SNC-Lavalin Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

SNC-Lavalin Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 797 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
SNC-Lavalin CEO Neil Bruce
Neil Bruce
150 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper Management focuses more on financials than quality or having enough people to do the work(in 22 reviews)

  • "Senior management doesn't like change, they hate creative thinking(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "3.5 best years of experience with snc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Draughtsman Mechanical in Dubai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work and life balance with Good pay.

    Cons

    I Don't see any

    Advice to Management

    Higher management should talk to staff directly instead of supervisors. Coz they spoil the game.

    SNC-Lavalin2019-03-07
  2. "Engineering System Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BIM Consultant & Coordinator in Cambridge, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Healthy Environment to work

    Cons

    Projects based hiring, No easy switch between business units.

    Advice to Management

    Need a better skill retention plan.

    SNC-Lavalin2019-01-30
  3. "mechanical engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Vancouver, BC

      I have been working at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      involvement in various phases of projects

      Cons

      bureaucracy is worsening over years

      SNC-Lavalin2019-07-04
    • "job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Engineering Technologist 

      I have been working at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      i prefer the office location

      Cons

      sometimes I feel very stressed

      SNC-Lavalin2019-07-16
    • "Poor management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Environmental Coordinator 

        I worked at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Pay was in line with industry standards.

        Cons

        Management didn't care about the well-being of field staff. Organization didn't focus on employee development.

        SNC-Lavalin2019-07-11
      • "Good times"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Vancouver, BC
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Integrated design team approach to projects

        Cons

        Bureaucratic, HR and IT are difficult to deal with

        SNC-Lavalin2019-06-13
      • "Good place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - General Manager in Vancouver, BC
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Talented dedicated and hard working staff

        Cons

        Cloud of uncertainty as to future direction.

        SNC-Lavalin2019-06-05
      • "Great company bought to heels by poor management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Director in Montreal, QC
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Marquee projects in Canada Flexibility with time when not on projects Global Reach

        Cons

        Poor Corporate Strategy leading to current financial situation Highly Political at the higher echelons Compensation not market

        Advice to Management

        Be realistic with your strategy and have it be informed by market realities and not wishful thinking

        SNC-Lavalin2019-07-10
      • "SNC-Lavalin Review"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Project Manager in Toronto, ON

        I have been working at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        -There are no pros

        Cons

        -Too long of a list to go into

        SNC-Lavalin2019-07-09
      • "Good company overall"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Toronto, ON
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at SNC-Lavalin full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        good salaries, projects, nice people, free coffee

        Cons

        negative media reactions and reputation

        SNC-Lavalin2019-05-30
      Found 797 reviews