Ryerson University Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ryerson University Reviews

Updated Mar 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
90%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Ryerson University President  Sheldon Levy
Sheldon Levy
154 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sessional instructors are not well respected by full-time faculty or university administration(in 18 reviews)

  • "there are no cons in the university(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work on campus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Career Boost Social Media Assistant - Alumni Relations in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ryerson University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, good benefits package through perkopolis, working on campus is great for being a student, excellent experience (they really care about what the student is getting out of employment besides money, great learning oportunities), and all-around great environment!

    Cons

    Pay is average. It is only a student part-time jobs so it is understandable

    Ryerson University2020-02-28
  2. "Working at ScixChange"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Science Outreach Coordinator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends

    I worked at Ryerson University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Opportunity to grow networks exponentially - Diverse working environment - Opportunity to learn Science Communication

    Cons

    - N/A - Some long term industry partners are difficult to communicate with

    Ryerson University2020-02-26
  3. "Ryerson University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Staff in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ryerson University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay & benefits are good. Work is not super challenging. Flexible working arrangements. Location downtown is wonderful.

    Cons

    Too much bureaucracy. For an institution that goes on about being "innovative", senior leadership is uninspired and totally set in their ways.

    Continue reading
    Ryerson University2020-03-09
  4. "Pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Assistant 

    I worked at Ryerson University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The salary rate is fantastic. The students here are easy to communicate with.

    Cons

    The security around the campus is not so good.

    Ryerson University2020-02-20
  5. "Diverse ecosystem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Program Coordinator in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Ryerson University full-time

    Pros

    Love the people I work with

    Cons

    University environment can be slow at times

    Ryerson University2020-03-05
  6. "adaa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ryerson University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment to grow and learn

    Cons

    Fast paced and strict deadlines

    Ryerson University2020-03-02
  7. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Business Development 

    I have been working at Ryerson University part-time

    Pros

    Amazing community and a space to grow

    Cons

    Min Wage, no promotion as student

    Ryerson University2020-02-15
  8. "Research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Ryerson University part-time

    Pros

    It was a Professional experience

    Cons

    Lot of work For less pay

    Ryerson University2020-02-11
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ryerson University full-time

    Pros

    hands on training and easy to work with people

    Cons

    no parking expensive to live downtown

    Ryerson University2020-02-11
  10. "RU review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Ethics in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Ryerson University part-time

    Pros

    Ryerson University has good benefits

    Cons

    I may have to work there longer to determines cons

    Ryerson University2020-02-14
Found 442 reviews