Queen Mary, University of London Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Queen Mary, University of London Reviews

Updated 4 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Queen Mary, University of London CEO Colin Bailey (no image)
Colin Bailey
16 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Bullying and harassment not being addressed at senior level(in 4 reviews)

  • "The university sometimes feels too big but other than that I cannot suggest any other cons to working at QMUL(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "many opportunities for personal growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Researcher in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Queen Mary, University of London full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It provides many opportunities for personal growth

    Cons

    Admin always take so much time to work

    Queen Mary, University of London2019-12-04
  2. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Queen Mary, University of London full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    plenty of social spaces. Big campus

    Cons

    east london. Very congested area.

    Queen Mary, University of London2019-12-02
  3. "A great experience and a way to develop your people skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Physics Ambassador in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Queen Mary, University of London part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tom was a great boss. The hours were very flexible and the pay for a student was very good. Lots of variety in the tasks you were asked to do; and lots of them were fun - showing kids how to program robots etc!

    Cons

    Not always enough hours available (sometimes only 4 or so a week)

    Advice to Management

    Keep Tom if you still have him. One of most diplomatic and charming leaders I've met.

    Queen Mary, University of London2019-11-20
  4. "Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student 

    I have been working at Queen Mary, University of London full-time

    Pros

    Diverse and welcoming student environment

    Cons

    Not really much to say in terms of cons

    Queen Mary, University of London2019-11-21
  5. "Great learning experience and good salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Professor in Mile End, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Queen Mary, University of London part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, good salary and work-life balance

    Cons

    Few opportunities to make progress

    Queen Mary, University of London2019-11-13
  6. "Research Lab technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Lab Technician in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Queen Mary, University of London full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great networking, great learning experince

    Cons

    Lack in organisation structure of organistion

    Queen Mary, University of London2019-11-09
  7. "Good growth potential and close knit community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Queen Mary, University of London full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The folks in QMUL are very nice to collaborate and work with. There is scope for interdisciplinary work. Most departments seem very approachable and gives a sense of wholeness to the company.

    Cons

    Work roles can be haphazard in some groups. The level of different research groups is not uniform and you might feel hugely different workloads from your colleagues in other groups.

    Advice to Management

    The University as a whole may need to set aspirations to a particular level to ensure overall growth. It looks like some centres perform very well while some don't.

    Queen Mary, University of London2019-10-25
  8. "Decent job, good pay for what we’re expected to do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Ambassador in Mile End, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Queen Mary, University of London part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Student Ambasaddor is a nice side job while studying with good perks. Send you regular emails and ask whether you are free and if we agree, we turn up then get paid.

    Cons

    Not regular income, and not nearly enough for you to pay your fees!

    Queen Mary, University of London2019-10-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good benefits and salary, issues with management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A 

    I have been working at Queen Mary, University of London full-time

    Pros

    Decent salary in comparison with other universities in London; Benefits are good too; Some really dedicated staff.

    Cons

    Little career progression for professional services; Bullying and harassment not being addressed at senior level. Known bullies in professional services allowed to continue and high staff turnover in areas not addressed.

    Queen Mary, University of London2019-10-30
  10. "Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student in London, England

    I have been working at Queen Mary, University of London full-time

    Pros

    Nice place to work at

    Cons

    Too easy compared to US schools

    Queen Mary, University of London2019-10-09
Found 195 reviews