River Rock Casino Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

River Rock Casino Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
River Rock Casino CEO David Fendrick
David Fendrick
5 Ratings
  1. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at River Rock Casino

    Pros

    free meals and many breaks

    Cons

    low pay and working time not really good

    River Rock Casino2016-12-29
  2. "Electrician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at River Rock Casino full-time

      Pros

      Maintenance work full time all are electrical job 5 day a week

      Cons

      Want to change , no promotion, ...................

      River Rock Casino2018-11-22
    • "Dealer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at River Rock Casino

      Pros

      Decent pay and good schedule

      Cons

      Boring as hell because of repetition

      River Rock Casino2016-11-05
    • Helpful (2)

      "orientation"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I have been working at River Rock Casino part-time

        Pros

        have not started yet, however, everyone seems really nice. Gives out free meals.

        Cons

        instead of part time they put me as casual. I don't get some of the wonderful perks that others get.

        River Rock Casino2016-08-05
      • "Human Resources Administrator"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at River Rock Casino

        Pros

        Staff care about each other, always available to answer questions

        Cons

        Not a lot of option to move up in the company unless they really want you to and you have the qualifications

        River Rock Casino2016-04-21
      • "card dealer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at River Rock Casino full-time

        Pros

        good co-work, good environment, free meal ticket

        Cons

        mostly, you will take night shift during your first year

        River Rock Casino2015-09-26
      • "card dealer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at River Rock Casino full-time

        Pros

        Good managers and co-workers. Great employee food. Nice location, right next ot the sky train station.

        Cons

        Not enough training. Sometimes supervisors are being too bossy.

        River Rock Casino2015-04-29
      • "Laid Back"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at River Rock Casino full-time

        Pros

        As far as Table Games are concerned you couldn't ask for better management. You are indeed a person instead of a number. I've worked several casinos over 17 years and this is the most laid back. Even the customers prefer us because everyone is friendly...and that's because of management.

        Cons

        It'd be nicer to have a bigger starting wage and the cost of benefits for the rest of your family is high.

        Advice to Management

        None. Keep doing what you're doing.

        River Rock Casino2018-03-06
      • "Great atmosphere, inadequate staffing"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at River Rock Casino

          Pros

          It is a great place to work. The supervisors are all down to Earth, everybody knows and likes each other, and the days are a good mix of busy and relaxing.

          Cons

          The pay is not enough for the amount of work that people put in, which leads to more people leaving for higher paying jobs. This also leaves every department short staffed, which leads to the current staff doing more work to make up for the shortage of workers. Also there is heavy favoritism towards staff who are part of the Pomo Indians (who own the casino). Not saying that the regular workers are treated unfairly,...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          Increase the pay of your workers and increase the number of workers. Each department is short staffed and the current workers are not being paid enough for the amount of work they have to cover for.

          River Rock Casino2017-07-06
        • "No Chairs for Cashiers"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Cage Cashier in Geyserville, CA

            I worked at River Rock Casino full-time for more than 3 years

            Pros

            River Rock ran a tight ship. They were organized and provided plenty of support materials because as a cashier, there is so much to memorize, I appreciated having things in writing to review from time to time. It was a JOB when I really needed one! Grateful for that.

            Cons

            Cage Cashiers were not provided stools to sit on. That became very uncomfortable after several hours. Tip pooling was a bad idea. I'm not sure if they are still doing that, but it discourages the cashiers who actually WORKED from doing their best. Very sad to see lazy "Sally" benefit. Mandatory removal of visible piercings. Even common ear piercing. Seems a bit extreme for them to take away all signs of individuality....

            Show More

            Advice to Management

            Check out the Cons section of this review. Happy employees = less turnover = less wasted training hours, etc. Better business to treat your peeps like individuals. Respect goes both ways.

            River Rock Casino2017-04-20
          Found 18 reviews