Ricoh Canada Reviews

Updated May 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
34%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Ricoh Canada President and CEO Glenn Laverty (no image)
Glenn Laverty
76 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Shallow Commitments from Executive Leadership"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ricoh Canada full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They have many good and friendly people and are very relaxed about their working remote policy.

    Cons

    Ricoh Canada is an organization that has demonstrated a lack of integrity and competency amongst their executive leadership. The organization is in desperate need of "new blood" and "new thinking" required to Lead them through to the organization that they say they need to become. In the last 2 years they have started to show a regular turnover in their executive but rather seek out and evaluate the right people for the right roles they simply select the person who has been around the longest and has demonstrated that they value loyalty above doing the right thing for the organization. As such, you have continued thought patterns and similar lack of action or results required. Can you imagine a scenario where the organization just simply stops doing employee surveys because they have come to realize that the really do not have any intention at all of fixing any of the issues brought forward by the staff? Can you imagine an organization that professes to be a Gemba organization and at the same time has stopped asking the front line employees for their input? Can you imagine this scenario and then proceeding to reduce the workforce and staffing levels due to poor results but never actually holding any of the leaders responsible for the results accountable? Can you imagine an organization that professes to be a Gemba organization and has a VP who only cares to interact with the people he leads twice in a 4.5 year period? Can you imagine what it might be like to work for this organization when they promote this VP into the President's role? Things are only getting worse.

    Continue reading
    Ricoh Canada2020-03-22

    Ricoh Canada Response

    April 7, 2020HR Coordinator Co-op

    Thank you for your candid comments. At Ricoh, we are open to feedback of all types and will always listen with an open mind to what our employees have to say. We conduct semi-annual employee surveys with a random cross-section of the work force and starting in February, we have increased the frequency of our pulse surveys to quarterly using a new employee engagement platform. It is important to bring in fresh perspectives through new hires and our robust recruitment program ensures we have new hires starting at all levels of the organization. We are also very proud of our employee professional development programs that supports our employee’s professional career goals and establishes career paths that can lead to both lateral and promotional job opportunities. We strive to strike the right balance between promotion from within which benefits our employees and hiring from the outside which provide new perspectives. It is unfortunate that your experience at Ricoh was a negative one. We do not shy away from hearing different opinions and ideas and therefore we invite you to reach out to us at hr@ricoh.ca if you wish to discuss your thoughts further.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "still struggling to wrap up a long reorganization"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ricoh Canada full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    people, faster pace, opportunities, not bad salaries

    Cons

    best example of peter principle, low benefits

    Continue reading
    Ricoh Canada2020-02-12

    Ricoh Canada Response

    February 24, 2020HR Coordinator Co-op

    We appreciate the time you took to provide feedback. When making hiring or promotion decisions we carefully consider all the requirements of a position before someone is selected for a role. At Ricoh, we believe in the growth and development of all our employees. We work towards an individual development plan for each employee and aim to provide them with opportunities in which they would excel at. Respect for employees is front and center within the Ricoh culture. We work closely with managers to ensure they have the tools and support to ensure employees are engaged in the business. We agree that the Glengarry Glen Ross film did not demonstrate a good example for how to run a company and we are proud to say that we do not tolerate those types of behaviour within our organization. If you have witnessed any such behaviours, we encourage you to contact us at hr@ricoh.ca, since they are not aligned with our values and culture.

  3. "An average company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ricoh Canada full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stable company. Currently undergoing change for a digital world.

    Cons

    Lack of standard process and procedures with clear policies on what to do if something doesn't fit the standard process. Silo mentality.

    Continue reading
    Ricoh Canada2020-01-21

    Ricoh Canada Response

    January 29, 2020HR Coordinator Co-op

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! We are glad that you share our excitement in Ricoh’s growth as we expand our focus on the digital world. This move towards information mobility allows our clients to get their information wherever and whenever they need it, enabling them to work faster and more successfully. With regards to your comments about our standard process, we understand the importance of efficiency and are continually reviewing our processes to make improvements and modifications. We appreciate this feedback as it helps us with our continuous efforts in reducing bureaucracy and streamlining efficiency. Our goal is to ensure that employees of all departments feel like they are appreciated and have the ability to share suggestions openly. We truly believe employees have a direct impact to the success of the company. We invite you to share any ideas you have for improvement with your manager or we invite you to email hr@ricoh.ca.

  4. "Change management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Site Manager 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ricoh Canada full-time

    Pros

    A lot of resource sharing and knowledge - great training program.

    Cons

    Not enough guidance from direct management - inconsistent resource planning - would be improved if there was more transparency from senior management with directives

    Continue reading
    Ricoh Canada2020-01-15

    Ricoh Canada Response

    January 27, 2020HR Coordinator Co-op

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! We are glad that you are enjoying the dynamic team environment at Ricoh. We regularly review our structure and training programs to ensure they are aligned with our business strategies and employee needs. We also promote growth by creating a path to career opportunities across the organization and developing learning programs, like the Ricoh Learning Institute, LinkedIn Learning and individual development plans for all employees. With regards to your comments about resource planning and directives, at Ricoh we promote open communication between all levels of staff, which includes being as transparent as possible. As managers are responsible for the resource planning of their respective teams, part of the planning process includes reviews with senior management. We do our best to manage workloads for teams so that they are reasonable and achievable. We encourage our employees to have an open discussion with their managers about work life balance and workload concerns so we can take the necessary steps to address them. We value your feedback, and aim to incorporate it to our continuous improvement efforts. If you have any more specific comments about this or other matters we invite you to email hr@ricoh.ca and we can look into any possible areas on where we can improve.

  5. "On the move to trends and times to flexible work environment."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ricoh Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy for country business unit is good.

    Cons

    Strong Brand, but older "printer / copier" reputation versus actual technology and digital information company.

    Continue reading
    Ricoh Canada2020-01-03

    Ricoh Canada Response

    January 27, 2020HR Coordinator Co-op

    We appreciate that you took the time to provide feedback! It is true that our reputation is initially associated with our “printers and copiers”, due to the performance and reliability of our hardware. As you’ve mentioned, Ricoh encompasses a broad range of services including IT and digital offerings. This broad portfolio of services and technologies helps our clients innovate and grow. The move towards information mobility allows our clients to get their information wherever and whenever they need it, enabling them to work faster and more successfully. We are also glad that you feel the continuous growth from our managers, as we strive to provide all employees with a positive and supportive work environment

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Some days are great"

    3.0
    Current Employee - SOSS - Managed Services 

    I have been working at Ricoh Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Never have to take work home with you. Come in, do your job, go home. Learning through RLI and web ex definitely beneficial. Growth opportunities.

    Cons

    Can be a negative experience if expectations aren't set, making it more stressful than it needs to be for an entry job.

    Ricoh Canada2019-12-19

    Ricoh Canada Response

    December 30, 2019HR Coordinator Coop

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are glad to hear that you felt there was a good work-life balance as Ricoh strives to promote a work environment where employees enjoy coming to work and refrain from feeling over-whelmed in their roles. We are also delighted to hear that you utilized the useful resources available to you such as RLI and Web Ex as these programs were introduced to help employees in working toward self-development and enhancement of skills to aid them in their growing careers at Ricoh as well as their personal growth. With regards to your comment about lack of expectations being set, we regret to hear that you felt this way as we provide our managers with the appropriate tools and training to successfully be able to guide their employees towards success in their current roles and to minimize associated stressors or obstacles. We appreciate your taking the time to provide your feedback and invite you to email hr@ricoh.ca if you had any suggestions for us as our managers are very open to feedback.

  7. Helpful (2)

    "A lot of work to do"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Service Technician in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ricoh Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team dynamic, very helpful team members and immediate supervisor

    Cons

    Bloated middle management, poor communication between departments. Low pay for the work(they say its competitive but just because everyone else is paying low wages doesn't make it right) and a confusing benefits structure

    Continue reading
    Ricoh Canada2019-12-18

    Ricoh Canada Response

    December 30, 2019HR Coordinator Coop

    We are glad to hear that you enjoy working with your team and managers here at Ricoh, as we are committed to creating a positive and welcoming work environment for all our employees. With regards to your comments about management, we regularly review our processes to improve efficiency and strive to create a coherent form of communication among the several departments housed within Ricoh. With regards to the compensation and benefits plan, we regularly conduct analysis into the market and internally to evaluate our practices and remain competitive with the market. If you feel there are areas of the compensation plan that you would like to better understand, please feel free to reach out to your manager or HR Consultant to assist you with clarification. If you have any more specific comments about this or other matters we invite you to email hr@ricoh.ca and we can look into any possible areas on where we can improve. Our managers are very open to this type of feedback.

  8. "good for fresh out of school sales experience"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Account Manager in St. John's, NL

    I worked at Ricoh Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people and strong sales training program.

    Cons

    not enough collaboration between different regions

    Continue reading
    Ricoh Canada2019-12-16

    Ricoh Canada Response

    December 30, 2019HR Coordinator Coop

    We are happy to hear that you enjoyed working with other employees at Ricoh and found our sales training program useful as we regularly update and improve our training programs in order to equip our employees for success and remove any roadblocks for them. With regards to your comments on collaboration among different regions, although Geography does provide some challenges when it comes to communication, we always look for opportunities to enhance cross-regional communication and collaboration among employees from different areas as we believe effective teamwork is essential to the success of our employees and organization’s goals. Thank you for you advice and feedback, we appreciate it greatly.

  9. "Good company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ricoh Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, large company, great products

    Cons

    Very stressful, unorganized, and some poor managers

    Ricoh Canada2019-10-19

    Ricoh Canada Response

    October 29, 2019HR Coordinator Coop

    We are glad to hear that your time here at Ricoh has been enjoyable as we thrive to create a comfortable and positive work environment. Regarding your concerns about management and stress, these comments do not align with our values at Ricoh as we set promote open conversation among our employees and management and train them to support employee success by working around their career goals and reducing workplace stress to ensure a healthy work environment for all. We invite you contact hr@ricoh.ca to share further details and concerns.

  10. Helpful (2)

    "salary"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist 

    I have been working at Ricoh Canada full-time

    Pros

    Nothing to much to say

    Cons

    Top people only cares about themselves

    Ricoh Canada2019-11-21

    Ricoh Canada Response

    December 30, 2019HR Coordinator Coop

    Ricoh prides itself on ensuring that all employees feel appreciated. With regards to your comments about top management, we are sorry to hear that you feel this way. We are committed to training and developing leaders that are successfully able to foster an enjoyable and rewarding professional experience for their employees at Ricoh. We are interested in hearing more about your experience with the management style that you encountered at Ricoh. Our managers are very open to this type of feedback and therefore, we invite you to email hr@ricoh.ca so that we can investigate any possible areas on where we can improve.

Found 132 reviews