Salesforce Business Development Representative Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Salesforce Business Development Representative Reviews

Updated 15 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 86 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Salesforce CEO Marc Benioff and Keith Block
Marc Benioff and Keith Block
10 Ratings
  1. "Fostering learning and professional growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time

    Pros

    Great leadership Management that works to provide as many resources as possible Incredible team of inspiring people who are intelligent, driven, passionate, and happy to help one another

    Cons

    Extremely fast paced environment, important to strike work/life balance

    Salesforce2019-07-08
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Great pay, culture & expectations - not so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great pay - Great benefits - Well known, fast growing company - Supportive management** (contingent on your patch) ** - not all managers are like this from my experience of discussion with others

    Cons

    - Constant changes (whether to which team you're on, or your job description) - Promotion path is convuluted (interview, get approved, and they decide they want to close the position and then constantly will make you re-interview for the same position you were once approved for. Could be waiting 4 months+ after acceptance - Work hard, and only hard. Play doesn't really exist here. - Passive aggressive... directors that will never tell you "Good job" when hitting 100% of your metrics, micro-focused - Culture isn't what it's cracked up to be (sadly). Backstabbing, and bullying tendencies from other team members - business makes the best decisions for the business completely not acknowledging the toll it puts on employees (ie. 35% YoY growth, which is great, but comes with a cost) - Work life balance in positions that come after BDR are apparently non-existent

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Encourage your workers, quit with the passive aggressiveness - Focus on enhancing culture. When asked to address issues with repeat offenders do not say "It's too tough to fix" - Figure out a better way to support career growth through promotion path that is more straight forward - Add some play into the "Work hard"

    Salesforce2019-06-11

    Salesforce Response

    June 20, 2019Rachel Courtney, SVP, Employee Success

    Thank you for your review. Some of the behavior you have described is concerning and not at all what we want to see at Salesforce. I'd encourage you to reach out to your Employee Success Business Partner to discuss your concerns. If you don't feel comfortable doing that, you can reach ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (1)

    "BDR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great culture - They hire very smart, driven people

    Cons

    - Some of the budget that made the culture so great is starting to disappear

    Salesforce2017-09-29
  4. Helpful (3)

    "This is I had been looking for my entire professional life!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been a professional for about eight years have held various positions with different employers in different locations - Salesforce is by far the best place to work. The culture is amazing and it is felt on a daily basis. As an employee, I feel valued and trusted; Salesforce invests a lot in its employees and the career opportunities are incredible. I wouldn't want to work anywhere else.

    Cons

    I can't say that there are any cons.

    Salesforce2017-03-12
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Salesforce is a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Development Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce

    Pros

    -Great company culture -Tier 1 software platform, we do well against competition -Money is good

    Cons

    -Sometimes can get stuck waiting for headcount for promotions leading some to switch to external and then jump back in at a higher role -At times may need to battle internal politics

    Salesforce2017-02-10
  6. Helpful (2)

    "The good and the bad =)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great benefits (education, health, social outings, etc.)

    Cons

    - competitive nature - difficult to move around internally in the hubs (since they tend to be sales focused, primarily)

    Advice to Management

    - be nicer to your employees! (in sales, at least)

    Salesforce2017-01-31
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Salesforce.com"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salesforce takes care of you. Great Work/Life balance and plenty of ways to get involved either at work or volunteering within the community. Equal pay for equal work is a core belief of the organization. Lot's of great benefits and driven people to work with.

    Cons

    Fast-paced, for some this may be too much. Management has numbers to hit and will make sure that you are performing in a way that you will hit them. Sometimes competing priorities can drive out productivity.

    Advice to Management

    Be careful that the internal competition among team members does not become a demotivator. Make employees more aware of the other roles they can contribute to in this company and it will help to retain some of the best talent.

    Salesforce2016-04-22
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great Sales training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Development Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Salesforce for more than a year

    Pros

    Great sales training and was taught a lot about how to sell. Working at Salesforce.com makes it SUPER easy to find a job once you want to leave. Head hunters will call you a lot.

    Cons

    Awful culture. "Build your brand" is a sentence that is being thrown around constantly. It effectively means "strategically suck up".

    Salesforce2015-08-27
  9. "Amazing Company !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Career growth and the Culture

    Cons

    Nothing , I do not have any Cons

    Salesforce2019-09-16
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome place to work, great benefits and helpful managers.

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of

    Salesforce2019-09-06
Found 86 reviews