ReachLocal Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

ReachLocal Reviews

Updated Jun 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 736 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
ReachLocal CEO Sharon Rowlands
Sharon Rowlands
233 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work life balance, the employee has the latest and the best technology and AI for the SMB market place(in 44 reviews)

  • "The work environment is very conducive(in 37 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior management were bullies, the only focus was on sales people within the business(in 30 reviews)

  • "Responsibility to maintain total book of business(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent company, great technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Market Consultant in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ReachLocal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Reachlocal has been excellent, the training has been top-notch! I really enjoy the atmosphere and working environment. I am part of the Canadian team, there is quite a bit of learning involved, but the technology is great.

    Cons

    The market is technically saturated, but with the cutting edge software we have, finding clients isn't very difficult.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in technology as much as possible. Being ahead in this game is about being able to offer the most.. Also the more promos the better.

    ReachLocal2017-02-01

    ReachLocal Response

    February 28, 2017

    Thanks for your great suggestions. We’ll pass them along to the appropriate teams. We strive to build a positive and engaging work culture, and we’re glad to hear you’ve noticed that during your time here. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to me with any suggestions or questions ...

    Show More
  2. "Politics behind the scenes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IMC 

    I worked at ReachLocal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bleeding Edge Tech Solid Office Culture

    Cons

    Too many disconnects between offices and top level management

    ReachLocal2019-05-29
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ReachLocal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good People. Great at what they do

    Cons

    Not suitable for small businesses.

    Advice to Management

    Come up with solutions for small business.

    ReachLocal2018-11-27
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Not the greatest company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ReachLocal

    Pros

    Great job in recruiting me. They get a 11/10 for selling the role and company, most of which were not true!

    Cons

    If they can fix the following they might start to profit as a company! - Leadership is totally lacking. -Lack diversity. If you're not white chances are you will be on the radar to be dismissed. -Campaigns are ran from the US and India. Campaign managers are clueless about the Canadian Market. -Salary is not very competitive -The recruiting process was a peace of work! Very well trained (False promises) and...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire the right leaders, the rest will fall into place.

    ReachLocal2017-05-17
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Interesting Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online Marketing Specialist in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at ReachLocal for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved the Canadian team, both management and sales side. Up North, we definitely didn't seem to experience the cutthroat atmosphere I had seen in the States, and our regional manager was always trying to find new ways to motivate and reward us.

    Cons

    Training appeared to be thorough (2 weeks total in Texas over the first 3 months), but a lot of what was being taught was out of date, or simply not true about Google AdWords. The sales structure placed the majority of the focus on new sales, and there wasn't as much support once the account was set up. Pricing was hard to explain to clients, because we weren't transparent about the breakdown of all of the costs. A lot...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Amp up post-launch client support, update training and policies to reflect how Google and Bing actually run their PPC programs, and embrace new sales methods rather than relying so heavily on cold-calling.

    ReachLocal2016-02-10

    ReachLocal Response

    April 12, 2016Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you sharing your experience with us. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your time with the Canadian team. We are working to continually improve our sales and support structure and have practices in place that now address a majority of these concerns such as transparency, after-sale ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing Consultant in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at ReachLocal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get to learn about search engine marketing, display advertising, and lead tracking

    Cons

    Products often don't work as promised, the 50%+ margin is hidden from customers but reachlocal's competitors are aware, disorganized/ unethical senior management.

    Advice to Management

    If you're serious about cost cutting and improving the value of the stock (worth about $1.50 down from $17!) then cut the CEO's $5.5 million dollar salary instead of laying off support workers and having local managers run three offices.

    ReachLocal2016-01-15

    ReachLocal Response

    April 12, 2016Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. The amount of a client’s budget used to purchase media varies by client due to a number of factors including campaign size, location, and vertical. In discussion with each client, we determine goals for success and based ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Digital Marketing Consultant in Toronto, ON

      I worked at ReachLocal for more than a year

      Pros

      Very good company to work with. They give you the autonomy to let you do your job properly on your own time and pace.

      Cons

      In a sales role, it is hard to make good commissions because the company is constantly cutting back on what they payout.

      Advice to Management

      Listen more to employees to have stronger involvement. Management would benefit by developing more products that work for their client base.

      ReachLocal2015-11-07

      ReachLocal Response

      April 12, 2016Director, Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your feedback and will make sure it is passed on.

    • "Digital Marketing Consultant (DMC)"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Dmc in Ottawa, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at ReachLocal

      Pros

      Great culture and work environment. Challenging. Confident I'm helping SMB's (my clients) fulfill their business growth goals thanks to advanced online marketing solutions offered by ReachLocal. Positive reinforcement from Managers. Qualified and engaged Management team.

      Cons

      Company growth however company just posted a positive Ebitda. Profitability is on an upswing.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to reward the performers. Look forward to learning more about new solutions/technology.

      ReachLocal2015-08-07
    • Helpful (4)

      "going nowhwere"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at ReachLocal for less than a year

      Pros

      innovative, good training, money is OK

      Cons

      not price-competitive, hard to get new business

      Advice to Management

      start over with a new plan

      ReachLocal2015-07-22
    • "Great Company To Work For!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Sales Executive in Toronto, ON
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at ReachLocal full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Great company to work for, the management team and employees are very helpful and encouraging. The technology Reachlocal uses is great, customers can quickly identify ROI from their investment. The initial 1 week training course in Texas is excellent.

        Cons

        It will take 4 or so months to ramp up, you must be patient and have a true hunter mentality to be successful.

        Advice to Management

        Run more marketing events.

        ReachLocal2014-09-21
      Found 736 reviews