River Island Clothing Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

River Island Clothing Reviews

Updated 18 de Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
River Island Clothing CEO Ben Lewis
Ben Lewis
289 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours, targets to meet can be hard(in 50 reviews)

  • "Although the pay is slightly over minimum wage I don’t think the company do enough for their staff(in 47 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love working here!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I work with a small team of around 20 people. Collectively everyone is so hard working so the work load does not just fall on one person. Amazing staff discount.

    Cons

    The pay. Minimum wage only. Considering it is a company which turns over billions they should atleast give staff a pay rise.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the way you are. Keep all the bitchiness out and everyone will be happy.

    River Island Clothing2016-01-09

    River Island Clothing Response

    February 16, 2016Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your lovely review, I will pass on your feedback

  2. "Life in retail industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Adviser in London, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Go staff discount is really goood

    Cons

    Foot fall could have been better

    River Island Clothing2017-10-17

    River Island Clothing Response

    October 27, 2017Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your feedback.

  3. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at River Island Clothing

    Pros

    Excellent Company Met some cool people whilst working there

    Cons

    Working hours Treat you unfairly if you don't have a voice in the company

    River Island Clothing2016-11-10

    River Island Clothing Response

    January 12, 2017Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us.

  4. "Terrible Experience - IT/RI Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    IT Drone in London, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing

    Pros

    Payroll/Summer Fridays Er, that's about it

    Cons

    Bullying Lack of opportunities Poor management Intimidation Bullying Advertising a person's job whilst they are still there and not telling them. Constant threats about losing your job. Pay is laughable. Crappy support payments and unrealistic expectations. Dull, dull, dull. Permanent staff treated very badly compared to contractors. Contractors have been shafted too. Massive turnover of staff. Forcing... older staff out of the company. Unable to retain the new recruits. Give holiday, but expect you to just drop it for no compensation if they need you in. Unable to speak freely or criticise the regime - only very positive comments are allowed. HR are pathetic and seem to encourage the management's terrible behaviour, rather than trying to stop it. IT/RI Tech at River Island is Hell - morale is low, management are dictatorial and everyone is frightened. Please don't join this terrible company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Open your eyes and spend some time on the shop floor. Listen to your leavers' interviews and act on them Take a very close look at your senior management - you have some very bad apples. Take the bullying problems you have at your company seriously. Be aware you are pushing some people to breaking point/breakdowns because of the bullying and intimidation.

    River Island Clothing2016-09-17

    River Island Clothing Response

    September 22, 2016Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review.

  5. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Floor Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good progression Good benefits Friendly Team Never Gets Boring Great first job

    Cons

    Dont appreciate management instores enough Some store managers take advantage

    Advice to Management

    be more fair to your team! they're the ones helping you to make your store a success. Don't make them miserable!

    River Island Clothing2019-10-13
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training and learning / development team Nice office with good selection of food/ drinks/canteen Interesting / compelling work

    Cons

    Slow progression Fast pace can mean long hours depending on team Office is next to a tip so can be a bit smelly in the summer

    River Island Clothing2019-10-12
  7. "nice place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Adviser in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    friendly staff and mangement , nice clothes

    Cons

    not all management are nice

    Advice to Management

    be more understanding of employees and situations

    River Island Clothing2019-10-12
  8. "decent part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    discounts 40% discounts on sale items at the end good management

    Cons

    pay is rather low for london wage

    River Island Clothing2019-10-07
  9. "The People Team (HR) fell apart at the seams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Office Employee in London, England
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time

    Pros

    Discount....in the past the culture

    Cons

    - High turnover of staff - Clear and obvious favouritism - Unfair and unequal treatment across the teams - Very poor communication While working here I watched the company go from a people focused, successful, brilliant place to work to unfortunately .... a horrible place to be with no interest in its people and awful communication. It's hard to say why or when it happened but believe its partly due to a... revolving door in the role of HRD and the fact I worked in the People Team, most of who were thoroughly miserable. How can a company thrive when its 'people people' the core of the business ...don't want to be there anymore. Promotions are given based on personal feeling/preference rather than hard work, skill and talent. At one point while we had no HRD one of the Heads of within the team quickly promoted various people (their friends) into newly created roles they had minimal skill in without it be advertised internally or even spoken about....our own recruitment team weren't even aware of it. This action went against the internal process the company had in place and left a bad taste. There was quite honestly one rule for one and a different rule for others made worse by the fact that decision making in the team is not regulated as its assumed to all be above board...being that its HR- this was not the case. Bad, sneaky and childish behaviours which stemmed specifically from the top in that team left it a toxic environment beyond saving. Only the CEO stepping in would have helped, an unbiased view for once......you would hope.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Somebody senior outside of that team needs to take a long hard look at it and talk to the remaining team members to understand what is happening and address the max exodus of smart, committed, talented people

    River Island Clothing2019-10-18
  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people to meet. Good hours to suit me.

    Cons

    Other people not pulling weight

    River Island Clothing2019-10-02
Found 958 reviews