SAS Institute Account Executive Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

SAS Institute Account Executive Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
51%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
SAS Institute CEO Jim Goodnight
Jim Goodnight
57 Ratings
  1. "SAS Canada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SAS Institute

    Pros

    - Compensation :) - Employee Benefits - Work/Life Balance Come to work with a good attitude, work hard for what you want, and it will be rewarded to you.

    Cons

    For years SAS has relied on the strength of its product as the main driver of its brand. This was a weakness, in my mind. However, I do see this changing. A great example of this is our partnership with the Canadian Olympic Committee. That should increase awareness of SAS in the Canadian market.

    Advice to Management

    I came here with high hopes and after a number of years I am still happy to be here. Keep it up!

    SAS Institute2017-01-26
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Ex"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    SAS still leads in analytics solutions and products and has deep bench of very bright minds for problem solving

    Cons

    A typical large company model of large bureaucracy with a lot of protected functional silo's that hold them back

    Advice to Management

    SAS need to simply and speed up it product development strategy to deal with the fast moving digital landscape.

    SAS Institute2015-10-29
  3. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for Good work life balance High benefit

    Cons

    Not a lot of possibilities to evolve internally as it's a small subs

    SAS Institute2015-06-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Top employer for a reason!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time

    Pros

    When you're hired to do a job at SAS you really are given all the tools needed to execute. There are no excuses. How often do you start at a new company and they have your computer, phone, desk, everything ready to go? I've never experienced that, except here at SAS. Externally, they offer a great support system as well. Full health and dental benefits, onsite massage, even subsidized pet insurance!! Do you... have a family issue affecting your work, daycare issues, parent/loved one need care? No issue, SAS is there to offer support.

    Show More

    Cons

    I really have to dig to find issues with this place. Potential issues around country by country management but this is being changed to a more global focus.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    SAS Institute2015-02-16
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Conservative leadership, overemphasize the "technical aspects" of their offering."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Accounts Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SAS Institute

    Pros

    Good benefits, very decent people. You have every opportunity to learn. Offer balanced work/life environment to most business units.

    Cons

    Sales compensation too grey and probably leaves a lot to be desired in "motivating" new customer/revenue opportunities. Although it seems "neat" at first, the quirky "perks" like M & M's every Wednesday is not the reason someone should believe they are work for a "great" company. There is no way to make more than an average income at almost every business function level. You have to "love" working FOR SAS to... justify staying when many friends and/or peers choose challenges for management, money and more dynamic work environment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Sustainable sales model may falter.

    SAS Institute2008-08-20
  6. "Good company, great people, grate challenge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SAS Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learned a lot about business analytics world. Good products, quite complex, but getting your business to next level A lot of trainings, inspiring meetings Great people working in SAS

    Cons

    Hard to sell complex solutions A little marketing support Too many changes in operations over last few years

    Advice to Management

    Marketing is a key to approach new business. Retention is not enough.

    SAS Institute2019-11-14
  7. "Great company ruined by a few bad managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and products in the company.

    Cons

    If you have the wrong manager you'll witness some appalling decisions

    Advice to Management

    Check the mid managers' competence regularly

    SAS Institute2019-11-14
  8. "My time at SAS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. They are willing to invest in people 2. The people that work there are great

    Cons

    1. Competition beating them out 2. Unfair territories 3. Lack of direction from leadership

    SAS Institute2019-11-19
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive 

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I would say Culture, Benefits, and Campus

    Cons

    I would say it is Pay

    SAS Institute2019-11-04
  10. "Highly respected and serious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family environment, supportive, team-ethos and management listen and take action. Traditional values.

    Cons

    Investment in marketing is lower than industry average.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what we do.

    SAS Institute2019-10-25
Found 87 reviews