Quickplay Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Quickplay Reviews

Updated Sep 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Quickplay CEO Wayne Purboo
Wayne Purboo
44 Ratings
Pros
  • "tech savvy company and you get chance to work on cutting edge stuff(in 9 reviews)

  • "QP part is great: amazing people, cutting edge technology (development stack is probably one the best in Toronto), lots of opportunities for growth(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work extends into late evenings/nights to sync up with Toronto/San Diego office(in 6 reviews)

  • "Company is growing fast and some of the managers would lack the QuickPlay specific knowledge and understanding(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Quickplay full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the best people I worked with Product was great

    Cons

    Lack of consistent direction from management

    Advice to Management

    Trust your employees

    Quickplay2019-03-07
  2. "Used to be a great place to work, now it is a satellite office to ATT's head office in LA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director, Software Development in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Quickplay full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, great technologies, fun

    Cons

    satellite office to ATT's head office in LA

    Quickplay2019-09-05
  3. "It was good place to start work in Canada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Quickplay full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible schedule Many events for employee's kids

    Cons

    Need to work hard periodically, but this is happening everywhere you work for result.

    Advice to Management

    Keep progressive approach for engineering management.

    Quickplay2019-04-28
  4. "software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Quickplay full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    friendly and open team, great people to work with

    Cons

    not correct title assignment

    Advice to Management

    at least has weekly talk to your team

    Quickplay2019-04-09
  5. "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Quickplay full-time

    Pros

    Great CEO and a great place to work.

    Cons

    None, great people and culture.

    Quickplay2018-11-13
  6. "Cutting-edge of Global Streaming Video"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Not Technical in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Quickplay full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Strong, visionary leadership - Technical people with a passion for video - Tier 1 clients - Fantastic opportunities for technical people to get hand on experience building platforms that compete with Netflix, cloudDVR, etc.

    Cons

    - Changes following acquisition by AT&T - Pressure to deliver could be intense - I could only recommend to someone wanting a leading edge video tech / sw role

    Advice to Management

    Shield the team from the mother ship

    Quickplay2018-10-25
  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Quickplay full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart people around in general Values employees

    Cons

    Not clear communication from management regarding the future of the company

    Advice to Management

    Need clear communication from management

    Quickplay2018-04-13
  8. "Clear the mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Quickplay

    Pros

    Helpful colleagues and new technologies

    Cons

    A mess after the acquisition. Senior folks have junior titles and this is laughable.

    Quickplay2018-01-02
  9. "Maybe not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Quickplay full-time

    Pros

    Projects are interesting to work on

    Cons

    Management is a bit disorganized

    Quickplay2017-10-09
  10. "senior server engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Quickplay full-time

    Pros

    tech savvy company and you get chance to work on cutting edge stuff

    Cons

    nothing in particular. i can only say the job is demanding and you need to be on your toes to learn new stuff and adapt it fast.

    Advice to Management

    its doing a great job already.

    Quickplay2017-09-27
Found 77 reviews