Ricoh Canada Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ricoh Canada Reviews

Updated 10 June, 2018
80 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Ricoh Canada President and CEO Glenn Laverty
Glenn Laverty
49 Ratings

80 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Fun work environment to be a party of" (in 5 reviews)

  • "Great coworkers, good benefits package, modern clean work environment, room for growth and promotion" (in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "low pay, bureaucratic part of a corporation makes getting things done take longer" (in 5 reviews)

  • "Commissions never right and a lot of disconnect with upper management" (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Business Development Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Solutions Consultant in Calgary, AB
    Current Employee - Business Solutions Consultant in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ricoh Canada full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Definitely ahead of the competition. Doing everything to empower employees. Will help you in succeeding.

    Cons

    Huge company so change takes time. Goals sometimes unrealistic. No clear career path. Comp plan is unjust in areas.

    Advice to Management

    Assess the market conditions more closely and then set goals. Otherwise, this is the best training I've ever gotten.

    Ricoh Canada Response

    5 Feb, 2018 – HR Coordinator, Co-op

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

    With today’s technology advancing at such a rapid pace, it is great to hear that you feel we are ahead of our competition. Since the... More


  2. "Type"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mississauga, ON
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ricoh Canada full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Subcontracted to a larger law firm in Canada which allowed for further contacts and insights
    Decent pay
    Decent health and medical benefits

    Cons

    A massive amount of micromanagement. Had to report to 3 different people daily, weekly, and monthly with activity logs detailing workload

    An unnecessary high volume of training that had no correlation to onsite position that took time up that could have been spent working with the firm

    A mandatory clock in clock out onsite policy with regards to work hours

    Advice to Management

    Lose the clock in and out policy
    Drop the unnecessary training for subcontracted staff
    Stop with the micromanagement

    Ricoh Canada Response

    12 Jun, 2018 – HR Coordinator - Co-op

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback.

    At Ricoh, we are committed to ensuring that our employees feel appreciated and are fairly compensated for their roles. It is great to... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "SCM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Concord, ON
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Concord, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ricoh Canada full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Stable job, solid company, good benefits, perfect team and friendly working environment

    Cons

    Too much duties and management adds more duties when someone leaves company, software requires improvement and update, salary is lower than average

    Advice to Management

    Update software. Hire more employees.

    Ricoh Canada Response

    7 Feb, 2018 – HR Coordinator, Co-op

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback.

    At Ricoh, we are committed to maintaining a friendly and supportive work environment and it is great to hear that your experience... More


  4. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Quebec, QC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Quebec, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ricoh Canada full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    A Good team, Free to decide my activities. A lot of e-learning very well concepted.

    Cons

    Salary maybe be better. Sometimes the manager take decisions without listen the employees affecteds about this choice.

    Advice to Management

    No problem with this part of the company.

    Ricoh Canada Response

    8 Feb, 2018 – HR Coordinator, Co-op

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback.

    It is great to hear that you feel supported at Ricoh. We always encourage our employees to learn and take on tasks that speak to their... More


  5. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager in Ottawa, ON
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ricoh Canada full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I did work with some nice people. Their Service team keeps them in business

    Cons

    Very disorganized making it very tough to get anything done. Very process centric but little training and guidance on all of them which means you have to learn them all the hard way. lack of flexibility with customers,

    Advice to Management

    develop a process manual. learn to be more flexible, support your sales staff and maybe you won't have 50% turnover every year.

    Ricoh Canada Response

    17 Jan, 2018 – HR Coordinator, Co-op

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

    It is great to hear that you enjoyed working in our collaborative and supportive work environment. We actively promote a team environment... More


  6. "Great place to work - lots of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ricoh Canada full-time

    Pros

    Global company with strong presence in major Canadian and US Cities. Flexible work environments. Great general employee benefits (non-health).

    Cons

    Average Health Benefits. Travel policies are very restrictive and inconvenient.

    Advice to Management

    Improve Health Benefits by increasing dental coverage and frequency or switch to a Health Spending account instead of a-la-carte benefits / deductions / coverage.

    Ricoh Canada Response

    10 Jan, 2018 – HR Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

    We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the flexible work environment. We feel that our “New World of Work (NWOW)” approach offers great... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible company run by amateurs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Technician in Mississauga, ON
    Former Employee - Field Technician in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ricoh Canada full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    They lure you in with paid expenses, uniform, shoes, car allowance etc

    Cons

    Stupid corporate environment, most techs don't do what they're supposed to do they make a mess in the customer's location
    Ricoh is known for the high volume of turn over and they're not a place where you can find a stable career.
    They fire people for no reason and without fair warning

    Ricoh Canada Response

    10 Jan, 2018 – HR Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

    We regret to hear that you had a negative experience working at Ricoh.

    We are proud of the world class service that our Field Services Team... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Associate Service Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Service Technician
    Current Employee - Associate Service Technician
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ricoh Canada full-time

    Pros

    -Benefits such as a company phone and vehicle.
    -Challenging work.

    Cons

    - Workload is too much for a new service technician on the field. Help from colleague's not available as they too are busy with service calls.
    -Should improve training program so that new service technician shadow seniors that know HOW to teach, rather than just show.
    -Ricoh should limit the number of service calls assigned on a given day to manageable levels. Sometimes I receive 7 calls in one day, which is impossible to complete. Average call completion is 2 to 3 calls per day.
    -Inventory tracking system should be improved as sometimes FSA doesn't work and the part consumed still shows up in inventory
    -Pay is very less (minimum wage) for the amount of stress and work needed to complete a service call. This position is also highly technical so it should warrant a higher salary.

    Advice to Management

    -Provide help and guidance to new service technician by encouraging other senior colleague's to help with service calls.
    -limit the number of calls assigned and ensure an equal call distribution within all team members

    Ricoh Canada Response

    22 Dec, 2017 – HR Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are glad that you are enjoying the challenging work and that you value the car and phone that you receive in your role.

    We also... More


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Poor work conditions, no Christmas party, collaborative work stations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Due to the size, Ricoh gets one of its kind opportunities. The size and proportions and speed of matters can present a special kind of thrill

    Cons

    Too big to care for individual contributions, poor communication about company goals and leadership changes. The departments have very poor collaboration and communication techniques

    Advice to Management

    Set up goals and don’t dilute them

    Ricoh Canada Response

    10 Jan, 2018 – HR Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are glad that you were excited about the thrill Ricoh can provide based on the size of our organization.
    As the Ricoh community grows, we... More


  10. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Calgary, AB
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ricoh Canada full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Solid sales training, good sales methodology, good support team and specialist. Reputable brand and line of product. Great partnership with Laserfishe.

    Cons

    Shrinking industry, company needs to find new ways to stay alive. Management sometimes are out of touch with reality and make poor decisions.

    Advice to Management

    Innovate don’t churn employees

    Ricoh Canada Response

    5 Dec, 2017 – HR Coordinator

    It is great to hear that our sales training and methodology has reflected positively on you. We make a major investment in the development of our employees, so it is good to see the investment is... More


Showing 80 of 84 reviews
Reset Filters