Ross Stores Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ross Stores Reviews

Updated Dec 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Ross Stores CEO Barbara Rentler
Barbara Rentler
1,069 Ratings
Pros
  • "Employee discount of 20% all time and 40% occasionally(in 281 reviews)

  • "20% discount applies everyday and as many times as you want(in 235 reviews)

Cons
  • "Part time night shift not to bad(in 209 reviews)

  • "Minimum wage , no opportunities to grow(in 177 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Keep the store safe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time

    Pros

    Help customer, meet new people every day and team work

    Cons

    Everything was good, I had great experience

    Ross Stores2019-06-29
  2. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores

    Pros

    Managers are helpful in pushing you to learn.

    Cons

    Can be stressful at times.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    Ross Stores2017-05-09
  3. "The work was fine..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time

    Pros

    -The schedule was great for summer. - The stock work was fast and fun and the team had great energy -The work environment was very relaxed

    Cons

    -Terrible managment -There were several cases of harassment that were never properly handled -The team lead was discriminatory and upper management let it slide -unwilling to work with schedule change they knew would happen months ahead of time.

    Advice to Management

    Please listen to your employees when multiple of them are reporting being harassed instead of ignoring it. That would be great thanks.

    Ross Stores2017-05-07
  4. "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Rivers, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores part-time

    Pros

    very good customer service in here

    Cons

    I think everybody need to work here

    Advice to Management

    be good

    Ross Stores2017-01-13
  5. "A stressful place too work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Backup Area Supervisor in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and awesome benefits

    Cons

    Not enough people to do the jobs

    Advice to Management

    More payroll

    Ross Stores2014-10-26
  6. "Not a bad company to work for. Definitely had its perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores

    Pros

    Discount! Love the clothes and purses.

    Cons

    Management was a little unorganized and some employees were difficult to work with.

    Ross Stores2019-12-06
  7. "Nice Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have been with Ross Stores for a number of years. It's a nice place to work, but it all depends on whom you work for. I am lucky that I work for a really nice person. Benefits are decent. Medical is OK, dental needs to improve. Nothing but basic is covered under dental. Work balance is good. Company is trying. Would love flexible hours.

    Cons

    Dental needs to be better. No flexible hours. No option to work from home

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to have training for their Admin along with room to grow. All focus is but on other employees, but if an Admin would like to grow, what opportunity is available?

    Ross Stores2019-12-04
  8. "Can be fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really good discount and you can move up quickly

    Cons

    Payroll and some upper management

    Ross Stores2019-12-04
  9. "A settled corporate environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A settled environment: is good for those who want a secure and stable job.

    Cons

    A settled environment: not much space for the creativity due to heavy bureaucracy, and, thus, limited personal growth.

    Advice to Management

    Advice to Middle Management: Be more flexible and creative

    Ross Stores2019-12-03
  10. "Simple job with decent pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Ross Stores

    Pros

    Laid back and easy work

    Cons

    Difficult Scheduling and customer service at times

    Ross Stores2019-11-30
Found 4647 reviews