Ross Stores Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ross Stores Reviews

Updated Sep 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4556 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Ross Stores CEO Barbara Rentler
Barbara Rentler
1,041 Ratings
Pros
  • "Awesome employee discount that doubles for a week every quarter of the year(in 269 reviews)

  • "20% discount applies everyday and as many times as you want(in 228 reviews)

Cons
  • "some part time who could care less about others around them which doesn’t help(in 201 reviews)

  • "As far as I was aware people who had been there years hadnt gotten one until our minimum wage went up(in 176 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Keep the store safe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time

    Pros

    Help customer, meet new people every day and team work

    Cons

    Everything was good, I had great experience

    Ross Stores2019-06-29
  2. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores

    Pros

    Managers are helpful in pushing you to learn.

    Cons

    Can be stressful at times.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    Ross Stores2017-05-09
  3. "The work was fine..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time

    Pros

    -The schedule was great for summer. - The stock work was fast and fun and the team had great energy -The work environment was very relaxed

    Cons

    -Terrible managment -There were several cases of harassment that were never properly handled -The team lead was discriminatory and upper management let it slide -unwilling to work with schedule change they knew would happen months ahead of time.

    Advice to Management

    Please listen to your employees when multiple of them are reporting being harassed instead of ignoring it. That would be great thanks.

    Ross Stores2017-05-07
  4. "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Rivers, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores part-time

    Pros

    very good customer service in here

    Cons

    I think everybody need to work here

    Advice to Management

    be good

    Ross Stores2017-01-13
  5. "A stressful place too work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Backup Area Supervisor in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and awesome benefits

    Cons

    Not enough people to do the jobs

    Advice to Management

    More payroll

    Ross Stores2014-10-26
  6. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Backroom Associate in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    What I like about working for Ross is the upper management and store associates are all easy to get along with. The work environment is always upbeat.

    Cons

    Some of the store managers are a bit power hungry and lack people skills.

    Advice to Management

    Treat all employees equally and fair.

    Ross Stores2019-09-20
  7. "Associate Buyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Buyer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Stable company with job security in a tough retail environment - Competitive pay and bonus structure across all levels

    Cons

    - Teams are very small with mostly 1:1 assistant to buyer relation, which makes work life balance very challenging in such a fast paced environment - Very corporate and structured culture and no flexibility to work remotely

    Advice to Management

    Reassess workload by team to understand if there’s opportunity to increase headcount

    Ross Stores2019-09-21
  8. "Nice place to wirk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Ross Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible, Friendly, co-workers are nice, some manager is great.

    Cons

    Some manager are rude. Other than that little cons here and there.

    Advice to Management

    Some manager need to understand employee situations.

    Ross Stores2019-09-17
  9. "Good option for a part-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Associate in Katy, TX

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Early morning shifts are very convenient

    Cons

    No cons, because didn't expect much

    Ross Stores2019-09-16
  10. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Store discount is given to employees

    Cons

    Not applicable at this moment

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing

    Ross Stores2019-09-16
Found 4556 reviews