Raise Marketplace Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Raise Marketplace Reviews

Updated Sep 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
28%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Raise Marketplace CEO Jay Klauminzer    (no image)
Jay Klauminzer
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 10 reviews)

  • "Great people and everyone is really friendly(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Also, they require a college degree to work in Member Services but it is really just a call center disguised as an entry level position(in 7 reviews)

  • "They sell fake or stolen gift cards(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Laughable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Raise Marketplace

    Pros

    Looks like they have a Coke machine

    Cons

    Not an employee - was contacted by a recruiter and offered a minimum wage job here. I am experienced and college-educated. Was incensed enough to google the company and came across all the negative reviews.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t offer strangers minimum wage jobs at your mediocre company

    Raise Marketplace2019-09-22
  2. "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Raise Marketplace

    Pros

    Location to downtown Chicago Illinois

    Cons

    Management. They are all over the place. They need a change

    Raise Marketplace2019-04-29
  3. "So much potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Raise Marketplace full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company has much better focus in the last several months, as new leaders have been brought in and really helped create the vision. The company has so much potential in the future. Who doesn't want to save money?

    Cons

    Still early in the journey, but signs are great

    Raise Marketplace2019-04-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "New exec hires, increased focus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Raise Marketplace full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Every company has areas to improve but the negative reviews on here are overblown. I've been at Raise for a few years and have had an overwhelmingly positive experience. Highlights include colleagues that genuinely care, talented pm's and engineers, a polished executive team that asks for feedback, a fancy office in the heart of Chicago, and backing from some of the top VC's in the world. On top of that, I've... learned a lot and made new friends along the way.

    Show More

    Cons

    The typical early stage company growing pains.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work on communicating company progress, obstacles, milestones, and your efforts to get honest employee feedback.

    Raise Marketplace2019-03-07
  5. "Good entry level experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Service Representative 

    I worked at Raise Marketplace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    cool, modern office heart of downtown chicago.

    Cons

    Expect what you would for an entry level position. Everything micro managed- very disciplined. Good for an entry level job to gain experience.

    Raise Marketplace2019-02-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Raise Marketplace full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to work on different projects. I signed up to be full stack, but I've been able to work across the stack.

    Cons

    It seems like the leadership is lacking at the point in time, but I do believe they're making positive strides in the right direction. Software engineers seem to keep leaving.

    Advice to Management

    Develop a sharper vision and communicate that to all levels of the company.

    Raise Marketplace2019-02-19
  7. Helpful (4)

    "A fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Raise Marketplace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, challenging projects, solid team. The company is very transparent with direction and goals. Good salary with bonuses and open vacation policy.

    Cons

    Raise needs more front end and back end engineers as well as ui and ux designers. Raise has the usual startup growing pains.

    Raise Marketplace2019-01-17
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Please, please do not think of working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Raise Marketplace full-time

    Pros

    Office location (easy access from CTA) Benefits package

    Cons

    The founder of the company might be the most horrible person I've ever met. All of the executives from the past two years have quit. The three most recent COOs have all quit, lasting less than six months each. Head of HR quit, CFO quit, After wasting millions of dollars on advertising, the CMO quit. Two previous CTOs quit. Raise acquired two startup companies and all of the people from those acquisitions have quit.... This isn't even counting the two layoffs of 50+ people last year. The cause for all of this is simple. The founder of the company is extremely toxic and doesn't know how to actually run a business. He grew up rich, and would rather spend company money flying in private jets with his celebrity friends than actually work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please stop posting positive fake reviews on Glassdoor. Rebuild the company with the new CEO and do everything possible to remove the founder's influence from the toxic/cheating/lying/backstabbing culture that has defined Raise from the very beginning.

    Raise Marketplace2019-02-17
  9. "Its good but not great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Raise Marketplace full-time

    Pros

    It has got a great location.

    Cons

    We are not sure where the company is going.

    Raise Marketplace2018-12-19
  10. "It's Not The Worst Place I've Ever Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Raise Marketplace full-time

    Pros

    Easy to get to work via public transit. The tech you get to play with as an engineer is fairly modern.

    Cons

    There are plenty of people with leadership roles; there are no leaders. There are so many directions Raise could head as a company; there is no direction at Raise.

    Advice to Management

    A former employee at Raise told me before leaving: Do one thing at a time, and do it well. I wonder if she told management the same.

    Raise Marketplace2018-11-30
Found 94 reviews