Rackspace Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Rackspace Reviews

Updated Sep 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1536 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Rackspace CEO Kevin Jones
Kevin Jones
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "Frontline Rackers are like family(in 127 reviews)

  • "Relevant offerings and great culture(in 120 reviews)

Cons
  • "Now, almost every single one of the SLT members are an external hire which sends signals to all current Rackers to leave if you want to move up(in 110 reviews)

  • "Too many middle management tiers(in 68 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Different groups, Different culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Big company with lots of amazing people, small perks, decent on-boarding process, and opportunity to move around between groups. Each group tends to have a slightly different culture. Mine is phenomenal, and I feel like I'm surrounded by a bunch of close friends. We're able to agree and disagree openly, which is fantastic for engineering staff that sometimes needs to make difficult decisions quickly. The CEO... is a call-it-like-I-see-it kind of guy. While this might be harsh or a shock for some people, I would always rather have an honest a difficult conversation than be left in the dark or not given details I need to make decisions. The company's core values, as lame as that might sound, are solid. It's not uncommon for a company to choose buzzwords as their values, but what's rare is to see a company that actually takes the time to define what each core value means to the organization and how employees are expected to uphold them at all times.

    Show More

    Cons

    Tasks and team objectives can move quickly, and some people just can't handle the context switch. This isn't a "con" for everyone, but if you want to work in a static environment from 9am to 5pm, you probably won't enjoy Rackspace. Also, if you're a minimum effort kind of person, you'll probably feel very out of place in the company. Everyone I've met works as thought they ran the company, and they take pride in... giving Rackspace a good name. If you're not looking to do the same, you'll feel very left out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Encourage teams to find a culture and character of their own, but push them to demonstrate the core values.

    Rackspace2015-05-21
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Leave if you'r an employee or don't join until the CEO is changed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Used to be a good culture, but it's all fake now. The management clearly shows in their open books call that they are not doing well...

    Cons

    Nothing is good, the company is drowning since past 2+ years. Fake people, fake assurances, red tape, boot lickers, hatred within groups....the list keep growing.

    Advice to Management

    Please please change the CEO....

    Rackspace2019-03-03

    Rackspace Response

    April 26, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your feedback.

  3. Helpful (3)

    "Changing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rackspace full-time

    Pros

    Older employees (Rackers) have great amount of information and history to the company. You are working on the hot tech of today with cloud/hybrid hosting.

    Cons

    Leadership used to be strong and passionate at Rackspace. The company sold and now standard pennie pushers that are trying to optimize and squeeze the last bit of value out of the company have come in and taken over. Turnover multiple times in leadership.

    Rackspace2018-09-24

    Rackspace Response

    October 19, 2018Global Talent Brand Manager

    Our leaders continue to position Rackspace as customer obsessed and results oriented. This comes with shifts of investment into exciting new ventures such as the acquisition of three new companies in the past two years. With change comes challenge, and as you note, we look to our ...

    Show More
  4. "Devops Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I worked at Rackspace

    Pros

    Very good company to work for. Good culture

    Cons

    depend on the team you work for. some team are very stress

    Rackspace2015-05-02
  5. "Good place to work, uncertain future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Linux Systems Administrator in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good place to work, nice people and very respectful

    Cons

    Too many changes, not really sure if you are going to be laid off soon.

    Advice to Management

    Have more clarity where the company goes

    Rackspace2019-09-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic prior to Acquisition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Director in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rackspace full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing culture and leadership during high growth years.

    Cons

    After acquisition by Apollo......culture and leadership qualities changed significantly.

    Rackspace2019-09-15
  7. "Great place, great people, misguided management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Linux Administrator in Hayes, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people Great value adds (on-site gym, regular time for professional development)

    Cons

    Depending on the team, managers can be very poor and downright ruin teams. Recent expansion feels like it's taking away roles from already established offices.

    Advice to Management

    Ask and listen to individual rackers about their thoughts on team managers.

    Rackspace2019-09-16
  8. "Best company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solution Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    incredible flexibility, very competitive pay

    Cons

    name makes the company sounds like it's a legacy business

    Rackspace2019-09-13
  9. "Rackspace is still a great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Engineer in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are still plenty of great Rackers, our portfolio has gotten broader and there is a greater emphasis on winning the customer with a very broad portfolio

    Cons

    Castle is quite and Phase 1 is no longer ours

    Advice to Management

    Focus on Support to ensure our success

    Rackspace2019-09-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Linux Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Rackspace full-time

    Pros

    Good organization to work with

    Cons

    Not so cons i believe

    Rackspace2019-09-06
Found 1536 reviews