Saint-Gobain Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Saint-Gobain Reviews

Updated 6 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Saint-Gobain CEO Pierre-André de Chalendar
Pierre-André de Chalendar
389 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Nao vejo desvantagem por parte da empresa no momento(in 25 reviews)

  • "Algumas regras que sejam um pouco desnecessarias(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Maintenance Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain

    Pros

    Good pay, Good company, Good work balance

    Cons

    Old system, Old Plant, Less training.

    Saint-Gobain2017-02-23
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Lowest Point of my Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Order Entry Clerk in Hamilton, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I honestly do not have anything good to say about this company

    Cons

    When I started at Saint-Gobain doing order entry my mental state was average but three months in, my health started to decline. I should have high-tailed it out of there the first time I broke down crying at my desk when a fellow employee tried to cheer me up by saying, "You're not one of us until you've broken down at least three times". Pardon? As time progressed, things got worse, I was brought to tears... almost weekly by the way the staff treated each other and especially management. Many times, I heard our manager call us stupid, you look ridiculous, are you a moron, etc. Shortly after that started, I ended up on anti-depressants and informed my manager and she just rolled her eyes with a sarcastic, awwww. When I received my first evaluation, I was shocked that she had written me up with a warning (and noted on my evaluation....which I STILL have a copy of) stating that I do not do enough overtime. She knew from Day 1 that I could not come in early or stay late, my husband did not have a car and I had to drive him to work and pick him up after plus he worked where there was no bus service. Then, she said the worst thing to me anyone could ever say....she said to my face, "you are sucking the life out of me and the staff". That was my breaking point, the lowest point of my life. Years later, I am still affected by those words that cut me like a knife. I am glad policies have changed for the better, I am happy situations like mine will no longer be tolerated but the damage has been done and still to this day, I need proper therapy (that I cannot afford). The company I work for now is incredibly supportive and I am still on anti-depressants and anti-anxiety but I have a better outlook on life.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Respect your staff and they will respect you back by working harder

    Saint-Gobain2018-07-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Summer Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Textile Machine Operator in Midland, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Payed well for a summer position.

    Cons

    Soulless corporate entity with very old equipment, management and business practices.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in new equipment, research & development and a younger work force. Do not take employees for granted, treat them like human beings.

    Saint-Gobain2016-11-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "There is very little room for advancement. Pay is competitive."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finishing Operator in Midland, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay. Average benefit program.

    Cons

    Very little room to advancement. Very dirty environment, working with fiber glass.

    Advice to Management

    Have a look at the employees you have in critical positions, hire based on experience not length of service.

    Saint-Gobain2014-01-30
  5. "Sales and Marketing Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales and Marketing Intern in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Huge exposure Great reimbursement scheme Friendly Team Good Management

    Cons

    For a BD role they had a full technical interview, kinda fishy but even after a decent one - couldn't make up to the PPO.

    Advice to Management

    Its good to hire technical people but understand the reason they switching to BD and a non core.

    Saint-Gobain2019-12-07
  6. "A good place to learn and test your limits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Procurement Manager in Poznań, Greater Poland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Super people - nice work atmosphere - daily challenges - frequent changes

    Cons

    - fast changing environment - unclear criteria and ways of promotion

    Saint-Gobain2019-12-02
  7. "Good to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Experience to start Helpful Staff Open source of learning

    Cons

    Too Much Stress Salaries are low Promotions are slow

    Saint-Gobain2019-12-02
  8. "Kam"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Account Manager in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work culture, salary is good. growth opportunite.

    Cons

    Found nothing as such that i found.

    Saint-Gobain2019-12-01
  9. "Maintaines"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Manager in Poonamallee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Better then work. One years off apparatice. One year finished in apparatice. Work over time is high.

    Cons

    Slowly workers. Hearing low frequency. Extra time work but salary in not coming.

    Advice to Management

    One year apparatice only. So completed please next company.

    Saint-Gobain2019-11-30
  10. "Mechanical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Maintenance in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Good work culture in the company

    Cons

    1. No proper transportation is provided

    Advice to Management

    Good Management

    Saint-Gobain2019-11-25
Found 1307 reviews