Redbox Employee Reviews about "kiosks"

Updated Jan 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 of over 339 reviews

3.9
70%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Redbox Chief Executive Officer  Galen Smith  (no image)
Galen Smith
62 Ratings
Pros
  • "4 day work week, available overtime, good benefits(in 27 reviews)

  • "flexible schedule, decent mileage reimbursement, good management team(in 20 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "upper management doesn't know what they're doing(in 25 reviews)

  • "They are contractors for other kiosks bad(in 14 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "kiosks"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Bad

      Jan 11, 2021 - FSR2 - Field Service Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Vehicle for personal use as well.

      Cons

      Everything all their lines of business dictate their every move bad dying company. They are contractors for other kiosks bad

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Don't. Just don't.

      Jan 14, 2018 - Fsr2 in Easton, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is difficult to find any Pros other than the simple fact that it was a job/employment. If desperation is the only option, then go for it. Otherwise, keep on looking.

      Cons

      Very poor local management. They spent a lot of money flying me to their headquarters in Chicago for a week of training which, after all of the fluff and needless introductions to corporate entities that could not care less about the field, amounted to maybe 5 hours hands on training. Territory for an FSR2 in my area was enormous and with the metrics always being watched made for a tough time when upper management came calling. Lack of any leadership in the field. It was mostly "Go do this and don't bother me with any issues" (the local field manager had a side business that demanded his time over RedBox employee issues). No support or loyalty from peers. It was a definite "every man for himself" environment. There was supposed to be a company car provided but local management could never seem to get one for me in the time I was there. Extremely inferior technology that broke daily. Now, my job was to fix the kiosks. However, when the territory included more than 250 kiosks and half of them had issues at any given time, the metrics for up-time and problem resolution time became impossible to meet. The work/life balance was nonexistent. We were told that "technically you're not on call but if your phone rings after hours you better answer". And answer I did. My very first day on the job a fellow FSR2 flat-out told me "They will get free time from you". And they got plenty of unpaid hours of my time due to logging hours and mileage and support call details as well as unpaid travel time outside of the set-in-stone 8 hour workday. Never did just 8 hours a day the entire time but only got paid for 8 hours. "They" were keeping to a hard and fast regional budget at the time which cost employees time and money. These are just a starting point for the cons. Oh, and one last thing: The manager rewarded his employees for a job well done by ordering free shirts from RedBox and giving them away as rewards.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Loved the company - too bad the market is saturated and no longer a need for the extra employees

      Sep 13, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company! Fun to work for!

      Cons

      Saturated the market - no need for additional kiosks

      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      FSR2- Field Service Tech

      Oct 21, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Freedom- work alone, most days are spent 1/3 working and 2/3 driving. Decent benefits. Manage (ROS) is the best.

      Cons

      Have to cover for Merchandisers (FSR1), new ticketing system takes away freedom of which kiosk to service first. Pay is kinda low for a Field Service Tech.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      redbox

      Sep 20, 2016 - FSR1 in Jackson, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good local supervisor, very recognizable product and kiosk. Everywhere and any where but not for long

      Cons

      Too much work for such an easy job, maximum 25 kiosk per day means 15 minutes per kiosk in 4 day week. It is dying folks. Only time will tell if redbox will be around not as kiosk based product.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Slowly Decaying and starting to smack of deperation.

      Jun 10, 2016 - FSR1 in Fresno, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Partly flexible, not hard and pay is better than minimum wage.

      Cons

      Growth has stopped and the company is in decline, they are now looking to satisfy shareholders by squeezing their employees. They have cut mileage rates and service time for kiosks, they now expect employees to do 50% more work for around the same amount they were earning three years ago. No room for improvement or development in most field markets.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Redbox Response

      HR Representative

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your time here. Our mileage reimbursement program for our field operations team is designed to accurately and fairly reimburse the cost of owning and operating a vehicle for business use. We're proud to provide a company-wide bonus program as well as other incentives and benefits for our employees.

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Fun business. Generally good people. Tough prospects.

      Mar 27, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Oakbrook Terrace, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun business; it's about movies and video games. Generally professionally managed, as part of a larger public company. Trying a new digital model that may give some prospects for future growth.

      Cons

      Long-term business prospects for physical kiosk business are very challenging. Managers under pressure at a public company are not always a lot of fun to be around. Suburban location is bad for the company and really rough for downtown commuters.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Very shady management who make many excuses for not doing their job

      Mar 26, 2015 - Field Service Representative I 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay and benefits., if you have no other job options.

      Cons

      In my interview I was either not told that I would be expected to be on-call. They expect you to be on-call to help out other team members, at all times every day of the year. This means that you could be called in the middle of the night or on your days off to go merchandise another team members kiosks or to help out the technicians by trying to get a kiosk up and running again.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Redbox Response

      HumanResources

      Redbox does not require Field Service Representatives to work on call hours, though there may be times where additional coverage is required (i.e. vacation coverage, etc…). These requests are generally planned and coordinated with advanced notification when possible and occur during our normal business hours. We work to ensure all employees have the tools necessary to successfully perform in their role. Proper training is important to us and is a key component of our new hire onboarding programs, and ongoing support for all employees. We encourage all employees to escalate any questions or concerns via human resources, our confidential ethics hotline, or department leadership.

    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great organization to work for. Room to grow in the company if you so desire. Good pay and nice benefits.

      Oct 24, 2014 - Regional Manager in Billings, MT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great leadership from the top down. If you get work done on time you never hear from corporate. I received 3 weeks vacation right from the start and two bonuses a year by achieving my metrics.

      Cons

      In my area (Montana) there was a lot of traveling because of servicing kiosks that were so far apart that you did put in some long days and even weeks. Especially during the winter months.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Field Support Rep II

      Jan 20, 2014 - Field Service Representative Level II 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      get to watch movies first and for free. dress code, very relaxed. good benefits (i.e medical, dental....)

      Cons

      Way too Micro Managed! Corporate has no idea what goes on or what it takes to run the field ops. Has no clue how or what it takes to maintain kiosks in rural/remote areas. Lots of travel (1,000+ miles) a week, yes a WEEK! Winter time can be brutal. Working on outdoor kiosks in -20 degree weather.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Redbox Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Redbox? Share Your Experiences

    Redbox logo
    or