Robert Half Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Robert Half Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3073 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Robert Half CEO Harold M. Messmer Jr.
Harold M. Messmer Jr.
885 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company, fast pace atmosphere big on life balance and very team oriented(in 115 reviews)

  • "They have great training and support(in 111 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance as a recruiter may be difficult for some(in 210 reviews)

  • "Long hours and the nature of the job is difficult(in 181 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Robert Half Finance & Accounting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Robert Half full-time

    Pros

    very supportive, fun team that pushes and supports you. All are very driven, professional, dedicated and I learned a lot from them. You work your own desk and have the freedom to do your own style of recruiting.

    Cons

    not so much of a Con but you get what you put in. It's overall a commission based role so if you aren't willing to put in the hours to build your book of business, don't bother.

    Robert Half2019-05-15
  2. "Great Place to Work and Make Great Money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - On A Team-enjoying My Work Job and What I Do in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Half full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Brand Name Recognition A lot of support from systems to training to leadership

    Cons

    Structure is not for everyone - however if you can learn the structure and best practices you will be extremely successful

    Advice to Management

    learn how to deliver the message, not everyone can handle a general message

    Robert Half2019-05-13
  3. "Worth it - if you're willing to hustle."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Robert Half full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - Great office atmosphere (Mississauga office) - Solid teammates - Leadership that cares - Hands-off management (dependent on team) - Fun company activities/ outings - Potential for good commission if you achieve targeted metrics

    Cons

    - Can be stressful if you do not know how to manage your time or if you are not willing to put in the work

    Advice to Management

    More frequent team building and/ or company outings to continue building a strong rapport within the office!

    Robert Half2019-05-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Staffing Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staffing Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Robert Half full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    people, marketing materials, administrative support

    Cons

    too many levels of management, hardcore metric culture, "but what have you done for me lately" attitude from the Top

    Advice to Management

    calm down

    Robert Half2019-05-08
  5. "Great recruitment experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC

    I worked at Robert Half full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - Room for growth and development opportunities - You can earn a lot of money if you stay for at least 2+ years - Commission is great if you really work hard at it

    Cons

    - No work life balance - Some teams would be off by 3pm on Fridays during summer season and other teams are pushed to work until 5pm

    Robert Half2019-04-23
  6. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Robert Half full-time

      Pros

      - Very energetic working environment - There is a lot of attention put to onboarding - My direct manager really cares about my success

      Cons

      - Very long hours required to build book of business

      Robert Half2019-04-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "Don't overachieve, this is a job where you if you do the bare minimum you will be rewarded."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Robert Half full-time

      Pros

      Hard working individuals make it a great place to work at since it motivates you to work even harder.

      Cons

      Some staff have a poor work ethic and it really lowers the morale when they do/get paid more than you. I was going to complain about my supervisor and their poor management choices to their boss but was advised not to. Subsequently, I was let go a month later.

      Advice to Management

      Follow the LEAD principles that are part of the RH guidebook and not be so close minded to new ideas.

      Robert Half2019-04-29
    • "Recruiter"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I worked at Robert Half full-time

      Pros

      Amazing culture and good benefits

      Cons

      Not for everyone - only for target driven people

      Robert Half2019-04-12
    • Helpful (3)

      "Recruiting Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I have been working at Robert Half full-time

      Pros

      Nice employees (some) Good benefits

      Cons

      Unrealistic expectations They oversell how much you can make in your first year and aren't transparent about the 1.5-2 year hurdle you need to overcome in order to make 100k+ NO work/life balance at all No real flexibility - although you can work 50-60 hours a week, they still expect you to be in the office all the time although this job can easily have more flexibility to work from home Managers/Supervisors are...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Have realistic expectations Create more flexibility and trust Spend time training new hires properly Be upfront and honest about the hours worked, how long it takes to bonus (on average), instead of using people who are the exception as the rule

      Robert Half2019-04-20
    • "Account Executive"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Robert Half full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      - meet some great people - downtown Toronto office in prime location - presto card expensed, partial phone bill expenses ($50.00) - laptop provided, allowing you to take offsite - LinkedIn recruiter paid for - Cake day (1 day a month to celebrate birthdays in that specific month) - 1hr lunch, taken at your discretion (you may end up eating at your desk, and have 10mins or so to leave your desk)

      Cons

      - micromanagement at its finest - set up for failure, you need to know how to swim or drown as the training isn't as on par as they say, in addition- they do not practice their "best practices". I had a branch manager try to talk me out of complaining and further action on an account of mine (issue between colleagues and account from someone in another office);other RH offices are competitors - everyone in the company...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Stop promoting those due to favoritism. There is a high turnover rate due to extremely bad management.

      Robert Half2019-05-10
    Found 3073 reviews