Ricoh Canada Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ricoh Canada Reviews

Updated Mar 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
48%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Ricoh Canada President and CEO Glenn Laverty (no image)
Glenn Laverty
74 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay,pressure environment,no career growth(in 7 reviews)

  • "Commissions never right and a lot of disconnect with upper management(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Solid Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IAM 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ricoh Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * good benefits * good work environment * solid managers who mentor employees * flexible

    Cons

    * large territories * sometimes decisions take a long time to be made

    Ricoh Canada2019-08-07

    Ricoh Canada Response

    August 9, 2019Internal Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the work environment and felt supported by your manager. Ricoh invests heavily into promoting flexibility and work-life balance among all employees, and we know our employees highly benefit from the flexibility we offer. At Ricoh, we understand the important of speed in business decisions in today’s world of work. We are continually striving to improve processes to reduce bureaucracy, increase efficiency and reduce response times. We appreciate this feedback as we are continuously looking for new ways to improve.

    Continue reading
  2. "Below Industry Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ricoh Canada full-time

    Pros

    Good sales training program and employee benefits

    Cons

    No marketing support, need more females in executive positions

    Continue reading
    Ricoh Canada2020-03-26
  3. "Company shows its true colors during hard times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - On-Site Service Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ricoh Canada full-time

    Pros

    The people are great and environment is welcoming. Everyone seems great most of the time

    Cons

    Starting wage is just above minimum with maybe a .35¢ raise at the end of the year, if you're lucky. Need to score pretty big on the point system they keep on you for even that amount. No regard for employees well-being. You are a $$ sign at the end of the day. Their contracts mean more than you do.

    Continue reading
    Ricoh Canada2020-03-31
  4. "Service technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Field Service Technician in London, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ricoh Canada full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Time off when needed for appointments.

    Cons

    Work load is always rush and more work load added as years go on with no extra pay structure.

    Ricoh Canada2020-03-15
  5. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Document Processing Clerk 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ricoh Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team were helpful just not enough time spent on training

    Cons

    Not enough training or help with particular company processes

    Continue reading
    Ricoh Canada2020-03-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Shallow Commitments from Executive Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ricoh Canada full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They have many good and friendly people and are very relaxed about their working remote policy.

    Cons

    Ricoh Canada is an organization that has demonstrated a lack of integrity and competency amongst their executive leadership. The organization is in desperate need of "new blood" and "new thinking" required to Lead them through to the organization that they say they need to become. In the last 2 years they have started to show a regular turnover in their executive but rather seek out and evaluate the right people for the right roles they simply select the person who has been around the longest and has demonstrated that they value loyalty above doing the right thing for the organization. As such, you have continued thought patterns and similar lack of action or results required. Can you imagine a scenario where the organization just simply stops doing employee surveys because they have come to realize that the really do not have any intention at all of fixing any of the issues brought forward by the staff? Can you imagine an organization that professes to be a Gemba organization and at the same time has stopped asking the front line employees for their input? Can you imagine this scenario and then proceeding to reduce the workforce and staffing levels due to poor results but never actually holding any of the leaders responsible for the results accountable? Can you imagine an organization that professes to be a Gemba organization and has a VP who only cares to interact with the people he leads twice in a 4.5 year period? Can you imagine what it might be like to work for this organization when they promote this VP into the President's role? Things are only getting worse.

    Continue reading
    Ricoh Canada2020-03-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "still struggling to wrap up a long reorganization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ricoh Canada full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    people, faster pace, opportunities, not bad salaries

    Cons

    best example of peter principle, low benefits

    Continue reading
    Ricoh Canada2020-02-12

    Ricoh Canada Response

    February 24, 2020HR Coordinator Co-op

    We appreciate the time you took to provide feedback. When making hiring or promotion decisions we carefully consider all the requirements of a position before someone is selected for a role. At Ricoh, we believe in the growth and development of all our employees. We work towards an individual development plan for each employee and aim to provide them with opportunities in which they would excel at. Respect for employees is front and center within the Ricoh culture. We work closely with managers to ensure they have the tools and support to ensure employees are engaged in the business. We agree that the Glengarry Glen Ross film did not demonstrate a good example for how to run a company and we are proud to say that we do not tolerate those types of behaviour within our organization. If you have witnessed any such behaviours, we encourage you to contact us at hr@ricoh.ca, since they are not aligned with our values and culture.

    Continue reading
  8. "An average company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ricoh Canada full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stable company. Currently undergoing change for a digital world.

    Cons

    Lack of standard process and procedures with clear policies on what to do if something doesn't fit the standard process. Silo mentality.

    Continue reading
    Ricoh Canada2020-01-21

    Ricoh Canada Response

    January 29, 2020HR Coordinator Co-op

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! We are glad that you share our excitement in Ricoh’s growth as we expand our focus on the digital world. This move towards information mobility allows our clients to get their information wherever and whenever they need it, enabling them to work faster and more successfully. With regards to your comments about our standard process, we understand the importance of efficiency and are continually reviewing our processes to make improvements and modifications. We appreciate this feedback as it helps us with our continuous efforts in reducing bureaucracy and streamlining efficiency. Our goal is to ensure that employees of all departments feel like they are appreciated and have the ability to share suggestions openly. We truly believe employees have a direct impact to the success of the company. We invite you to share any ideas you have for improvement with your manager or we invite you to email hr@ricoh.ca.

    Continue reading
  9. "Change management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Site Manager 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ricoh Canada full-time

    Pros

    A lot of resource sharing and knowledge - great training program.

    Cons

    Not enough guidance from direct management - inconsistent resource planning - would be improved if there was more transparency from senior management with directives

    Continue reading
    Ricoh Canada2020-01-15

    Ricoh Canada Response

    January 27, 2020HR Coordinator Co-op

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! We are glad that you are enjoying the dynamic team environment at Ricoh. We regularly review our structure and training programs to ensure they are aligned with our business strategies and employee needs. We also promote growth by creating a path to career opportunities across the organization and developing learning programs, like the Ricoh Learning Institute, LinkedIn Learning and individual development plans for all employees. With regards to your comments about resource planning and directives, at Ricoh we promote open communication between all levels of staff, which includes being as transparent as possible. As managers are responsible for the resource planning of their respective teams, part of the planning process includes reviews with senior management. We do our best to manage workloads for teams so that they are reasonable and achievable. We encourage our employees to have an open discussion with their managers about work life balance and workload concerns so we can take the necessary steps to address them. We value your feedback, and aim to incorporate it to our continuous improvement efforts. If you have any more specific comments about this or other matters we invite you to email hr@ricoh.ca and we can look into any possible areas on where we can improve.

    Continue reading
  10. "On the move to trends and times to flexible work environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ricoh Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy for country business unit is good.

    Cons

    Strong Brand, but older "printer / copier" reputation versus actual technology and digital information company.

    Continue reading
    Ricoh Canada2020-01-03

    Ricoh Canada Response

    January 27, 2020HR Coordinator Co-op

    We appreciate that you took the time to provide feedback! It is true that our reputation is initially associated with our “printers and copiers”, due to the performance and reliability of our hardware. As you’ve mentioned, Ricoh encompasses a broad range of services including IT and digital offerings. This broad portfolio of services and technologies helps our clients innovate and grow. The move towards information mobility allows our clients to get their information wherever and whenever they need it, enabling them to work faster and more successfully. We are also glad that you feel the continuous growth from our managers, as we strive to provide all employees with a positive and supportive work environment

    Continue reading
Found 127 reviews