Ross Stores "employee discount" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ross Stores Employee Reviews about "employee discount"

Updated Mar 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Ross Stores CEO Barbara Rentler
Barbara Rentler
1,192 Ratings
Pros
  • "Employee discount of 20% on everything everyday and even 40% discounts every couple of months a year(in 287 reviews)

  • "20% discount on total purchase (unless it's Double Discount Week which is then 40%)(in 243 reviews)

Cons
  • "Part time night shift not to bad(in 212 reviews)

  • "Pay is minimum wage no higher pay for FES, and more responsibility(in 181 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "employee discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "LOVE ROSS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Associate in Dededo, GU
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount is awesome. Starting pay as well. Employees there are friendly.

    Cons

    Nothing at all. Ross is always amazing.

    Continue reading
    Ross Stores2020-03-06

    Ross Stores Response

    March 18, 2020Sr. HR Coordinator

    We’re proud of our brand and the people who work here. It’s always nice to be able to recognize our great Associates. Thanks for sharing!

    Continue reading
  2. "It's a paycheck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Texarkana, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Ross Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The employee discount is nice

    Cons

    Texarkana just has rude people in general and it makes it hard to keep up great customer service.

    Continue reading
    Ross Stores2020-03-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Overall okay place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Definitely the employee discount and tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    They time your checkout process and always tell you to go faster. No matter how much stuff a customer buys, you have to finish it within 2 mins otherwise you are commented on your time.

    Continue reading
    Ross Stores2020-02-09
  4. "Mixed Bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Associate in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee discounts; manageable work schedule; bargains; nice selection of inventory; encounter an occasional grateful customer.

    Cons

    Demanding, very little benefits to part time employees, pressure to work faster and harder, I asked to not work fitting room but that's where they have me much of the time; rude and disrespectful customers and those who don't manage their children well; frequent restroom abuse from customers; inventory shrink; store trashed by customers; overworked employees.

    Continue reading
    Ross Stores2020-02-22
  5. "Employment at Ross dress for less"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There’s many pros to working at Ross dress for less. I Amazing coworkers and managers, it’s hard to look for another job when because I fear I won’t be able to get such amazing coworkers and managers that are flexible with my schedule. Employee discount of 20% on everything everyday and even 40% discounts every couple of months a year. As someone that likes to shop working at Ross is great because I get to see the amazing and random inventory we receive.

    Cons

    Retail is retail, and the general public will always surprise me in ways I wish not. It can get pretty crazy during the holiday season and the store can easily become a disaster if mismanaged. Considering the hard work the employees put in and success of the company Ross dress for less doesn’t pay their employees what they should.

    Continue reading
    Ross Stores2020-01-17

    Ross Stores Response

    February 5, 2020Sr. HR Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We do our best to hire the best people and you couldn’t be more right when you say our teams are amazing. We have been lucky to find outstanding performers who are great to be around and seek guidance from. Your comment reminds us of how important it is to show recognition and we encourage you to share your kind response to your manager.

    Continue reading
  6. "Store is run horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Protection Specialist in Bensalem, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount is really good.

    Cons

    Too much pressure for the pay.

    Continue reading
    Ross Stores2020-02-17
  7. "Retail is Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Castle Rock, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Always hiring, could make for a great first job, Company uniform guidelines recently became more accommodating (can wear more than blue now). Great if you like working as a team. Employee discount. Ross is a retail workplace always looking for new employees. Even with no experience, Ross is probably willing to hire you. If you're hired as a new sales associate, there is multiple positions to alternate through. Stockers work in a team to receive, process and properly tag merchandise. They then efficiently replenish the sales floor with said merchandise. Cashiers greet entering customers as they walk in and process purchases efficiently. Fitting room attendants stand in front of the fitting room to make sure customers don't steal apparel using the fitting rooms and also return any tried-on clothing back to the appropriate place. They also typically let people into the bathrooms as they are code locked. Every employee regardless of position will be expected to greet customers and follow both efficiency and anti-theft procedures.

    Cons

    High turnover rate, plenty of theft resulting in annoying anti-theft procedures, very busy holiday season, insane focus on efficiency. No sitting. Once again, Ross is retail. Plenty of employees will come and go, new hires can be no-shows and make more work for you. Ross has plenty of theft, so employee are expected to follow so much anti-theft protocols to the point where it can be irritating. From around the end of October to the beginning of January, work will pick up and get fairly hectic. The store will be messy from customers and you will might be asked to come in or stay late often. The focus on efficiency and speed can be pretty ridiculous, you will be timed on most tasks you do. Ross as a team environment can make work harder for you if your co-workers don't work hard enough.

    Ross Stores2020-01-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Can never work hard enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee discounts and bonding with coworkers Talk to a variety of people, interesting work

    Cons

    Customer culture is very disrespectful to the store, makes work feel unworthwhile Management barely trains employees, very unorganized, in my first week was left with a line of 20+ yelling people while everyone was sent on break simultaneously Kept at work beyond shift time, even after 1am; hard to balance school/work

    Continue reading
    Ross Stores2019-10-28

    Ross Stores Response

    October 28, 2019Human Resources

    We appreciate your candidate feedback. We take your comments very seriously as they help us address your specific concerns. Training is key to developing and retaining our Associates and your experience is not reflective of the environment we are trying to build. Thank you for sharing.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Run job will cause major health issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employee discount 20% 3 times a year 40% off. Some co worker are nice

    Cons

    Store management are bullies /lack compassion & if you are not a favorite you get treated like crap. No raises, no hours and tons of work while others goof off. Company hotline is a joke since the complaints are forward to the store managers so if one of them or favorites are reported everyone knows who & what was said. Stores open till midnight which makes for a unsafe work environment. Job will take a mental toll

    Continue reading
    Ross Stores2019-11-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "horrible company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ross Stores

    Pros

    employee discount, quick hiring process

    Cons

    management does not care about employees

    Continue reading
    Ross Stores2019-11-08
Found 287 reviews