River Island Clothing Reviews

Updated Jun 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
River Island Clothing CEO Will Kernan
Will Kernan
22 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Christmas is tough, like anywhere else, but I found Christmas tough due to long hours(in 55 reviews)

  • "Although the pay is slightly over minimum wage I don’t think the company do enough for their staff(in 48 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love working here!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I work with a small team of around 20 people. Collectively everyone is so hard working so the work load does not just fall on one person. Amazing staff discount.

    Cons

    The pay. Minimum wage only. Considering it is a company which turns over billions they should atleast give staff a pay rise.

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2016-01-09

    River Island Clothing Response

    February 16, 2016Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your lovely review, I will pass on your feedback

  2. "Life in retail industry"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Adviser in London, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Go staff discount is really goood

    Cons

    Foot fall could have been better

    River Island Clothing2017-10-17

    River Island Clothing Response

    October 27, 2017Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your feedback.

  3. "Sales Assistant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at River Island Clothing

    Pros

    Excellent Company Met some cool people whilst working there

    Cons

    Working hours Treat you unfairly if you don't have a voice in the company

    River Island Clothing2016-11-10

    River Island Clothing Response

    January 12, 2017Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us.

  4. "Terrible Experience - IT/RI Tech"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    IT Drone in London, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing

    Pros

    Payroll/Summer Fridays Er, that's about it

    Cons

    Bullying Lack of opportunities Poor management Intimidation Bullying Advertising a person's job whilst they are still there and not telling them. Constant threats about losing your job. Pay is laughable. Crappy support payments and unrealistic expectations. Dull, dull, dull. Permanent staff treated very badly compared to contractors. Contractors have been shafted too. Massive turnover of staff. Forcing older staff out of the company. Unable to retain the new recruits. Give holiday, but expect you to just drop it for no compensation if they need you in. Unable to speak freely or criticise the regime - only very positive comments are allowed. HR are pathetic and seem to encourage the management's terrible behaviour, rather than trying to stop it. IT/RI Tech at River Island is Hell - morale is low, management are dictatorial and everyone is frightened. Please don't join this terrible company.

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2016-09-17

    River Island Clothing Response

    September 22, 2016Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review.

  5. "Sales Assistant at River Island"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time

    Pros

    Young staff, sociable and up for going for coffee etc

    Cons

    Low pay! Inappropriate staff (should be more safeguards considering a lot of people who work there are quite young)

    River Island Clothing2020-06-01
  6. "Excellent Company"

    5.0
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time

    Pros

    People Interaction and customer service skills

    Cons

    Nothing This company is excellent

    River Island Clothing2020-05-29
  7. "My experience working as a sales assistant in River Island."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time

    Pros

    My interview went really well I felt comfortable talking and chatting about what I could bring to the table as a RI staff member. The training process was quick and easy it involved being shown how to work the tills how to greet customers how to process online orders how to correctly clean the shop floor and put out new stock and put back rejects from the fitting room. Every one was really friendly and I felt like part of the team in no time. I was 16 starting and wanted a summer job while I was off school for the summer and it was the perfect job. I feel like there’s a lot of room for improvement and error especially since I was starting So young and it was my first ever job the managers and employees helped me greatly and help one another out on a day to day basis.

    Cons

    I wish I could have kept the job through my last school year but unfortunately I couldn’t due to the times I finished school and the times I could and couldn’t work other than that this job was perfect.

    River Island Clothing2020-05-23
  8. "Retail assistant 2years"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Bolton, England

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working as a team, Lovely staff and good wage

    Cons

    Not many hours available, management wasn’t up to the task

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2020-05-19
  9. "River Island"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - United Kingdom in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team spirit friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    More interaction with senior management

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2020-05-17
  10. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Bexleyheath, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great for students to earn money while at uni/school, able to specify hours you can work.

    Cons

    Very busy around peak sale times

    River Island Clothing2020-05-16
Found 1063 reviews