Saga Communications Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Saga Communications Reviews

Updated 10 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Saga Communications CEO Ed Christian
Ed Christian
23 Ratings
  1. "Amazing company with lots of positive influences in all departments!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Assistant in Chesapeake, VA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saga Communications part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed my job at Saga a lot. I worked at the front desk and the job description was simple and I did not have to do anything out of my daily duties unless I wanted too. The hours stayed the same every single week and I did not have to worry about anything getting switched around last minute. Everyone I worked with was friendly and helpful when I had any questions or confusion. There didn't seem to be any work... place drama which was nice.

    Show More

    Cons

    It was only a part time position and I needed more hours. Also, since you did not have to do that much daily it did get a little boring.

    Saga Communications2019-10-10
  2. "complicated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saga Communications full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great health insurance, great local crowd to work with. Some opportunities for growth because the stations essentially self-manage.

    Cons

    A lot of lip service, re: sexual harassment from clients in the field and "if you don't like it you can leave" attitude. Don't ever get sick, because if you do, you will soon recognize that you could lose your job. High stress, little gratitude from above.--they'll soon cut your commission fees because they can. Great health insurance was the real plus. And, the top brass are located far from the individual radio... stations, who each have their own culture.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Figure out how to help motivate your teams through real appreciation, rather than using the old-school stick and carrot--and then moving the carrot further away. So much bait and switching.

    Saga Communications2019-07-29
  3. "No pay increase"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Springfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saga Communications full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Wonderful people to work with

    Cons

    zero compensation offered to employees that work hard long hours creating a successful business. Saga does not care about their employees. They are based out of Michigan and have no concern what happens in low markets such as Springfield. They do not offer raises to any employees.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of the people that are making you money.

    Saga Communications2019-06-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Hilton Head Island, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saga Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working at Tge Lowcountry Radio Group has been one of the best career choices I have ever made. The staff, and management have been nothing but supportive and affirming. I highly recommend.

    Cons

    None. If your here to waste time and not dig in and work. You don’t belong in this business

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! Your truly open door policy and desire to not only listen to new ideas but implement them is a breath of fresh air

    Saga Communications2018-07-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Rewarding Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Champaign, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saga Communications full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Under excellent leadership. This is a great company to work for and individuals thrive. The products to sell are top-notch and the tools to do the job are ample.

    Cons

    If you are not an excellent multi-tasker you will find it hard to keep up with the fast pace.

    Saga Communications2018-06-14
  6. "If only the pay was better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Saga Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relatively low stress work environment, fun team, open to creative ideas

    Cons

    Low salaries, not enough vacation days or PTO.

    Advice to Management

    Please re-invest in our salaries, it's a complaint all of us seem to have. Also, we really need more than 2 weeks of vacation. Too many of us are burned out.

    Saga Communications2018-04-04
  7. "Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saga Communications

    Pros

    It’s a good company to grow with as a college student

    Cons

    If you are looking for a job that pays well this may not be the company

    Saga Communications2017-12-27
  8. "Director/Editor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Victoria, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saga Communications full-time

    Pros

    I wish there was something to write...but there isn't.

    Cons

    Bullying culture, with no desire to improve the station or its people. Broken equipment, frustrated employees, and lazy managers. One of the most toxic work environments I have ever been a part of, and sadly it appears those in charge like it that way. Those who work there are still there for a reason.

    Advice to Management

    Quit. You guys have no business doing what you do. Allow people who are passionate about television news to come in and clean the place up. Your way does not work anymore.

    Saga Communications2017-12-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Manchester, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saga Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Constantly learning and growing, meeting new people, helping businesses succeed!

    Cons

    None at all, great people to work with and for - 0 complaints :)

    Saga Communications2017-08-24
  10. "programming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Saga Communications full-time

    Pros

    financially sound, good people at the local level

    Cons

    too much corporate control over local markets, not enough opportunity for women, used to be a company with high standards but that seems to have changed in the last year or so

    Advice to Management

    trust the people in your local markets - most of them are very good and know what they are doing

    Saga Communications2017-09-12
Found 43 reviews