River Island Clothing Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

River Island Clothing Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 884 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
River Island Clothing CEO Ben Lewis
Ben Lewis
265 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "below minimum wage if under 20, 8 hours a week to begin(in 45 reviews)

  • "long hours on your feet, often have to cover shifts at late notice(in 44 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love working here!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I work with a small team of around 20 people. Collectively everyone is so hard working so the work load does not just fall on one person. Amazing staff discount.

    Cons

    The pay. Minimum wage only. Considering it is a company which turns over billions they should atleast give staff a pay rise.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the way you are. Keep all the bitchiness out and everyone will be happy.

    River Island Clothing2016-01-09

    River Island Clothing Response

    February 16, 2016Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your lovely review, I will pass on your feedback

  2. "Life in retail industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Adviser in London, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Go staff discount is really goood

    Cons

    Foot fall could have been better

    River Island Clothing2017-10-17

    River Island Clothing Response

    October 27, 2017Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your feedback.

  3. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at River Island Clothing

    Pros

    Excellent Company Met some cool people whilst working there

    Cons

    Working hours Treat you unfairly if you don't have a voice in the company

    River Island Clothing2016-11-10

    River Island Clothing Response

    January 12, 2017Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us.

  4. "Terrible Experience - IT/RI Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Drone in London, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing

    Pros

    Payroll/Summer Fridays Er, that's about it

    Cons

    Bullying Lack of opportunities Poor management Intimidation Bullying Advertising a person's job whilst they are still there and not telling them. Constant threats about losing your job. Pay is laughable. Crappy support payments and unrealistic expectations. Dull, dull, dull. Permanent staff treated very badly compared to contractors. Contractors have been shafted too. Massive turnover of staff. Forcing older...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Open your eyes and spend some time on the shop floor. Listen to your leavers' interviews and act on them Take a very close look at your senior management - you have some very bad apples. Take the bullying problems you have at your company seriously. Be aware you are pushing some people to breaking point/breakdowns because of the bullying and intimidation.

    River Island Clothing2016-09-17

    River Island Clothing Response

    September 22, 2016Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review.

  5. "Review of River Island Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good staff discount. Liked staff members on the same level as me

    Cons

    A lot of favouritism occurred. One manager insulted me for my accent.

    River Island Clothing2019-06-17
  6. "Decent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team you work with make the job

    Cons

    Holidays can be slightly tricky to manage and pay can be put in wrong a lot of the time

    River Island Clothing2019-06-17
  7. "Fair but Boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Assistant in Athlone
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount is great, nice work environment.

    Cons

    Unsociable hours. No heads on whether you might work the next day

    River Island Clothing2019-06-16
  8. "Picker and packer review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Picker/Packer in Milton Keynes, England

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, some of the managers were very friendly and good break/lunch services

    Cons

    Hours were not flexible espeacially if you have a social life, you were expected to work overtime and only got two days off every fortnite.

    River Island Clothing2019-06-15
  9. "River island"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in East Winch, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly environment nice place and music

    Cons

    Sales , a lot of work beforehand

    Advice to Management

    Carry on being a fantastic place of work

    River Island Clothing2019-06-13
  10. "Working in retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in Birmingham, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Fashionable. -Great discounts. -Meet new people

    Cons

    -Managers, -Working during sales. -No double pay during bank holidays and sales as those were the busier times

    Advice to Management

    Not to patronise new staff as it sets the tone of how the managers do not appreciate the staff's efforts

    River Island Clothing2019-06-08
Found 884 reviews