SMART Technologies Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

SMART Technologies Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 244 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
SMART Technologies CEO Greg Estell
Greg Estell
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "Had some great people working there(in 25 reviews)

  • "Leave policies are excellent and they sure take care of your work life balance(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management is fickle and short-sighted(in 16 reviews)

  • "Senior management have an unhelpful habit of venting their frustration via negative emails to all staff (e(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sustaining Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMART Technologies

    Pros

    Friendly people, nice environment, supportive management, very helpful onboarding process for new employees

    Cons

    parking is little bit difficult

    SMART Technologies2019-02-01
  2. "Great place to work, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SMART Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment Good managers Flexible Great for career development

    Cons

    Can be stressful at times

    SMART Technologies2019-06-04
  3. "Opetations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SMART Technologies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company culture is amazing - enjoyable place to work.

    Cons

    Upper management makes poor business decisions.

    Advice to Management

    Look back to when the company was very successful. What are the differences compared to the current company?

    SMART Technologies2019-03-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Nice organization if you are looking for long term career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Design Engineer in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMART Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Stable organization in unstable Alberta economy. This is due to product which is smart board and not anything related to oil and gas. Most of the customer base is in Europe and USA. - HR offers you industry standard salary though you were not aware and asked less salary as it happened in my case. I moved from US to Canada and was desperately looking for jab. HR called me and told me that I am asking less than my experience...

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing found yet, will need more time to find, if any!

    Advice to Management

    Need to focus on Asia since there are most populous regions in the world, especially India! Many international schools are open in India in last few years and they could be potential customers for business expansion and improve market share. Thanks!

    SMART Technologies2019-01-14
  5. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMART Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I am an employee who worked at SMART in the past and have returned. The SMART now is a very open, transparent and friendly environment. In the past, there were a lot of things that you couldn't do and couldn't say - seemed to be lacking a trust in the employees. The SMART now is a company where there is a lot of trust in the employees and there is a lot of work being done to transform the culture.

    Cons

    Everyone works hard at SMART, this is not a Con if you like to work hard and have a lot of opportunities to learn and be involved in many projects.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Trust your employees and empower them to make decisions.

    SMART Technologies2018-12-20
  6. "SMART - great learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SMART Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Lots of learning experiences -Exposure doing various projects -Collaboration with various departments/functions -Flexible working hours -Respectful workplace

    Cons

    -Constant change -Once you prove yourself, the workload continually grows -Salary discrepancy between departments -Management with ulterior motives

    SMART Technologies2018-12-12
  7. "Company lacks clear direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SMART Technologies

    Pros

    The people, in general, were great. Some limited opportunities for professional development and a nice campus.

    Cons

    The company lacked any clear direction and compelling vision. Their bread and butter market and product offering was rapidly declining in utility yet there was little effort to truly innovate or satisfy current clients. Turnover and restructuring was constant and as a result, morale was low.

    SMART Technologies2018-12-03
  8. "Good during the hayday"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SMART Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Open environment, got to work with all levels of the organization

    Cons

    Obsolete technology and management didn't see it.

    SMART Technologies2018-08-31
  9. "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SMART Technologies

    Pros

    Opportunities to travel out of country, frequent internal postings, lots of days off

    Cons

    paid parking, benefits could be better (although they have improved quite a bit in past months)

    SMART Technologies2018-08-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Always restructuring - no plan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SMART Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Most people were nice and good to work with.

    Cons

    Poor benefits, no salary increases, and arrogant management. Building in a terrible spot with poor parking choices.

    Advice to Management

    treat employees better

    SMART Technologies2018-08-29
Found 244 reviews