SMS Management & Technology "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

SMS Management & Technology Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
49%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
SMS Management & Technology Chief Executive Officer  Rick Rostolis (no image)
Rick Rostolis
54 Ratings
Pros
  • "SMS provide a great platform for anyone to do interesting work as part of a team of great people(in 20 reviews)

  • "Good pay, benefits, compensation, work life balance(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Body shopping mentality; senior management don't value their staff; view everything through the lens of a CFO instead of an inspirational CEO(in 19 reviews)

  • "Flat structure with no career progression(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "not applicable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - AIG INSURANCE BROKER in Taguig

    I have been working at SMS Management & Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, benefits, compensation, work life balance

    Cons

    Org changes every now and then

    Continue reading
    SMS Management & Technology2020-01-14
  2. "Great company, but lost its footing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Sydney
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SMS Management & Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people Great culture Good work life balance

    Cons

    Bums on seats Small projects No career growth

    Continue reading
    SMS Management & Technology2019-08-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Logistics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Logistics Assistant in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SMS Management & Technology part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work Life Balance for starters

    Cons

    Mundane ,bland.Brain dead job.Not advice to do

    SMS Management & Technology2018-10-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMS Management & Technology full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good work/life balance. Very flexible.

    Cons

    Too much focus on profit, not too much focus on customer or staff.

    SMS Management & Technology2017-08-12
  5. "Technical consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SMS Management & Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people Good culture Good work life balance. Its a testament to their recruitment in that I have only had difficulty in working with one colleague.

    Cons

    Factions across business although that happens in any consulting firm. Less structured professional development for consultants

    Continue reading
    SMS Management & Technology2017-04-05
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Stimulating and interesting work with great colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SMS Management & Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Collegiate behaviour with information sharing and assistance Better work/life balance than most consultancies. Career progression Professional development opportunities

    Cons

    Current uncertainty around acquisition bid by DWS - normal biz behaviour that should pass quickly.

    Continue reading
    SMS Management & Technology2017-03-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SMS Management & Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Fantastic culture, very collegiate, everyone has your back. - Peers are very switched on and there is a lot of experience to call on for advice or support - Good work/life balance - Salary is good

    Cons

    - Too much "body shopping", too many T&M gigs and rushed engagement management

    Continue reading
    SMS Management & Technology2015-07-11
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Confused business strategy resulting in difficult resource augmentation perception in the market"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SMS Management & Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reasonably collegiate environment. Some salary packaging. Slightly less political and more work life balance than international consultancies (something less than 2 pounds of flesh)..

    Cons

    Somewhat cliquish. Clients do not consider the company to be a legitimate consulting company (i.e. resource augmentation) and lack economies of size/scale and therefore difficult to obtain high-level outcome-based engagements for large enterprises. Limited or no tangible knowledge management processes, system or culture. BYOD laptop.Varying personnel standards. Culture of mediocrity in parts.

    Continue reading
    SMS Management & Technology2014-07-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "An employer that understands it's people are its value."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMS Management & Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    After working for a previous employer who proved to be very removed from their values, I can happy say that SMS and its values are one in the same. As a company, they understand that their people are there biggest asset and promote a good work life balance. SMS’s flat structure and its supportive culture ensure that all staff are treated equally. It is not unusual to find my self bumping into the CEO in the elevator and enjoying a chat. I am a true believer that you get out what you put in. With that in mind, SMS will provide you with countless opportunities and experiences to enhance your career. Don’t get me wrong, as with all companies there will always be politics and nuances that not everyone will agree with. However in comparison to my previous employers I find that these are very far and in-between at SMS. If you are willing to put time and effort into your career, want the opportunities for career progression without the politics and games, I can highly recommend SMS.

    Cons

    Whilst I personally don't see this is a negative, as I stated above, you get out what you put in.

    SMS Management & Technology2013-10-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Professional culture and great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SMS Management & Technology full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    SMS has a rigorous recruitment process that ensures a strong culture and highly professional staff. Work-life balance is excellent and there is a wide variety of work available.

    Cons

    Strong culture has been eroded in recent years. Company doesn't pay top dollar but you accept that to work in a strong culture with a good variety of work. Access to training and professional development can be limited.

    Continue reading
    SMS Management & Technology2013-08-02
Found 12 reviews