Riverfront Marketing Reviews

Updated Jun 7, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 of over 26 reviews

3.3
67%
Recommend to a Friend
Riverfront Marketing President Garrett White    (no image)
Garrett White
0 Rating
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Door to Door Sales

    Jun 7, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Possible to open own firm if you drink the Kool Aid and are willing to move.

    Cons

    Caution the 5 star reviews are from management! The only person I would recommend this job to is a convicted criminal who cannot get a job anywhere... I would not normally do this but I am writing this to save anyone thinking of applying for this the time. Where to start... The extensive Training they brag about consistent of me reading a single sheet of paper and joining a rep on their daily trip. The guy I was with had a extremely dirty car (Cigarette butts, trash everywhere) and did not even offer to move stuff off the passenger seat. So we get out to our area, and the horror begins as we walk into every business we see to sell them random things. his intro to these professionals was "The Party's here" after getting a strange look he would introduce me as his "backup dancer" who was there to learn. So needless to say he was extremely pushy, rude, and would interrupt high ranking professional like doctors, dentists, lawyers, to sell them crap they could easily buy from Amazon. I felt as uncomfortable as the people he was pitching, and it was not working, I think in the whole day he sold one thing for like $50 (making like $5). The other sketchy part is that they act like they're part of staples (they are partnered but not staples), and when asked to leave a card and the owner will get back to them he would reply "Sorry i'm not important enough to have one yet" The real reason being that they did not want to blow the cover to show that they were not in fact staples. You do not get a paycheck until 3 weeks in so they don't have to pay you if you quit like I did.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Experience and can't wait to expand and grow.

    Feb 16, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are fantastic. Always helpful and supportive. They are very resourceful.

    Cons

    They don't have free coffee.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. The latest conversations about Advertising

    Join the conversation on

    Advertising

    1y

    a 

    Consultant

    What career advice would you give your 30-year-old self? 😇

    2,926

    249 Comments

    Advertising

    29.7K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/advertising/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.ca&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-integrated-Reviews&utm_term=Riverfront Marketing~953019
    Join the conversation on
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Fun place a lot to learn

    Jan 17, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Team environment, very goal driven and a very willing leadership team that loves to help when they can. The focus is on growing so a lot of decisions are made to help the team grow as a whole. I love the competitive atmosphere because it is intense but fun and not cut throat where no one is stepping on each other's shoulders to get ahead of a coworker.

    Cons

    The standards can be tough so there is some pressure but its fits for sports minded people. Its tough to find parking in the lot and traffic after work is difficult because it is close to downtown.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Riverfront Marketing Response

    HR Director

    Hey reviewer! Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us! We absolutely love your review! We strive to help our team members grow personally and professionally. We believe in leaders who do. not bosses who demand. We are happy to hear our strategies are working for you. As for your advice, we will pass it on to management! We know some people can be quite the butter fingers with things. Riverfront Marketing

  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    I recommend you NOT work there

    Feb 16, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people there are nice.

    Cons

    I worked there for about three days because I realized how terrible of place it is. I was trained for three days and did not receive a dime for time. How terrible. Just to let you know the salary is not hourly it is commission on sales. IT IS LITERALLY DOOR TO DOOR SALES FOR PAPER PRODUCTS TO CUSTOMERS THAT HATE YOU. At one point we were asked if we were "illiterate" and told to leave because there door sign said no solicitation. Can be very emotionally and physically draining if you do not have thick skin.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Awful

    Jan 23, 2017 - Sales Representative in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people within the sales team

    Cons

    Weekly quota, little training, must use your own resources to travel

    4 people found this review helpful

    Riverfront Marketing Response

    HR Director

    Hey Reviewer! We are very appreciative of your review, but feel awful is a tad strong! A great team at least deserves 3 stars, right!? We wish we knew more about why you felt there wasn't enough training, and encourage you to contact the office and ask to speak with Garrett. As far as having high standards set by our client, you are 100% correct; but can assure you the expectations are not only reasonable but attainable. These expectations assure that our client is represented by the best talent in Cincinnati, and acts with professionalism and integrity at all times. Please feel free to reach our office at 513.510.0321! Sincerely, CEO / Garrett White

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Lead Executive

    Nov 7, 2016 - Lead Account Executive in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love how closely-knit our office is! One of the things I value most is building strong relationships and I definitely found that at Riverfront. I have also received endless amounts of opportunities for travel and growth.

    Cons

    I am still enrolled in school and balancing work and an education is often difficult. Riverfront offers amazing opportunity for growth and I am working really hard to do that while maintaining a positive academic record.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Riverfront Marketing Response

    HR Director

    Hey Reviewer, We wanted to respond and tell you THANK YOU so much for your kind review! We appreciate the thought and time you put into this and encourage you to reach out to our Management Team if you need any help juggling work and school. We can totally understand that's a lot to handle, but respect your determination. Keep up the great work! Sincerely, CEO/ Garrett White

  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    I miss you! Best company I've ever worked for!

    Sep 7, 2016 - Account Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This has been a once in a lifetime opportunity. Working with Riverfront Marketing, I have learned and have grown tremendously in the past year. When I first started, I was not the sharpest tool in the shed nor was I that confident. I was all of a sudden surrounded by people that believed in me.

    Cons

    You aren't located in Chicago... I had to move and miss you all SO much!

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Riverfront Marketing Response

    HR Director

    Hey there! We're sad to read that you aren't with us any longer, but trust that you took some of what you learned here with you back home to Chicago! Thank you for your compliments and for being a part of our team. We wish you all the best! Sincerely, CEO / Garrett White

  9. 4.0
    Former Employee

    First Job Out of College

    Sep 7, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very motivating environment Great training - they really took time to teach and not just throw a book or manual at me Relationships with coworkers and management even outside of work hours was awesome with moving to a new city and not knowing many people

    Cons

    Days are longer than expected Too many meetings

    5 people found this review helpful

    Riverfront Marketing Response

    HR Director

    Hello! We love the pros that you listed and couldn't agree more! We pride ourselves on having a thorough training process and great team environment but totally agree that the the client meetings and conference calls can get lenghy! We've minimized daily meetings to 15 minutes a day and conference calls just once a week in response to your feedback, so thank you. Best of luck in your future endeavors! Sincerely, CEO / Garrett White

  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    If you want to work in a "Mad Men" style business, this one's for you

    Oct 14, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you love sales, and don't mind high-pressure sales to people who really don't want to deal with you, then you can do better than I in this company. They also base everything on performance; ie one of my trainers was promoted within 4-5 days of working because she was hitting great numbers. I did learn some useful sales techniques when, well, you're focusing on getting sales.

    Cons

    This works like Vector marketing or a cult, take your pick. It's all high-pressure towards pushing people to buy what they don't need, combined with shady sales tactics. Examples: 1) During my training we visited a funeral home and tried to sell even though they were with a grieving family. 2) Multiple times we were told to withhold coupons and small $5 promo codes if customers were ok with price. 3) Had 3-4 different businesses yell at me because we come to the door every 3-4 months and have told us repeatedly to stop. 4) Cult mentality comes in by having "optional" but not really team-building activities after work to bond and ultimately help newbies feel less awful about what they're doing. 5) From discussions with other offices, mostly all the managers have some odd quirk that makes life more difficult. My office the boss was super big on being timely; if you were even 5 minutes late and didn't CALL him (he didn't believe in texting either), then he would either rip you a new one, send you home for the day, or fire you. Yes, he bragged about how he's fired people for that. Another office was big on getting sales numbers, so she set quotas; if you didn't reach your 3 sales a day, you didn't go home until you did. My trainer drove from Chicago and got in at 2am here because she wouldn't let him leave until his 3rd sales around 4pm (he said it's been later, too).

    4 people found this review helpful

    Riverfront Marketing Response

    HR Director

    Dear Reviewer, We're greally grateful for your feedback, and apologize that your experience wasn't at all what it is intended to be. We're glad to know that you did walk away with some tangible skills and sales experience; things we're sure are helping you professionally in your new career!! While we object to the comparison to Vector or a "cult" (which is a very strong and slanderous accusation), we can respect that a career in face to face marketing and sales is not a great fit for everyone. What we do feel is unanimous across any industry is a respect for punctuality. We don't feel that our company standards or Management style regarding tardiness is in any way extreme, nor do we feel texting is the most professional form of communication in situations like so...but call us old fashioned. Overall, it seems as if we could have provided you a better experience and more thorough training, and for that we take full responsibility. We trust that you are now in a career that's a great fit professionally and thank you for the opportunity to work together. If you have any further feedback on how we can make our hiring and training process more transparent to avoid scenarios like the above, please feel free to reach out to the office! Sincerely, CEO/Garrett White

  11. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Not what it seems

    Sep 9, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good, friendly employees Informative and useful morning meetings Coworkers who are willing to help most of the time (as it betters themselves too)

    Cons

    No base pay, in fact the entire pay structure is poorly designed and not explained well to new hires. The "training" is a day and a half shadowing an employee. After that, you're on your own. They expect you to look at a minimum of 50 businesses a day, many of whom have already done business with Riverfront in the past and don't need more or you're the fourth rep they've seen in the last 3 months-not exactly a ringing endorsement for the company. High turnover is almost admitted by the company.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Riverfront Marketing Response

    HR Director

    Hey Reviewer! We really appreciate your feedback and want you to know that we value what you have written. We agree wholeheartedly that our team is exceptional and willing to help newer team members throughout their training process and initial months! As far as the cons you listed, we are concerned because our compensation structure is explained in a second interview, upon offer, in written paperwork and in new hire orientation. We offer a base pay, commission, bonuses and residual income, all explained in the new hire paperwork and orientation. We're not sure where the disconnect was, but apolpgize and wish you had felt comfortable enough to express your concerns with us in person. Perhaps you can contact myself or Human Resources and help us improve this experience for anyone else? Also, our training is not a single day, but instead a full week, which makes us wonder if you had an interview with us or full time employment? We would love to understand better, as we would like to have our business relationship end amicably! Please feel free to reach our office at 513.510.0321 and ask for Garrett! Sincerely, CEO / Garrett White

Viewing 1 - 10 of 24 Reviews

Work at Riverfront Marketing? Share Your Experiences

or