Ritz-Carlton Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ritz-Carlton Reviews

Updated Dec 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Ritz-Carlton CEO Hervé Humler
Hervé Humler
563 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Among the Best in Hotels"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SPA Attendant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ritz-Carlton part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employees in different departments could have different experiences, but for the most part the hotel does their best to hire the best qualified people for the job and doesn't settle for anything less than 5 Star from their employees. The company culture is strong, the pay is more than fair, and they do their best to take care of everybody that works for them. There are benefits for part time staff as well. They... expect a lot from you, but when it comes down to it the work isn't overly demanding and the management does their best to give you all of the tools to succeed. Growth is also a very big value in the brand and many people in management and directing positions have been promoted internally.

    Show More

    Cons

    Back of house facilities for staff aren't as nice as other 5 Star properties Unlike working at other hotels, you'll never get amazing deals on visits to other Ritz Carltons. Employee Experience rates are set by individual hotels and sometimes you can still wind up paying over $500 per night at another Ritz, unlike Four Seasons which gives you minimum 3 comped nights per year. Communication between departments... can sometimes be an issue.

    Show More
    Ritz-Carlton2019-08-13
  2. "An ok job at best with no work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ritz-Carlton part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great money, many opportunities for promotion.

    Cons

    No work life balance, high turnover of line staff and managers

    Advice to Management

    Give people more work life balance and they will be more productive

    Ritz-Carlton2019-10-09
  3. "Nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Server 

    I have been working at Ritz-Carlton part-time

    Pros

    Great culture, good benefits, good people,

    Cons

    Nothing much to say. All good

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Ritz-Carlton2019-06-28
  4. "Marriott Managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sous-Chef in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Ritz-Carlton full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great leaderdhip team and health benefits

    Cons

    Employee turnover is too fast

    Ritz-Carlton2019-07-03
  5. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Ritz-Carlton

    Pros

    -Consistent schedule with hours if you are full-time -Good benefits package including income matching for retirement savings and employee discounts -Pay is competitive with industry -Continually learning new things you can also do lateral which are outside department shifts to learn new skills and make extra money -Great team members who are ladies and gentlemen and are a pleasure to work with

    Cons

    -Extreme busy periods which are hard to gauge -Some managers don’t what they’re doing and micromanage staff unnecessarily -Interiors have become dated and needs renovations

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing it’s a great company to work for. We as ladies and gentlemen are continually improving ourselves to better the guest experience. We are ladies and gentlemen serving ladies and gentlemen.

    Ritz-Carlton2018-12-16
  6. "In Room Dining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ritz-Carlton part-time

    Pros

    -Great Company culture -18% service tips (included on every bill) plus extra gratuities is given to you

    Cons

    -Always getting cut because slow periods

    Ritz-Carlton2018-11-29
  7. "Guest Services Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ritz-Carlton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Respect for each other , Ethics , Intigrity , Great environment

    Cons

    Some of the employees try to exploit the work culture

    Advice to Management

    If somebody is not following the Ritz Carlton spirit , kindly fix him

    Ritz-Carlton2018-11-21
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Ritz-Carlton full-time

    Pros

    Great benefit and great company culture

    Cons

    Staff quality uneven, competitive personal growth opportunities

    Ritz-Carlton2018-11-01
  9. "COOK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cook in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ritz-Carlton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    THE BEST HOTEL in the city of toronto

    Cons

    none as far as i see.they are cool

    Advice to Management

    na

    Ritz-Carlton2018-10-01
  10. "Ritz-carlton Toronto is the worst Ritz property to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Sous Chef in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ritz-Carlton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    really nothing to mention , it is a place that has nothing to do with luxury

    Cons

    too many to mention, i do not suggest this place to people who want to develop skills in hospitality industry

    Advice to Management

    too much negativity in this property, this place needs qualified leaders

    Ritz-Carlton2018-10-11
Found 1256 reviews