RBC Insurance Advisor Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

RBC Insurance Advisor Reviews

Updated May 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

1.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
15%
Recommend to a Friend
16%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Rico"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Oakville, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RBC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits and compensation. RBC is a reputable company with great brand recognition. There are opportunities to have an entire career with one company and experience many different positions.

    Cons

    Constant change, you must be very adaptable to succeed. Things are constantly changing and if you do not handle change well I would consider something else.

    RBC2016-01-23
  2. "Very depressing workplace Too much pressure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Advisor in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RBC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Their training is nice and long

    Cons

    Extremely depressing, No support from management, Harassment. When you 're new every person is a bully there

    Advice to Management

    Please be more considerate and caring towards the people working there. Got me in a deep depression had to quit.

    RBC2019-05-28
  3. "Horrible place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Sales Advisor in Burlington, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RBC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The brand, benefit, nothing else

    Cons

    Only way to move up is who you know, false promises, no credibility from management, they pick and choose who to fire and not to fire, not consistent with policy - DONT WORK FOR RBC INSURANCE

    Advice to Management

    RVP makes RBC look bad... they power trip big time!

    RBC2019-05-25
  4. "Licensed Home & Auto Insurance Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Insurance Advisor, Home & Auto in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RBC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good OTL training, good pay

    Cons

    Useless transition training. Transitions coaches are incompetent. Lack of support.

    Advice to Management

    Those applying to this position must note the following: 1. For those who do not have OTL, you need to pass within 2 weeks of hiring. Then only you have a job. Pass mark is 75%. 2. After one month of classroom training you are trained on the phones, known as transition training. During training you are considered as"Level 0" and you need to earn "Level1" to join the team on the floor. You have to meticulously put...

    Show More
    RBC2019-05-10
  5. "Insurance Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RBC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent OTL Training. Aggressive Growth Strategy

    Cons

    Long Hours - Late Shifts Very little Work-life balance

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the Good Work

    RBC2018-04-07
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Horrible Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Advisor in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RBC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    RESSOP (Employee stock purchase program. Bonuses were pretty good

    Cons

    They treat you like garbage. There's too many stats. There was stats within stats within stats. Micromanaged to death. I hated working here. I hated my life. Constantly monitor you and nit pick everything you did wrong. Sell, Sell, Sell at all costs

    Advice to Management

    Stop micromanaging and maybe people will stay. You have a revolving door of people leaving constantly. I bet this drains a lot of company resources having to constantly hire new employees, train them for a year then only for them to leave because you are constantly monitoring every single little thing.

    RBC2017-09-16
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Pretty bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Insurance Advisor in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RBC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Pay is decent but does seem like should be getting more for amount of work and stress - Building is nice -

    Cons

    - Call Centre - Every move you make is monitored. Even for going to the washroom - Lots of abuse taken from clients - Management expects you to know everything after 1 month of taking calls

    Advice to Management

    - Be easier on new hires make the training on the actual floor longer product training can be shorter - Give longer breaks if we are constantly going to be working overtime and taking call after call

    RBC2017-04-28
  8. "Pretty good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Licensed Travel Insurance Advisor 

      I worked at RBC

      Pros

      Great benefits, flexibility, good work culture and good way to get valuable experience

      Cons

      Very difficult to move around, in the sense that it takes a long time to move internally, especially to a level up

      RBC2017-03-29
    • Helpful (3)

      "Stay Away"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - RBC Licensed Insurance Advisor in Mississauga, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at RBC full-time

      Pros

      They occasionaly drop off chocolate bars in your cubicle for the abuse you take from clients

      Cons

      Every aspect about this employer is horrible. Where do I start... it was a sham since day 1. The salary is below market level, It is rigged so that most advisers do not get a material raise at the end of the year. Basically in order to receive a decent base salary raise you need to be meeting/exceeding at least 10 stats which targets are set at unattainable levels and the majority of LIA's do not hit it. No advancement...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Fix your comp structure, do not give your LIA's false hope that they can advance their career at your company when there are ZERO opportunities.

      RBC2016-12-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "Insurance Advisor P&C"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Insurance Advisor in Toronto, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at RBC for less than a year

      Pros

      Great potential to earn modest base salary plus bonuses.

      Cons

      Unrealistic target goal of $1million per year.

      Advice to Management

      Set realistic quota and not to push your staff to the corners.

      RBC2016-06-03
    Found 30 reviews