communication from senior management

    Cons

    Still growing as a organization and needs to decentralize some decision making and push P&L controls out to the field more. There is a lot of change as the company continues to evolve it is usually positive but if you are not comfortable with change ....

    Advice to Management

    Decentralize ! Too many senior management positions based out of HQ.

    Salesforce2019-08-13
  3. Helpful (74)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director, Product Management in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Please are great and super supportive. When you join the company, everyone is there for you, to help you learn and do the best you can. 6 months in, it's still the same. In addition, the culture of the company is great. Not only are you encouraged to support your colleagues but you're also encouraged to help the community. Volunteering is a big part of the company and trust and customer success are one of out most... important values. We're not just saying it. We're actually practicing it too. In addition, for such a large company, we're moving lightning fast, we 3 major releases a year. This dictates a fairly fast pace for planning, developing and releasing.

    Show More

    Cons

    I was asked that question when I interviewed candidates for an open position and I had a hard time answering the question. There are the typical large company issues such as many groups to coordinate when working on something, a bit of politics and bureaucracy and a lot of processes.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Salesforce2018-12-03
  4. "Salesforce is truly a best place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Innovative, fun, great team members and leadership, lots of opportunities for career advancement, flexible schedules, awesome locations and events, corporate values.

    Cons

    Very fast moving and need to keep a quick pace, which can be too much for some people, where others thrive in that type of environment. Employees seem to want to impress leadership rather than challenge or manage up. Leadership are like celebrities and are treated as such.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to manage up, not only down.

    Salesforce2019-07-22
  5. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director, Product Management in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Culture that focuses on the customer first and trust - Autonomy in roles - Interesting work

    Cons

    - Re-orgs are common - Sometimes too focused on the next "shiny thing" - Company has grown, so less like a startup than before

    Salesforce2019-07-09
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Salesforce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, market leading products

    Cons

    None, excellent company and culture

    Salesforce2019-07-08
  7. Helpful (17)

    "Dysfunctional Ohana"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I had a hard time finding any

    Cons

    Very difficult environment to work in. Upper Management is terrible. Bullying type if environment

    Salesforce2019-07-28
  8. "Great company to build your career with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Amazing, talented and dedicated people to work alongside - Great company culture, and one with an eye on its broader impact on the world - Grow your career there once you make the right connections internally

    Cons

    - Still thinks it is a start-up. Some processes still immature for such a large company - Sales environment is still unhealthy in places despite best efforts. There are a few well rounded leaders. - Pace is relentless at times

    Salesforce2019-06-17

    Salesforce Response

    June 20, 2019Linda Aiello, SVP International Employee Success

    Thank you for your review. It's great to see that you enjoy working here and have been with us for more than 10 years! Regarding the cons you have listed, we know that our fast growth can be challenging and I encourage you to reach out to your manager or your Employee Success Business ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director Engineering in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Salesforce full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    State of the art tools and technology

    Cons

    They work you to death

    Advice to Management

    Work life balance is difficult burn out is certain

    Salesforce2019-06-13
  10. Helpful (49)

    "Good employer that makes themselves look great through extensive marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you are in the right business area, maintaining a good work/life balance is very easy. There are some employees spending as much as 50% of their time on volunteer activity - literally logging more than a thousand hours of volunteer time a year. The support that the company offers its employees in times of need is exceptional, and the care and understanding of middle management is genuine. I care for all of my... team members well being, and support them personally and professionally as much as possible. So do my colleagues.

    Show More

    Cons

    Underneath the facade, Salesforce is focused on perception more than reality. VTO isn't volunteer time off at all. It's voluntold time on-top (of existing work load) for most of the company. We have targets for VTO set, but many business units aren't staffed appropriately to actually take the time off. Instead it's just adding work load on top of our existing work load. Also, the company really exemplifies the... wealth gap, with those at the top heavily rewarded with expensive trips, awards (including cars, watches, etc.) while the majority of the company is paid somewhere around the 75th percentile of industry. We once had a travel freeze but the company still sent the top 100+ employees to a big shindig in Hawaii - and they broadcast it and insisted that everyone across the company "tune in" to it remotely. Wow.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on results and less on perception. Eventually the wrong (or right, perhaps?) person will see behind the curtain.

    Salesforce2019-02-16

    Salesforce Response

    March 1, 2019President and Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this detailed feedback. We believe it's important to gather our leaders together twice a year to align on our business priorities and have tough conversations about things we need to work on as well as recognizing exceptional performance. We ...

    Show More
Found 51 reviews