Saipem America Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Saipem America Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
43%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Saipem America CEO Stefano Cao (no image)
Stefano Cao
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "Saipem gives you the opportunity to learn a lot about the industry(in 2 reviews)

  • "Wide variety of work venues, opportunity to travel, rewarded for proficiency, good benefits(in 2 reviews)

Cons
  • "You better be Italian to be promoted (only 4 managers not from overseas)(in 7 reviews)

  • "Other departments do not allow room for growth and sometime the attitudes of the managers can be a little anti-social(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Piping Foreman in Ottawa, ON

    I worked at Saipem America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Best platform in the world

    Cons

    Can't say. Yet. Cuz I have no idea

    Saipem America2018-08-12
  2. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Designer in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saipem America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Self driven with no supervision

    Cons

    Noisy working environment, easy to distract from ongoing tasks

    Saipem America2018-12-03
  3. "Electrical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Electrical Engineer in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saipem America

    Pros

    I gained good experience and senior employees are super helpful. The salary and compensation were awesome. The compa ny is very well managed and operated.

    Cons

    The company office in Calgary is new, thus they do not have as many projects. They start laying off people as soon as the projects are completed.

    Advice to Management

    The management should keep its staff for longer period.

    Saipem America2016-07-29
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Saipem America full-time

    Pros

    Lots to learn and flexibility in roles

    Cons

    Disorganized, beuraucatic, First preference to Italians for all higher level positions.

    Advice to Management

    Transparency, better communication with employees and equal opportunity to local employees.

    Saipem America2016-06-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great atmosphere - top notch folks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Civil Designer in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Saipem America full-time

    Pros

    - Good to above average benefits. - Qualified management & staff not hired just "because we had to have somebody" - Everyone here actually speaks English, Management here from Italy who actually are concerned about improving their English skills, and not just avoiding them. ESL Leaders in EPCM companies all over western Canada with their poor English skills and appalling written grammar could learn a lot from... this refreshing European attitude towards integration. - Interesting perks like free/reduced membership fees to fitness clubs, $300.00/yr. fitness budget that you'll have no problem spending at MEC 10 minutes walk south of here.

    Show More

    Cons

    Having recently merged with Saipem Globally, all software upgrades & decisions alike need to be made at head office in Italy. This creates huge problems when trying to get necessary software upgrades for project requirements at all, let alone in a hurry.

    Advice to Management

    - Stop centralizing every little decision with head office overseas. We cannot be dynamically competitive like that. Management and IT here have their hands tied now. - Stop worrying about offending us with wage rollbacks. This isn't Europe, and everyone understands about economic realities and would prefer wage cutbacks first before seeing Canadian pipeline work shipped overseas and then get laid off.

    Saipem America2015-06-26
  6. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Tool Pusher in Bogotá, Bogota

    I worked at Saipem America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    excellent company, good payment, excellent partners

    Cons

    No cons, xxxxx, xxx xxx xx

    Saipem America2019-08-21
  7. "Saipem (Sonsub division )"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ROV Support Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saipem America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked with great people that helped me along the way

    Cons

    Company moved it's Sonsub division over to Aberdeen Scotland.

    Saipem America2018-05-16
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Project Logistics Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Project Logistics Manager in Houston, TX

    I worked at Saipem America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Worldwide, innovative in their industry

    Cons

    Poor Senior Management, Does not follow corporate governance, partial to expats, no formal training for managment

    Saipem America2017-11-07
  9. "Quality Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Coordinator in Santos, São Paulo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saipem America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Multiculturalism, dynamic, methodology of work, opportunity new experience, challenge and

    Cons

    Multiculturalism, different philosophy of work,

    Saipem America2017-09-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Buyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX

    I worked at Saipem America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good company overall, great experience working cross culturally

    Cons

    to many procedures to follow as handed down by corporate

    Saipem America2017-06-27
Found 50 reviews