Quicksilver Express Courier Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Quicksilver Express Courier Reviews

Updated Feb 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
56%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Quicksilver Express Courier President Chuck Miller (no image)
Chuck Miller
26 Ratings
Pros
  • "I love the office staff and the dispatchers are good to work with(in 4 reviews)

  • "Have been employed here at QEC for 3 yrs now, Overall great place to work(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "They tell you that dispatch will get you off close to your house(in 9 reviews)

  • "No benefits even though they hire you as an employee(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Not bad but not good either"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dispatcher in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Quicksilver Express Courier full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you managed to get a good team, it was a great environment and a fun job

    Cons

    Upper management would keep saying they were "making things better" and to "just wait for things to get better" but would blatantly ignore complaints made by employees. It felt like things never changed (unless you consider the influx of new people to be the change). Also there's no training program really because "every situation is unique and you don't need to cover this right now."

    Continue reading
    Quicksilver Express Courier2020-02-04

    Quicksilver Express Courier Response

    February 10, 2020Company Representative

    Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us. We welcome any and all feedback from current and former employees, as it is truly valuable to help us see things from everyone's perspective. In our 30 years in business, we’ve seen the courier industry evolve over and over. It is exciting to be an on-demand courier, as no two days are the same. We are extremely proud of our ability to adapt to whatever our customers need us to be, whenever they need us, 24/7/365. That said, we expect a lot out of our employees, and offer a lot to our employees in return. We are always on the lookout for talented new team members. As a company we pride ourselves on treating our employees like family. We have had many employees that have stayed with Quicksilver for 10, 20, 30 years or more because of the work environment, their compensation and benefits and being a leader in our industry. I would like to invite you to call us here at the Denver location at 303-232-5800 and have a more in-depth conversation about what we can do to improve and continue to grow.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Valued driver, then treated unfair and tossed out like garbage!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Quicksilver Express Courier full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    QEC was my family and my whole life. People and pay were good.

    Cons

    After being a highly valued driver, I was treated very unfair. NO regard for dangers of drowsy driving!

    Continue reading
    Quicksilver Express Courier2019-12-07
  3. "Great Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Delivery Driver in Little Canada, MN

    I have been working at Quicksilver Express Courier full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Staff Great introduction into the delivery business

    Cons

    None that I have encountered

    Quicksilver Express Courier2019-08-29

    Quicksilver Express Courier Response

    November 4, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for your review! We very much appreciate any and all feedback from our Employees. Thank you for being a part of the Quicksilver Family!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "KANSAS CITY BRANCH IS DYING! You can make smarter decisions with your life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advanced Medical Transport Specialist in Kansas City, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Quicksilver Express Courier full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can work so many hours that it literally kills you

    Cons

    This is not a given take company this is how we give you a command and you either work here or down at the end of the conversation. You will put big stickers on your car doors not magnets and not removable and advertise for them 24/7 and receive no compensation for that. You will not refuse any delivery ever. You will be conned into taking a route that doesn't pay anything and it will start with the driver is not available will you cover this just for today 6 months later nothing has changed. The average pay per mile is $0.25 and it doesn't matter if you work 70 hours a week and drive 4000 miles in a pay period there is no pay raise your only option for advancement is become a CDL driver dispatching or customer service

    Continue reading
    Quicksilver Express Courier2019-07-15

    Quicksilver Express Courier Response

    July 17, 2019Company Representative

    First, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for us. We welcome any and all feedback from current and former employees, as it is truly valuable to help us see things from everyone's perspective. I would like to apologize for what sounds like a regrettable experience here at Quicksilver. Our Kansas City branch is celebrating its 30th anniversary this year. In our 30 years in business, we’ve seen the courier industry evolve over and over. It is exciting to be an on-demand courier, as no two days are the same. We are extremely proud of our ability to adapt to whatever our customers need us to be, whenever they need us, 24/7/365. That said, we expect a lot out of our employees, and offer a lot to our employees in return. As a company we pride ourselves on treating our employees like family. We have had many employees that have stayed with Quicksilver for 10, 20, 30 years or more because of the work environment, their compensation and benefits and being a leader in our industry. I would like to invite you to call us here at the Kansas City location at 913-627-1900 and have a more in-depth conversation about what we can do to improve and continue to grow.

    Continue reading
  5. "Dead end job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Little Canada, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Quicksilver Express Courier full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ok job until something better comes along I guess?

    Cons

    Low pay. No raises. No advancement opportunities. Driving on snow, ice, 20 below zero. Company vehicles are junk. Bad tires breaks, huge cracks in windshield. Hard to make over 12.00 an hour even with commission.

    Quicksilver Express Courier2019-06-26

    Quicksilver Express Courier Response

    July 1, 2019Company Representative

    Quicksilver has been in business for 37 years and over that time, we have had many employees that have made a career with the company. Many have stayed with Quicksilver for 10, 20, 30 years or more because of the work environment, their compensation and benefits and being a leader in our industry. Quicksilver recognizes our employees' efforts and rewards them well. We have cutting edge technology and are constantly updating and innovating to stay ahead of the curve for both our employees and customers. Because of the company's philosophy on promoting from within, Quicksilver is one of the few companies left where you can start at an entry level position and work your way up gaining knowledge of our business to be a top level manager. Our employees are encouraged to strive to do their best because the sky is the limit for those who put in the effort and those who work well with our team.

    Continue reading
  6. "A company that values their employees..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Quicksilver Express Courier full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love working for Quicksilver. I have never felt more valued or appreciated by a management team until I started working at Quicksilver. The community at Quicksilver is awesome. I am thankful to be a part of a company that provides a positive environment, great pay, great health care, and is seeking to better the world through courier & delivery.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Quicksilver Express Courier2019-05-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Treat drivers like dirt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver/Courier in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Quicksilver Express Courier full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Despatchers are friendly and helpful

    Cons

    They combine W-2 & 1099 to their advantage. The so called boss here in Phoenix is high handed and does not respect the drivers. Thinks he owns them. No breaks whatsoever.

    Continue reading
    Quicksilver Express Courier2019-05-12

    Quicksilver Express Courier Response

    May 23, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for your candid review. Your feedback is extremely important to us. I am very sorry that you are having a less than stellar experience working here. Your description of the attitude of Management is very uncharacteristic of our staff. Our drivers are one of the most important parts of our business, and we pride ourselves on recognizing our employees and their efforts and rewarding them well. I would like to invite you to speak to your General Manager and/or Operations Manager so that they can address your concerns directly. Again, thank you for taking the time to review us.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Truly a dumpster fire."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver/Courier in Lakewood, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Quicksilver Express Courier full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you hate you’re wife and kids then you are in luck because you will never see them.

    Cons

    Incredibly long hours with zero OT pay. You will blow through money trying to keep up with maintenance on your vehicle. How many words do I get for this because I could write a war and peace type novel about what’s wrong with this company. When you get interviewed they will tell you that you will work from 8-5. (Already longer than the average workday considering you don’t get a lunch break). That is a lie because you actually will work closer to a 10-12 hour day. They tell you that dispatch will get you off close to your house. Lie #2. They don’t care where your last stop is as long as it benefits them. Most likely the last stop of the day will be over an hour from you’re house. Also don’t get on dispatches bad side because you will be running nothing more then letter envelopes all day which will pay you about $6 for pick up and delivery. They never tell you what your actually getting paid for and don’t even think about asking what you will receive in mileage reimbursement because they will tell you a complex equation that you would have to have a PhD to understand. You will be driving about 200 miles a day. So you had better be saving up money for a down payment on a new vehicle. At the interview they will tell you that the drivers make about $750 to $900 a week. That is before taxes of course and to get the upper amount you will have to put in 15 hour days. This company will treat you like a work horse and when you’ve had enough and can’t take anymore of the salt mines they don’t even care if you quit because new people apply all the time. The only thing they care about is do you have a car. you would be better suited getting a cardboard sign and a sharpie. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

    Continue reading
    Quicksilver Express Courier2019-04-22

    Quicksilver Express Courier Response

    May 23, 2019Company Representative

    First, thank you so much for taking the time to write a candid review. Feedback like this is truly valuable to help us see things from everyone's perspective. I apologize that you had what sounds like a regrettable experience here at Quicksilver. As a company we pride ourselves on treating our employees like family. Having been in business for more than 30 years, we have had many employees that have stayed with Quicksilver for 10, 20, 30 years or more because of the work environment, their compensation and benefits and being a leader in our industry. I would like to invite you to call us here at the Colorado location, ask for the General Manager and have a more in depth conversation about what we can do to improve and continue to grow. Again, thank you for your feedback. We wish you luck in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  9. "Quicksilver looks out for their employees and is one big family."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Lakewood, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Quicksilver Express Courier full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunities in all positions. Great pay, vacation, health benefits. Always room for advancement. Good people!

    Cons

    This business is addicting. In a good way!

    Quicksilver Express Courier2019-03-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic Place of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Dispatcher in Lakewood, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Quicksilver Express Courier for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Helping wonderful Customers who have been with the company for many years.

    Cons

    Sometimes fast paced, and stressful.

    Quicksilver Express Courier2019-01-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 63 reviews