SCHOTT "german" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

SCHOTT Employee Reviews about "german"

Updated Mar 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
73%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
SCHOTT Vorsitzender Frank Heinricht
Frank Heinricht
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "cios, oportunidade de crescimento na empresa, boa politica, empresa preocupasse em se modernizar no campo da sustentabilidade(in 6 reviews)

  • "Empresa limpa e organizada Grandes chances de plano de carreira(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Working with a German Company is always difficult(in 7 reviews)

  • "Ainda possui uma cultura muito tradicional; Falta de flexibilidade; V(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "german"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Depends on the economy--Layoffs possible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Vincennes, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SCHOTT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Medical, PTO and overall benefits

    Cons

    Working with a German Company is always difficult

    SCHOTT2019-03-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at SCHOTT full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great environment. Your opinion is appreciated and there is opportunity for professional growth without giving up your personal life

    Cons

    Sometimes it is too German centric

    SCHOTT2017-04-28
  3. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCHOTT full-time

    Pros

    great benefits competitive pay stable environment international job opportunities and rotation programs

    Cons

    not as fast paced as some other industries conservative German company

    SCHOTT2016-11-30
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Worst Company Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Southbridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SCHOTT for less than a year

    Pros

    Personally I don't see any good pros, except for the fact or meeting 2 or 3 good people there.

    Cons

    Schott Review Worst company to work for.  The company is German. In my experience Germans are very racist, they give opportunity only to other Germans, it doesn't matter the experience or lack of they have. They never promote any regular employee to a higher position. Annual salary reviews are very, very low, so you might get a dollar after many years The lack of organization and communication is visible to anyone.   Managers don't have any power,  they make decisions only if the VP approves. They try to take money away from the employees  as much as they can by making up any excuses to reduce the already limited benefits employees have. Employees are hired after 2 or more years of temporary status, then the newly hired employee gets even less money than the previous employment condition. The attendance policy is made right for slaves. The good worker for Germans is the one who doesn't have a family,  who never has health problems, who puts his/her life in jeopardy during severe weather conditions . If you actually have a life outside of work, you are penalized. Germans don't ever appreciate a good worker. They have let go of so many good employees, just because. There are no incentives to keep them, or actual reasons to let them go. Management doesn't know how to direct the company. They don't care about quality as long as they meet numbers to be shipped out

    Continue reading
    SCHOTT2015-12-05
  5. "international high-tech company with great history but some historic inertia"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SCHOTT for less than a year

    Pros

    great mentality of the people regarding innovation and new product development; collaborative and innovative spirit in the R&D department as well as on most management levels

    Cons

    sometimes decision (processes) are slow, though much better compared to bigger multinationals; very risk averse (German) regarding R&D and business decisions

    Continue reading
    SCHOTT2014-10-18
  6. "Excellent internship based out of Mainz, Germany office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Marketing Intern in Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SCHOTT for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people, good atmosphere, growth opportunities for full-timers, not overworked, great environment for interns, fulfilling job responsibilities

    Cons

    Internship position didn't turn into a job and I think the German office for solar closed, which is unfortunate.

    SCHOTT2014-06-24
  7. "SCHOTT has allowed me to continue to fully live my life while working at a career I enjoy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Engineer in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCHOTT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Global Travel Freedom to work on projects which interest me Great collaboration between colleagues.

    Cons

    German based so lots of priority placed on German locations over American ones.

    Continue reading
    SCHOTT2012-08-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews