River Island Clothing Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

River Island Clothing Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 917 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
River Island Clothing CEO Ben Lewis
Ben Lewis
277 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "below minimum wage if under 20, 8 hours a week to begin(in 45 reviews)

  • "long hours on your feet, often have to cover shifts at late notice(in 44 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love working here!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I work with a small team of around 20 people. Collectively everyone is so hard working so the work load does not just fall on one person. Amazing staff discount.

    Cons

    The pay. Minimum wage only. Considering it is a company which turns over billions they should atleast give staff a pay rise.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the way you are. Keep all the bitchiness out and everyone will be happy.

    River Island Clothing2016-01-09

    River Island Clothing Response

    February 16, 2016Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your lovely review, I will pass on your feedback

  2. "Life in retail industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Adviser in London, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Go staff discount is really goood

    Cons

    Foot fall could have been better

    River Island Clothing2017-10-17

    River Island Clothing Response

    October 27, 2017Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your feedback.

  3. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at River Island Clothing

    Pros

    Excellent Company Met some cool people whilst working there

    Cons

    Working hours Treat you unfairly if you don't have a voice in the company

    River Island Clothing2016-11-10

    River Island Clothing Response

    January 12, 2017Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us.

  4. "Terrible Experience - IT/RI Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Drone in London, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing

    Pros

    Payroll/Summer Fridays Er, that's about it

    Cons

    Bullying Lack of opportunities Poor management Intimidation Bullying Advertising a person's job whilst they are still there and not telling them. Constant threats about losing your job. Pay is laughable. Crappy support payments and unrealistic expectations. Dull, dull, dull. Permanent staff treated very badly compared to contractors. Contractors have been shafted too. Massive turnover of staff. Forcing older...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Open your eyes and spend some time on the shop floor. Listen to your leavers' interviews and act on them Take a very close look at your senior management - you have some very bad apples. Take the bullying problems you have at your company seriously. Be aware you are pushing some people to breaking point/breakdowns because of the bullying and intimidation.

    River Island Clothing2016-09-17

    River Island Clothing Response

    September 22, 2016Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review.

  5. "Allocator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time

    Pros

    Great teams and nice people

    Cons

    The location is out the way

    River Island Clothing2019-08-13
  6. "Good place to work, poor location and pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and people to work with

    Cons

    Underpaying, bad location of head office, no growth

    River Island Clothing2019-08-07
  7. "Positive opportunities but stressful/underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Bournemouth, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good community and staff, charity work and fundraising, opportunities for fast progression, training in management, good discount

    Cons

    Understaffed, overworked, technology constantly problematic, stockloss a constant concern, unrealistic bonus structure

    Advice to Management

    Learn to delegate and give yourself the time to do your own tasks. Don’t overstretch yourself or work overtime, just do what you can, delegate and follow up and feedback to your AM if you have concerns.

    River Island Clothing2019-08-03
  8. "buying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer 

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time

    Pros

    positve friendly good location, happy enviroment

    Cons

    location, pay, promotions, canteen, building

    River Island Clothing2019-08-14
  9. "Nice People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PPC Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Communication needs improvement from upper management

    River Island Clothing2019-07-24
  10. "Long hours on your feet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with and 40% discount.

    Cons

    -Long hours on you feet with 10-20 minute breaks each day. Everyone in the store kept getting tonsillitis from the air conditioning as it was never cleaned. The stock room had a leak that was never fixed. You weren't really allowed to drink water and toilet breaks were timed and if you took to long you were asked for through your headpiece. At the end of my shift my family would come to meet me and my manager told...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When an employee is sick let them have basic human rights like drinking water and going to the toilet. Train managers better as they're all on power trips

    River Island Clothing2019-08-06
Found 917 reviews