Q4 Inc. Reviews

Updated Jan 7, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 105 of over 115 reviews

4.0
73%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Q4 Inc. CEO Darrell Heaps
Darrell Heaps
74 Ratings
Pros
  • "Q4 is a great company with a bright future(in 13 reviews)

  • "Good work life balance, lot to learn(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "compensation is really the biggest issue that I can see at Q4(in 10 reviews)

  • "Q4 calls it "growing pains" but the reality is, they have many west-coast clients that are being served by the east-coast team(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    110.3K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.ca&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Q4 Inc.~823752
    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Q4 does it all!

      May 23, 2021 - Implementation Manager in Hamilton, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, talented colleagues, variety of work, fantastic salary & benefits, unlimited PTO, many opportunities to grow, fun social activities and an overall caring culture that believes in excellence!

      Cons

      The only downside is that it's a fast growing company and with that comes a lot of work. Sometimes you can get consumed with going above and beyond and keeping clients happy, so it just requires a bit of stepping back and making sure you're getting the rest time you need.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Exciting times at Q4

      Jan 7, 2022 - People & Culture in Mississauga, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Lots of growth - Company is growing - Transparent culture, weekly Friday meetings like a town hall - Tech start up feel and culture

      Cons

      - Can be fast paced at times - Need to be nimble as the company grows

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best place to work

      Dec 31, 2021 - Investor Relations Lead in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Absolutely the best place I have ever worked! Tight knit community with a strong emphasis on team work. You get to work with very talented and smart individuals who will push you out of your comfort zone. Fast paced, dynamic and super fun technology setting. Management is very transparent and forthcoming, which makes me feel included in every step of the growth process.

      Cons

      I literally cannot say one negative thing. There are problems like any workplace but it seems management is literally always one step ahead, really puts their employees first and is people focused.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Hustle and Grind Company

      Dec 12, 2021 - Event Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great environment to work in.

      Cons

      Commission not attributed to the events team that creates deals with clients.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work!

      Dec 9, 2021 - Event Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, great access to tools you need to do a great job.

      Cons

      I had a very positive experience without serious cons

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good depending on department

      Dec 7, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Benefits are pretty good - Pay is low but not totally insulting - Depending on where you work the work life balance is good. If you work in events I just wouldn't - People I work with directly are really nice - My department doesn't have too hard of a time utilizing the unlimited paid time off but I know for some it's basically impossible - Since there is a lot of turnaround it's a good opportunity for newbies to get their foot in the door

      Cons

      - Technology used is very old and outdated - Will let customers walk over employees - COO literally tried to shut down the Diversity and Inclusion committee when they brought up getting paid in company culture isn't a thing (can't pay rent with company culture) - Some departments are super overworked and not paid well enough - Only managers are allowed to have bonuses - Training isn't that great - Communication is bad, a lot of things promised but they leave you hanging - Lots of burnout

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Poorly managed, toxic environment

      Dec 7, 2021 - Investor Relations Lead 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - little gifts sent frequently - some really great people employed there, but none in management - great coffee machine in the Toronto office, not so great in the Hamilton one

      Cons

      - Management is completely useless and clueless. Like, it's the case of failing upward here. None of them have any training and don't know how to actually manage people or departments. They expect you to come up with your own role, goals, etc. and don't offer any guidance at all. God forbid you make a mistake, instead of coaching you and moving on, they expect you to figure things out yourself and report back to them. I felt like I was doing their job for them a lot of the time. Also very two-faced, saying you're doing fabulous but then changing their tune whenever it suits them or the business goals. Saw a lot of great talent leave for those reasons. - No career path or forward momentum. Come for a visit, but don't stay too long! There is no room for advancement, especially in the customer success/Investor Relations area. Lots of turnover, you'll see a lot of good people come and then go, either for a better opportunity, or mysteriously let go. Several team members were let go without cause (we stayed in contact so I got the real details of what went on. One person was an excellent performer and made one mistake, to be fair. They had to write their own PIP, manglement didn't even know how to do one! They never received any feedback or coaching and were consistently told they were doing a good job at everything until one day they were let go without notice. I've messed up a few times and after hearing that experience I knew I needed to start looking elsewhere. You should not be let go suddenly without a paper trail, coaching or multiple offenses. Ugh) - Below average compensation. The "unlimited vacation" pulls you in, but if you take more than 2 weeks a year you're put on the "to fire" list. So none of that work-life balance you're looking for. Forget getting a decent raise, too. - The culture has its good moments but is mostly toxic. They expect you to work crazy hours all the time, even if you don't actually need to! Even if you manage your workload well, "it looks bad" if you're not on Slack at all hours or burning the midnight oil. I used to just make stuff up so people would give me a break, but really I only needed a few hours a day for my job (I was experienced) - "Always on" mentality. Instead of focusing on my work and doing a good job, I was expected to participate in stupid slack threads and convos all the time and inane company events. Every Friday morning wasted by the CEO droning on about something or other instead of just letting us get to work. So many of the teams were overworked, I don't know how they are still there. I don't want to drink your damn Koolaid and pretend to be peppy and that Q4 is the shizz and everything is perfect all the time. I just want to be a pleasant professional, doing my job. I felt like I was back in high school with the cliques and the "rah rah's!" from management. - Moving too fast. They took on too much business all at once with no plan, staffing, training, processes or procedures to actually offer good service to clients. It was a real sh*t show and I doubt it's gotten better recently. Totally disorganized, poor knowledge organization and management. You never knew where to look for information, if it was accurate or who to contact about it. Plus it was always changing! I've worked at start ups before so I understand growth and a bit of the crazies but this was just poorly done all around. - I met some great people there, but honestly, it's a bit of a cesspool that you probably want to stay away from. They're not as nice, shiny or cool as they look at first. I hope this review helps someone make an informed decision!

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to Work is a lie

      Nov 3, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Unlimited Vacation is nice but the catch is that your often working long/late/ weekend hours - Benefits arent bad they seem to be slowly improving -The people are pretty great, easy to work and collaborate - If you like hustle culture its great -CEO is really personable and approachable - DEI events have been picking up

      Cons

      - Pay is low, I think the company has lost a lot of great talent over the last few months due to low compensation. The client service teams especially are overworked for the pay. - Not much room for advancement, a lot of initiatives around transparency in promotions have fallen flat - Over the last few months there has been quite a few complaints brought against an executive member here on glassdoor and it was never addressed - Very vague communication around returning to the office - High turnaround - Claims to support DEI but the company structure itself lacks diversity.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Lots of growth but also lots of pains

      Oct 29, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - High-growth company - Compelling products - Great office location (both Hamilton and Toronto) - Hard-working colleagues - Hustle culture - Competitive wages for non-entry level roles - Decent benefits

      Cons

      - No bonuses or performance incentives for ICs (only for people managers and above) - Teams tend to work in silos - Growing pains in terms of products and culture

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fast growing company

      Oct 16, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company has been experiencing tremendous growth that past few years and for those that can handle the pace and cope with regular change, it is a great place to be. The business is always looking for ways to grow and innovate. The future is looking amazing.

      Cons

      If you can’t handle high pace and regular change then this might it be the right place for you.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 105 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Q4 Inc. Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Q4 Inc.? Share Your Experiences

    or