SNC-Lavalin Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

SNC-Lavalin Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 725 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
SNC-Lavalin CEO Neil Bruce
Neil Bruce
147 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper Management focuses more on financials than quality or having enough people to do the work(in 20 reviews)

  • "Senior management doesn't like change, they hate creative thinking(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "3.5 best years of experience with snc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Draughtsman Mechanical in Dubai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good work and life balance with Good pay.

    Cons

    I Don't see any

    Advice to Management

    Higher management should talk to staff directly instead of supervisors. Coz they spoil the game.

    SNC-Lavalin2019-03-07
  2. "Engineering System Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BIM Consultant & Coordinator in Cambridge, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Healthy Environment to work

    Cons

    Projects based hiring, No easy switch between business units.

    Advice to Management

    Need a better skill retention plan.

    SNC-Lavalin2019-01-30
  3. "Good company and great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great benefits, great people!

    Cons

    Upper Management focuses more on financials than quality or having enough people to do the work

    SNC-Lavalin2019-05-11
  4. "Tonnes of Perks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at SNC-Lavalin full-time

    Pros

    Got to meet the prime minister once

    Cons

    Too much government legislation in the way

    Advice to Management

    Don't make it so obvious next time

    SNC-Lavalin2019-05-09
  5. "Feedback"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Challenging projects, opportunities to grow

    Cons

    Poor company reputation, lack of strong technical team

    SNC-Lavalin2019-05-17
  6. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SNC-Lavalin full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, travel to many places . Good working environment, good benefits,holidays, large sites with a lot of foreign workers.

    Cons

    Not enough exposure for young engineer

    SNC-Lavalin2019-05-01
  7. "Some good, some bad experiences"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Benefits have been decent in the past, dwindling somewhat. I like the people I work with directly, but that will be division-by-division. Flex time and autonomy has been good.

    Cons

    Pay is mediocre, terrible reputation for ethics despite efforts to 'clean-up' the company. Silos within the company used to be very bad, now just not good. Only low-moderate support of technical expertise.

    Advice to Management

    A strategic reset is needed (what is our business and how do we be the best at it). A name change is needed (poor public reputation).

    SNC-Lavalin2019-05-13
  8. "Canadian Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SNC-Lavalin full-time

    Pros

    Mature Project Management Office and Project Controls

    Cons

    Lacks professional development and training opportunities.

    SNC-Lavalin2019-04-24
  9. "Sr structural engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Good company and nice work with prosessionsl

    Cons

    System is complicated, too much management and despise engineering

    Advice to Management

    Simplify organization reduce VP, too many VP

    SNC-Lavalin2019-05-07
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Non-progressive company with archaic rules and policies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Renowned Canadian Brand, Huge market cap, has a lot of potential

    Cons

    Biased policies, very bureaucratic environment like a public company. Non-cooperative employees. Very less inter-divisional co-operation. Senior management doesn't like change, they hate creative thinking. Very rigid environment, micro-management at its peak. No policy of working from home even during extreme weather conditions. However, if you are friends with senior management then no rule applies to you. You can do...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Employees are your biggest asset as you are in service industry. Value your employees and they will value you. Don't just take care of your near and dear ones. Frame standard policies for flexible working hours and work from home. Question your VPs if there is high employee attrition in their teams. Fix responsibility and link KRAs to employee attrition.

    SNC-Lavalin2019-05-01
Found 725 reviews