Quickplay Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Quickplay Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 75 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Quickplay CEO Wayne Purboo
Wayne Purboo
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "tech savvy company and you get chance to work on cutting edge stuff(in 9 reviews)

  • "Great company culture and a flexible work environment(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Too many managers, and not enough employees(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Quickplay full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the best people I worked with Product was great

    Cons

    Lack of consistent direction from management

    Advice to Management

    Trust your employees

    Quickplay2019-03-07
  2. "software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Quickplay full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    friendly and open team, great people to work with

    Cons

    not correct title assignment

    Advice to Management

    at least has weekly talk to your team

    Quickplay2019-04-09
  3. "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Quickplay full-time

    Pros

    Great CEO and a great place to work.

    Cons

    None, great people and culture.

    Quickplay2018-11-13
  4. "Cutting-edge of Global Streaming Video"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Not Technical in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Quickplay full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Strong, visionary leadership - Technical people with a passion for video - Tier 1 clients - Fantastic opportunities for technical people to get hand on experience building platforms that compete with Netflix, cloudDVR, etc.

    Cons

    - Changes following acquisition by AT&T - Pressure to deliver could be intense - I could only recommend to someone wanting a leading edge video tech / sw role

    Advice to Management

    Shield the team from the mother ship

    Quickplay2018-10-25
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Quickplay full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart people around in general Values employees

    Cons

    Not clear communication from management regarding the future of the company

    Advice to Management

    Need clear communication from management

    Quickplay2018-04-13
  6. "Clear the mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Quickplay

      Pros

      Helpful colleagues and new technologies

      Cons

      A mess after the acquisition. Senior folks have junior titles and this is laughable.

      Quickplay2018-01-02
    • "Maybe not for everyone"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Quickplay full-time

        Pros

        Projects are interesting to work on

        Cons

        Management is a bit disorganized

        Quickplay2017-10-09
      • "senior server engineer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Quickplay full-time

        Pros

        tech savvy company and you get chance to work on cutting edge stuff

        Cons

        nothing in particular. i can only say the job is demanding and you need to be on your toes to learn new stuff and adapt it fast.

        Advice to Management

        its doing a great job already.

        Quickplay2017-09-27
      • "A good place to work!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Quickplay full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Working with great people Good work environment Good opportunity for career growth Good learning opportunities Being part of AT&T has the advantages of working for a large organisation while still having the freedom, choices and environment of a smaller company

        Cons

        Nothing specific but there is always room for improvement

        Quickplay2017-09-11
      • "Quickplay/AT&T"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Quickplay full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        QP part is great: amazing people, cutting edge technology (development stack is probably one the best in Toronto), lots of opportunities for growth

        Cons

        AT&T is a huge company, obviously some bureaucracy exists.There is always place for improvement

        Quickplay2017-09-11
      Found 75 reviews