River Island Clothing Customer Sales Assistant Reviews

Updated May 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 1,797 reviews

4.0
93%
Recommend to a Friend
River Island Clothing CEO Will Kernan
Will Kernan
0 Rating
  1. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Pleasant working experience

    May 20, 2021 - Customer Sales Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    40% staff discount Got holiday when asked for

    Cons

    Insistent on store orders and e receipts even if the store isn’t busy

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Support

    Apr 20, 2021 - Customer Sales Assistant in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work isn't too taxing, staff are great fun and really felt like part of a team

    Cons

    Sometimes you might be the only one to look after a whole dept in the store which can be daunting

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    disrespecful staff and management.

    Aug 14, 2017 - Customer Sales Assistant in Stratford, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Engaging with customers discount on clothes lunch time discount for friends and family

    Cons

    rude staff and late shifts with short or no notice

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    River Island Clothing Response

    Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your feedback. We will take your feedback on board and look in to ways in which we can improve this.

  4. 4.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    It's always been my favourite store.. super fun place to work!

    Jun 7, 2017 - Customer Sales Assistant in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    40% off staff discount and seasonal free uniform allowance!!!! We also get our own lockers and we're encouraged to actually look nice (but not over-dressed) for work

    Cons

    Flagship store gets UNBELIEVABLY busy and the company is surprisingly strict about having phones with you on the shop floor! Sometimes customers are ridiculously rude.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Management

    Apr 20, 2017 - Customer Sales Assistant in Mansfield, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management were focused and driven and this was replicated by sales team.

    Cons

    My role, there was not enough hours

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    River Island Clothing Response

    Recruitment Officer

    Thank you for your review. We would love to be able to accommodate all shift requirements wherever possible and recognise hard workers!

  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    sales assistant

    Jan 18, 2017 - Customer Sales Assistant in Sheffield, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    service expectations train you well for future jobs, staff discount, staff nights out, free uniform allowance, able to progress, fast paced environment, friends

    Cons

    unsociable hours, expected to put work before everything else, can not be team leader on a part time contract, store manager can be unfriendly,

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    River Island Clothing Response

    Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review. Retail hours can be very long and we appreciate our store teams effort in making River Island an amazing shopping destination for our customers. We love to recognise hard working individuals so we will take your feedback on board.

  7. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Disliked working here as a 16 year old

    Nov 27, 2016 - Customer Sales Assistant in Bristol, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Got a clothing allowance for uniform from the store

    Cons

    Had to work at least 2 days a week on part time which took up my whole weekend and they werent flexible or supportive when i had my exams to work towards which ended with me quitting. The team leaders were more bothered about profit etc then they were with the employees, they were also very bias in the employment process to who was attractive enough.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    River Island Clothing Response

    Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review. We're sorry you didn't have a good experience with us. Most of our store employees are students as they find the shifts work well around their studies but unfortunately retail hours can be unsociable. Our Managers are expected to drive profit in order to make our stores successful however the well being of our employees should also be top of the agenda so we'll take your feedback on board and look in to this.

  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Relatively good, enjoyable atmosphere and worked with some great people.

    Dec 2, 2015 - Customer Sales Assistant in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits such as 30% discount and reasonable holidays. Worked with a lot if different types of people and chances to move up to management.

    Cons

    Low pay especially for people who are under 18 and high pressure from management to reach targets. Can be very stressful on holiday periods and sale.

    2 people found this review helpful

    River Island Clothing Response

    Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to review your River Island work experience, I will ensure that I pass on your comments

  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Paid slave labour

    Jan 17, 2015 - Customer Sales Assistant in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    30% discount Free uniform every 3 months Always have overtime

    Cons

    You have to stand all day Minimum wage pay Slow career progression within the company Monotonous and repetitive Members of staff are horrible

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    River Island Clothing Response

    Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review, we will take your feedback on board.

  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    It really depends on who you end up working with, but altogether its was a good experience for me.

    Sep 18, 2014 - Customer Sales Assistant in Greenhithe, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Every three months you get a uniform allowance based on how many hours you work a week. its always great to get new clothes for free. Also when you work with nice sales assistants it can be really fun and enjoyable.

    Cons

    If you end up working with people you dislike, it can be really challenging as you have to spend a great deal of time with them. Working is hard enough but with staff hellbent on making your shift a misery its incredibly annoying.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    River Island Clothing Response

    Recruitment Officer

    We're sorry you feel this way. Thanks for your review.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

Popular Careers with River Island Clothing Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at River Island Clothing? Share Your Experiences

River Island Clothing logo
or