Rocky View Schools Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Rocky View Schools Reviews

Updated Aug 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Greg Bass
4 Ratings
  1. "Wonderful Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Chef 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rocky View Schools for more than a year

    Pros

    There are a lot of wonderful people who are more than willing to support each other and help each other out

    Cons

    I am not sure if I have found a con yet. I enjoy going into work every single day.

    Rocky View Schools2019-08-05
  2. "Mgr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at Rocky View Schools full-time

    Pros

    Family oriented, caring environment good

    Cons

    Share some downsides of the rockyview schools

    Rocky View Schools2019-08-06
  3. "Removing positions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Caretaker in Airdrie, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rocky View Schools full-time

    Pros

    Good Benefits for full time

    Cons

    Heavy load of duties, they removing position from so that they can’t pay benefits,

    Advice to Management

    Please give benefit to the employees who helps the school specially after 3 months of work and works 8 hours, we are Canadian deserve better life too.

    Rocky View Schools2019-05-12
  4. "Teacher - LTO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher, Elementary School in Cochrane, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rocky View Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing support for new teachers - Incredible resources available for public schools as compared to other provinces - Substitute/Supply/TOC system is merit-based instead of randomized, so good subs are requested more frequently

    Cons

    - Pay isn't as high as some other boards in Alberta

    Rocky View Schools2018-02-21
  5. "School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Educational Assistant in Kathyrn, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rocky View Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic ongoing learning opportunities

    Cons

    Contract work. Do not know if job will be renewed till late summer early fall

    Rocky View Schools2018-02-02
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Rocky View Schools full-time

    Pros

    Best place to work, nice. Excellent

    Cons

    I dont know, its just all good.

    Advice to Management

    Nice company, nice people

    Rocky View Schools2017-12-23
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Support Analyst in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rocky View Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Hybrid of education and technology makes for continual challenges and support. There are many opportunities to incorporate new tools into curriculum.

    Cons

    Because everything is supported, scope of work is quite broad. Be ready to tackle new apps and implement them in short periods of time.

    Rocky View Schools2017-04-04
  8. "Very collaborative and supportive organization."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Success Coach in Cochrane, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rocky View Schools for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supportive environment that encourages creativity. Great group of professionals with a common goal of supporting students and families.

    Cons

    Contract positions do not get quite as many perks as non-contract employees.

    Rocky View Schools2017-04-04
  9. "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Psychologist in Airdrie, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Rocky View Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, innovative workplace that puts students first

    Cons

    Government funding models can create instability

    Rocky View Schools2016-07-13
  10. "Growing district but small district benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Rocky View Schools full-time

    Pros

    The schools are much smaller than typical Calgary schools. It's fairly easy to contact people at the Central Office because the bureaucracy is much smaller. If you are interested into moving into Admin positions there are plenty of opportunities.

    Cons

    Because the school district surrounds Calgary on the north, east and west sides, the schools are very spread out. This adds a lot of time travelling to schools if you are coaching.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the small district feel and accessibility for teachers to Admin the way it is. Please don't do updates to PowerSchool at the start of school year ever again.

    Rocky View Schools2016-05-19
Found 12 reviews