SYKES Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

SYKES Reviews

Updated 18 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3101 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
SYKES CEO Chuck Sykes
Chuck Sykes
1266 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It can be a little tricky to maintain customer service scores but it is nothing major(in 71 reviews)

  • "I have nothing but good things to say about my time I have been with sykes but I've always enjoyed call center work(in 70 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Representative in Blind River, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working from home no commute

    Cons

    There are no cons about working here

    SYKES2019-07-08

    SYKES Response

    July 15, 2019HR Representative

    Congratulations on your 5 years at SYKES!! We are grateful that you are a part of our global team and appreciate your dedication and commitment to giving our customers an exceptional experience. Thank you for taking time out of your day to give us a review, we truly value it.

  2. "Ok job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Sherbrooke, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES part-time

    Pros

    Easy work fun events

    Cons

    Mind numbing script, you have to be able to get over rude clients

    SYKES2019-08-12
  3. "I'd work there again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech Support Remote Agent in Vanguard, SK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, flexible schedule, possible to pick up extra shifts, good training, good supervisors

    Cons

    We were supposed to be tech support agents but early in training they brought in up-selling features, which got mixed reactions from customers, and added to call times.

    Advice to Management

    Make it possible to re-apply when turned down for application. At the time of re-application, my internet was sub-par. My application failed and I can't re-apply. It shows my application was back in Sept of last year..

    SYKES2019-07-26
  4. "Don't do it if you value your mental sanity."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cable Repair in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work at home.

    Cons

    Ohhhhh, where to start. - Terrible Hours. - Terrible Managers - Terrible Training. - Make you buy overly expensive equipment that you will use almost never. - Terrible out-dated equipment

    Advice to Management

    If you can call that management. Treat the employees like employees. Not like Numbers. By the time I was done, i identified myself by # and not by name as it wasn't relevant.

    SYKES2019-08-19
  5. "You have to be lucky with your managers and client"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    International environment, if you rub them right you can get promoted and training.

    Cons

    You are really just a number. Very low pay for the work.

    SYKES2019-07-24

    SYKES Response

    August 2, 2019HR Representative

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. SYKES strives to create a work environment where every team member feels valued and appreciated. We are sad to hear that we fell short for you and we will be working to improve the specific issues you have raised.

  6. "Nice job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Work At Home Customer Care Professional in Winnipeg, MB

    I worked at SYKES full-time

    Pros

    People were welcoming Normal pay Do exactly you were asked to do Workers Perks

    Cons

    Working at home could get tiring Mad customers due to service not working

    SYKES2019-06-12

    SYKES Response

    June 17, 2019HR Representative

    We are very grateful that you took the time to share your experience. We strive to create work environments that foster team development and growth. We know that aspects of the job can be challenging at times, but we're glad that overall your experience was a positive one.

  7. "greatt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very Good start job great ppl too

    Cons

    Nothing at all pretty great

    SYKES2019-05-28
  8. "Cool People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech Support 

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really nice people to work with

    Cons

    Management puts pressure to overwork and do overtime

    SYKES2019-05-25

    SYKES Response

    May 29, 2019HR Representative

    Thank you or your feedback. At SYKES we strive to create teams that can excel together and we are sorry to hear your concerns about management. We will be working to improve on those areas.

  9. "Bilingual Customer Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bilingual Customer Service Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Room to grow and solid support

    Cons

    Long sitting , must be equipped with quality tools

    Advice to Management

    Keep it real and always be

    SYKES2019-05-23

    SYKES Response

    May 24, 2019HR Representative

    We are happy to hear that you have had a great experience working with us at SYKES! We strive to create a work environment for our team where they can learn, grow and advance their careers in their respective field.

  10. "Okay job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, save on gas

    Cons

    Hours get cut, pressure from team leads

    SYKES2019-05-21

    SYKES Response

    May 24, 2019HR Representative

    We are grateful for your feedback. We are happy to hear that working from home has been to your advantage when you worked with SYKES. We will be working to improve on the issues you have raised.

Found 3101 reviews