River Island Clothing "staff discount" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

River Island Clothing Employee Reviews about "staff discount"

Updated Mar 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
River Island Clothing CEO Will Kernan
Will Kernan
17 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Christmas is tough, like anywhere else, but I found Christmas tough due to long hours(in 55 reviews)

  • "Although the pay is slightly over minimum wage I don’t think the company do enough for their staff(in 48 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "staff discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Love working here!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I work with a small team of around 20 people. Collectively everyone is so hard working so the work load does not just fall on one person. Amazing staff discount.

    Cons

    The pay. Minimum wage only. Considering it is a company which turns over billions they should atleast give staff a pay rise.

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2016-01-09

    River Island Clothing Response

    February 16, 2016Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your lovely review, I will pass on your feedback

    Continue reading
  2. "Life in retail industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Adviser in London, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Go staff discount is really goood

    Cons

    Foot fall could have been better

    River Island Clothing2017-10-17

    River Island Clothing Response

    October 27, 2017Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  3. "Love River Island"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Guildford, England

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time

    Pros

    Friendly team and staff discount

    Cons

    No cons they were all good

    River Island Clothing2020-03-11
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff discount very good Overtime

    Cons

    Very difficult to contact HR and sort out issues relating Limited progression

    River Island Clothing2020-02-25
  5. "Retail assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Uniform Time off Staff discount

    Cons

    Bad management (rude) Bad pay

    River Island Clothing2020-02-24
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing

    Pros

    Staff discount, lovely clothes and friendly staff

    Cons

    Standing all day and very repeative work

    River Island Clothing2019-12-30
  7. "It's Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    40% Staff Discount, Uniform Allowance.

    Cons

    Pressure to hit sales targets, even a lot of the time this is out of your control.

    River Island Clothing2019-12-04
  8. "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always busy. 40% staff discount. Room for extra circular training at own discretion. Good for overtime.

    Cons

    Employee hierarchy lacking structure. LVL 2's are not classed as management yet are expected to do the same work as a manager but don't receive the same pay or benefits as a manager. If you mention this you will be outted from the 'team'.

    River Island Clothing2019-12-02
  9. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in London, England

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount is the only positive

    Cons

    Expectations are unrealistic and do not match up with salary

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2019-12-18
  10. "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time

    Pros

    Non taxing Short hours Reasonable pay Good staff discount

    Cons

    Bad management Meeting unnecessary targets Repetitive It's retail ?

    River Island Clothing2019-11-25
Found 138 reviews