Qlik "swedish" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Qlik Employee Reviews about "swedish"

Updated Mar 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
75%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Qlik CEO Mike Capone
Mike Capone
126 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "as it became a private investor company, there are some cuts and the original Swedish culture is disappearing bit per bit(in 21 reviews)

  • "Thoma Bravo has done good things for this company(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "swedish"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (13)

    "Swedish Hearts Are Long Gone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Systems Analyst in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Qlik full-time

    Pros

    - Salary is higher than average in town. - Fika x 2 / week

    Cons

    - Since the company, became American, they started to kill the Swedish hearts which the company values were based on. It's completely dead now. - Moral is down. - Minimal benefits.

    Continue reading
    Qlik2018-10-25
  2. Helpful (15)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Qlik full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - interesting product - nice people, for the most part - used to have Swedish soul, which created a nice open, collaborative work environment (though that seems to be changing) - remote work, which was implemented successfully around the globe

    Cons

    - buyout from equity firm now affecting things - they are reorging and greatly reducing staff to slim down the company (and no bonuses or raises) but with no real plans for growth of the product - which can only mean they are poising to sell and make as much profit as possible - giving bad impression in laying off people but then posting the same job openings shortly after (only using different titles, most likely to cover their butts for any labour law violations) - HR (Ottawa) not very helpful or useful, often have to find information on your own - a lot of 'nepotism' in hiring - upper management all coming from same previous company, so you get very bad managers hired because they are friends rather than for skill or good fit

    Continue reading
    Qlik2018-04-11
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Heading in the wrong direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Qlik full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product with many platform improvements.

    Cons

    Sales & account management organization was a meat grinder for talented people. Multiple changes in management and leadership during a short period. Lost the Swedish roots and soul of the organization.

    Qlik2018-04-17
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Qlik full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-Life Balance and lots of latest cloud techniques learning opportunities.

    Cons

    R&D massive layoffs, Swedish soul are gone.

    Continue reading
    Qlik2018-02-27
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Qlik

    Pros

    Work life balance Compensation Benefits Swedish R&D mostly

    Cons

    Nepotism on a grand scale Values are talked, but only for some teams Inept management, particularly in one office No chance to advance

    Continue reading
    Qlik2017-08-31
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales in Barcelona
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Qlik full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Qlik has thought me a lot during the last few years and it has been an amazing experience for me. My team, my manager and my field sales colleagues are the best. it is important to perform but you get flexibility in exchange ( depending of the manger of course). Great product to sell to clients!

    Cons

    as it became a private investor company, there are some cuts and the original Swedish culture is disappearing bit per bit compensation plan 2019

    Qlik2019-03-19
  7. Helpful (8)

    "No Swedishness left"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lund, Skåne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Qlik full-time

    Pros

    Good work mates Good products In certain places a good work life balance

    Cons

    You will never get a decent raise of pay. Nor will you get any promotion unless you ingratiate yourself with some American boss. Company spends all money on new headquarters and buying other companies. Swedish soul has been lost. Management not caring about employees. All that was good with Qlik 5 years ago has gone.

    Continue reading
    Qlik2019-02-03
  8. Helpful (17)

    "A company without culture or vision has no purpose besides making money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Qlik full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Good work-life balance - if there is anything to gloat about with Qlik, it is the work-life balance. We're a predominantly remote company and therefore so long as you're getting your work done, you have plenty of free time to indulge your personal life and pursue other interests. 2. The Pay - pretty decent compensation and benefits although nothing to write home about. The salary met my expectations and is competitive with other employers in my area. 3. Choose your own adventure - maybe it's just my experience at Qlik but I feel like they give you free reign to work on passion projects so long as it adds value to the company. This probably has something to do with the limited overhead of a remote work environment but it allows you some freedom to escape the monotony of daily job function. 4. The technology - the company actually has a pretty good piece of software that can do some cool things with analytics. I'm constantly surprised by the product and what it's capable of doing for our customers.

    Cons

    1. Sterile Corporate Culture - when I originally came to Qlik, they spoke so much about our 'Swedish' roots which drove our corporate culture. Although that may have been true in the past, Qlik is now an American, middle aged software company which feels much closer to Generic Corporation A than some Lund University start-up. In the few times you leave your private island and go to headquarters, you'll find yourself asking what the culture of Qlik even is. Ex-IBM/Oracle/SAP/Microsoft etc. sales people have taken over the company and make it feel like a soulless, revenue-oriented corporate entity more focused on who'll make President's Club than customer success. The company feels devoid of life and dynamism. 2. Empty Vision - outside of making money, I have no idea what Qlik's long-term corporate vision is at this point. Each year leadership performs an exercise to determine vision but most points revolve around sales revenue and operational changes are almost never actually implemented. R&D is isolated heavily from the rest of the company and communication chains with leadership are fractured due to the remote nature of most of the employees. 3. Tripping over our own feet - Qlik's worst enemy is itself. Despite having a great product we consistently struggle with internal politics and management bureaucracy which when combined with remote employees makes it hard to implement any real operational changes. Most people just keep doing what they've always done even as the market fluxes in front of us the entire time. 4. Prioritizing Aesthetics over Substance - Qlik is a company in love with how it looks vs. what it actually does. Sales constantly talks about selling the 'art of the possible', a cute euphemism which is less "fake-it-till-you-make-it" and more "fake-it-till-you-sell-it". In a crowded space like analytics, you have to provide hard substance to customers to stand out. I feel like Qlik lacks a lot of tangible substance within the company. Everything looks great until you take a peak under the covers.

    Continue reading
    Qlik2018-10-18
  9. Helpful (2)

    "A great company that pays well (Lund)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qlik full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    One of the most generous employers in Lund when it comes to salary. A large restaurant with great staff, providing three options plus salad every day. Discounted massages on site Most colleagues follow the Core Values and are incredibly helpful and approachable, although this is being tested by recent GTM pressures and Cloud focus.

    Cons

    The pressure on performance since being acquired has understandably increased. The Swedish 'roots' only really remain in Lund where even there it is less prevalent than it once was. The overall mood has become more sour since some of the major changes (No annual summits, Qlik Academy for new starters, removal of Swedish CEO) Profit given our current strategy is critical but we are struggling with recruitment, thus putting more pressure on R&D to deliver in an increasingly shorter amount of time with a limited pool of resources. Too many well polished online videos and interviews of management. It would be great to see them around the Lund office more, reassuring staff that Lund remains as critical as it has always been. Struggling to recruit new staff that can help us reach our goals combined with valuable and talented contributers leaving the company for other opportunites. The Lund office is becoming increasingly sparse.

    Continue reading
    Qlik2018-08-19
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Not the company it once was..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Qlik full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company once had a great culture and environment, an interesting and innovative approach to business intelligence and data visualization software, and a bright, energetic team. Qlik is undergoing a massive transformation, which is creating great opportunity for advancement, for some. Qlik's previous investments in a partner ecosystem has resulted in a large community of product experts and excellent successful implementations, delivering great value to customers

    Cons

    As in many organizational transformations, the current environment is more than usually difficult. Many of the innovative leaders and best talent left in late 2017 and early 2018. Qlik is backfilling with resources who know the product well, but not necessarily individuals with the same degree of innovation, passion, or courage to approach things differently. This works for now because the transformation end state is being decided by external consultants, and organic innovation is not desired. Qlik was valued for its unique and quite Swedish culture, but this is no longer the corporate vibe that employees feel.

    Continue reading
    Qlik2018-03-20
Found 34 reviews
</>Embed