Rue Gilt Groupe Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Rue Gilt Groupe Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 472 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Rue Gilt Groupe CEO Mark McWeeny
Mark McWeeny
54 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "You do not practice you own core values Since buying Gilt you have kicked some of your best worker in the teeth to make room some(in 31 reviews)

  • "There is no work-life balance in the BP department(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Adm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time

    Pros

    Working at Lalibela as a human resources department was a great experience. I recomen to anyone try it.

    Cons

    nothing wrong with them to say

    Advice to Management

    Nothing to say

    Rue Gilt Groupe2017-01-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "free food"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time

      Pros

      The break room has cereal, milk, soda, coffee, and cold brew. Employees love free beverages.

      Cons

      Cereal is great, but it would be great to have additional snacks such fresh fruit and fresh vegetables.

      Advice to Management

      Keep serving cold brew all summer long.

      Rue Gilt Groupe2015-06-29
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      People, culture, promote from within

      Cons

      Nothing in particular to add to cons

      Rue Gilt Groupe2019-07-16
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Buyer in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great work life balance Promotes from within

      Cons

      Not a lot of room for growth

      Rue Gilt Groupe2019-07-02
    • "Amazing team"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Stylist in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Amazing team and colleagues, energetic community, solid work perks (401k, health insurance, summer Fridays, etc.), great location, upward and lateral mobility options.

      Cons

      Lack of transparency up and down the ladder. Reputation for poor management, but my own manager was AMAZING.

      Advice to Management

      My own manager was incredible. She supported me and rallied for me and my future opportunities. I would advise other managers to do the same. Don't try and take credit for the hard work of your team, respect their contributions, support them in their career growth.

      Rue Gilt Groupe2019-06-18
    • Helpful (1)

      "Company closed it's Irish doors"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Support Representative in Limerick, Limerick
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Not many while working there. The occasional pizza was purchased for staff. Work life balance was awful, supervisors were operated a clique mentality, advancement was reserved for staff in the clique & there was spates of bullying from management in my time there, all of the above causing my great anxiety leading to me having to quit the job after 2.5 years.

      Cons

      The company has since shut it's Irish operations & restricted us from spending the account credits we were taxed on. They now refuse to either accommodate spending of the credits worth $900 or refund the taxed amount.

      Advice to Management

      Little people exist as well. This company walks over the lower levels of staff. Remember who it is that speaks with your customers on a daily basis.

      Rue Gilt Groupe2019-07-02
    • Helpful (1)

      "Bad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Warehouse Associate in Shepherdsvlle, KY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Some nice and friendly people

      Cons

      Poor management abusive inhumane treatment worker due to heat they sit around in their office while we the back bones of this business sweat ourselves to death but who care not the Owner,CEO,HR, or Managers, Supervisor oh let not forget the safety guy. Also the favoritism that has been allowed grow with in is unreal sometime it right down unethical.This is a company all about money not people. You do not practice you...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Hold your managers and HR accountable they hold us accountable.to many leads in outbound seven to be exacted Clean your company up bad folks thinking about self look at your turn over

      Rue Gilt Groupe2019-06-29
    • "Great environment, little pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Feature Writer in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great, fun people and work environment.

      Cons

      Good job out of college but extremely low pay.

      Rue Gilt Groupe2019-05-11
    • Helpful (4)

      "Never knew how truly undervalued I was, until I went elsewhere"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time

        Pros

        Pockets of great people in various depts (however, if you are a kind person you usually get managed out) fun perks (parties; surprise & delights; summer Friday's) employee discount

        Cons

        A common theme that I learned from my own experience and those who have also left, was how shocked I/they were when they went to a new org. I had been beaten down so much emotionally, that it was odd when I was in a new company and people were kind/gave so much positive feedback. It took awhile to fully work through all of the emotional abuse that Rue had left on me. Friends I still stay in touch with report similar experiences...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Listen to your people/these reviews. If you keep reading similar things....they might be true.

        Rue Gilt Groupe2019-06-05
      • Helpful (8)

        "See those values on the wall when you interview? They don't live by them."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time

        Pros

        There are some good, smart people here. Unfortunately, they don't stay long because they are chased out by immature behavior and the obvious favoritism from the leadership.

        Cons

        Favoritism runs rampant, and it starts with the CEO. The CPO does nothing to stem this behavior, and engages in it herself. The HR Business Partners in Boston lack the knowledge and experience typically required for the role, leading to behaviors that have led others in the company to refer to the HRBPs and CPO as "the mean girls". RGG claims Kind and Collaborative as core values, but they rarely actually lives up to...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Start actually living the values. Invest both time and money in long term solutions. Stop chasing the products and initiatives that competitors are coming up with and actually BE innovative. Stop promoting based on favoritism.

        Rue Gilt Groupe2019-05-30

        Rue Gilt Groupe Response

        June 3, 2019Chief People Officer

        I am sorry that you had a negative experience at RGG. This is certainly not the environment and culture that we are striving for. Please reach out to me directly to provide concrete feedback which can then be actionable.

      Found 472 reviews