SDL Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

SDL Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
SDL CEO Adolfo Hernandez
Adolfo Hernandez
185 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/life balance can be a problem for the consistent "doers" within the organization(in 20 reviews)

  • "Very poor work life balance with most of PJMs working long hours(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. ""Great company!""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Desktop Publisher in Montreal, QC

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    "Great company!" Great people. A great opportunity.

    Cons

    I question the whole "open office" office layout ethos. I think it would be nice be able to close a door to get work done when you have something major to concentrated on.

    SDL2019-08-05
  2. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people good environment

    Cons

    Low salary not a direct path to promotion

    SDL2019-09-16
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Stop talking - start doing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Office is a nice place - Income is good - Great co-workers.

    Cons

    I still try to figure what my job is . Very little support. Poor management with no vision or at least ability to articulate it.

    Advice to Management

    Management does not seem to know what they are doing. Top managers should spend less time traveling and more asking real questions and supporting- Empowering is good, supporting is better.. HR open door policy is a concept not a reality.

    SDL2019-04-19
  4. "Software Developer in Test"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SDL full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working hours Great, talent team members

    Cons

    Benefits not well managed Managers are not very good in building career paths for team members

    SDL2018-11-13
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a good work environment

    Cons

    Software out of date

    SDL2018-10-02

    SDL Response

    October 3, 2018Executive Team

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review - we have an open door policy here at SDL and would love to chat further on your comments. Please feel free to discuss with management your concerns. Thank you.

  6. Helpful (8)

    "Experience as a translator at SDL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Translator in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good for acquiring translation experience at a big translation company, meet a lot of young people, get acquainted to many different roles, functions and tasks, familiarize yourself with the latest technology.

    Cons

    There is little or no incentives for employees, no salary raises, no bonuses, which explains a high turnover rate. There is no corporate culture to speak of, it's like every employee for himself. Poorly trained managers.

    Advice to Management

    They should focus on building a strategy to improve their employer brand and their corporate culture, create programs for employees. Little things such as creating a rewards program can go a long way to help employees feel more engaged.

    SDL2018-08-04

    SDL Response

    October 24, 2018Executive Team

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review and share your experience with us. We are part way through our transformation and are moving forward with our employee engagement strategy. A culture change after any company transformation will take time and we are fully committed in making that change. Our career framework is being rolled out and our remuneration is being reviewed. We are building a new SDL culture and this may take longer for some people than they wish, we want to get it right. We are recruiting great talent and are encouraged by the obvious shift in employee satisfaction. We are sorry that your experience with us wasn't great and wish you success in your future career choices.

    Show Less
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SDL full-time

    Pros

    They are very flexible with the schedule

    Cons

    Has nothing to so with an actual PM job... The job should be called translation coordinator

    SDL2018-03-14
  8. Helpful (23)

    "Any recent positive reviews of SDL are ‘Fake News’"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    What’s good? Getting paid as promised, since the company reneged on paying their managers, sales people, operations and product teams across bonuses as well as commission payout. Being on a sinking ship with other good people was sadly one of very few comforting attributes over the past 18 months of the SDL* rebrand.

    Cons

    First, 100% agree with Moral review and other recent ones below. Especially on Hispano-Brit Trump commentary, the significant and accelerating cultural decay, and, of disruption of trust and synchronicity between upper Mgt. and rest of organization. Second, as SDL’s HR leadership is notorious for trolling these reviews - the lack of responses to these reviews starting in July, outside of a very poorly disguised... recent review in January which has apparently been taken down due to Glassdoor policy restrictions on HR leadership writing reviews, one that essentially insults what they believe to be long-standing and entitled current employees, *speaks* *volumes* What’s Bad? Based on possible character limitations on these reviews, there is simply too many things to unwind with SDL Today. Very few current employees would even recommend working there to people they dislike and I feel fortunate to have left as the situation continues to deteriorate further.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you are trying to bring down the company in order for Equity Capital to take SDL private, which is no longer viewed as outlandish, please be less obvious in doing so and at the same time more honest with the people you are affecting both Inside and Outside the organization

    SDL2018-02-07
  9. "Translator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A good place to learn

    Cons

    The management could be better

    Advice to Management

    provide more support and better managment

    SDL2017-11-29
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Lots of lip service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at SDL full-time

    Pros

    Well located in the city where I worked, and staff includes some lovely, dedicated and very talented people (who eventually will be broken by the workload expected from them).

    Cons

    SDL cares a lot about pleasing investors, shareholders and prospective clients. The company can offer a variety of management and delivery systems and tools to speed up the translation process. It must all look fantastic to large companies looking for linguistic services. The downside for employees is that their well-being is not considered beyond a few well-intentioned messages once in a while and the illusion... of channels of communication. I HAD NEVER WORKED WITH SUCH MISERABLE PEOPLE BEFORE. Everyone there is too overworked and overstressed to think of anything beyond their workload. The offices of the company worldwide are set up to compete against each other instead of being encouraged to work together. If you are a translator who cares about language quality, that's just not compatible with the corporate culture here. No wonder the staff turnover rate is so high.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Since software and management systems are the company's strengths and clearly what the company cares most about, why not just become a software and technology services company and leave the language tasks to those who do it well? You already have the entire industry in a chokehold with Trados Studio, isn't there a way to be a profitable company without treating employess like soulless little translation machines?

    SDL2017-11-19

    SDL Response

    December 7, 2017Global Head of HR and Employee Experience

    Thanks for this review. I’m sorry to hear that you wouldn’t recommend SDL. We have 3 key stakeholders as a company which is our employees, customers and investors and it’s important that we focus on all three areas. The well-being of our employees is very important to us and we are very much committed to providing a great employee experience through our people strategy. I see that you have left the company but I wish you well in the future. Regards, Roddy.

    Show Less
Found 653 reviews
</>Embed