River Rock Casino Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

River Rock Casino Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
River Rock Casino CEO David Fendrick
David Fendrick
6 Ratings
  1. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at River Rock Casino

    Pros

    free meals and many breaks

    Cons

    low pay and working time not really good

    River Rock Casino2016-12-29
  2. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Card Dealer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Rock Casino full-time

    Pros

    Good for beginning jobs, learn lots of stuff

    Cons

    Work late in the night

    River Rock Casino2019-06-10
  3. "Electrician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at River Rock Casino full-time

    Pros

    Maintenance work full time all are electrical job 5 day a week

    Cons

    Want to change , no promotion, ...................

    River Rock Casino2018-11-22
  4. "Dealer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at River Rock Casino

    Pros

    Decent pay and good schedule

    Cons

    Boring as hell because of repetition

    River Rock Casino2016-11-05
  5. Helpful (2)

    "orientation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at River Rock Casino part-time

    Pros

    have not started yet, however, everyone seems really nice. Gives out free meals.

    Cons

    instead of part time they put me as casual. I don't get some of the wonderful perks that others get.

    River Rock Casino2016-08-05
  6. "Human Resources Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Rock Casino

    Pros

    Staff care about each other, always available to answer questions

    Cons

    Not a lot of option to move up in the company unless they really want you to and you have the qualifications

    River Rock Casino2016-04-21
  7. "card dealer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Rock Casino full-time

    Pros

    good co-work, good environment, free meal ticket

    Cons

    mostly, you will take night shift during your first year

    River Rock Casino2015-09-26
  8. "card dealer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Rock Casino full-time

    Pros

    Good managers and co-workers. Great employee food. Nice location, right next ot the sky train station.

    Cons

    Not enough training. Sometimes supervisors are being too bossy.

    River Rock Casino2015-04-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Laid Back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Rock Casino full-time

    Pros

    As far as Table Games are concerned you couldn't ask for better management. You are indeed a person instead of a number. I've worked several casinos over 17 years and this is the most laid back. Even the customers prefer us because everyone is friendly...and that's because of management.

    Cons

    It'd be nicer to have a bigger starting wage and the cost of benefits for the rest of your family is high.

    Advice to Management

    None. Keep doing what you're doing.

    River Rock Casino2018-03-06
  10. "Great atmosphere, inadequate staffing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at River Rock Casino

    Pros

    It is a great place to work. The supervisors are all down to Earth, everybody knows and likes each other, and the days are a good mix of busy and relaxing.

    Cons

    The pay is not enough for the amount of work that people put in, which leads to more people leaving for higher paying jobs. This also leaves every department short staffed, which leads to the current staff doing more work to make up for the shortage of workers. Also there is heavy favoritism towards staff who are part of the Pomo Indians (who own the casino). Not saying that the regular workers are treated unfairly,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Increase the pay of your workers and increase the number of workers. Each department is short staffed and the current workers are not being paid enough for the amount of work they have to cover for.

    River Rock Casino2017-07-06
Found 19 reviews