Purdys Chocolatier Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Purdys Chocolatier Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "The vast majority of people who work here really love what they do, and it makes for a very good working environment(in 10 reviews)

  • "Purdy's is very cognizant about making sure all their employees have a work life balance(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Disconnect between head office initiatives and how they function in stores(in 6 reviews)

  • "I have no cons it’s truly amazing(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "The best place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Kelowna, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Purdys Chocolatier full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I can’t say enough about working for Purdys! A family owned company that truly cares about its people. They offer many opportunities for career advancement and training. Purdys pays well, has great benefits, perks and truly believes in work life balance.

    Cons

    Being super busy for all holidays. Such as Christmas, Valentines and Easter!

    Purdys Chocolatier2019-02-21

    Purdys Chocolatier Response

    February 22, 2019Internal Communications Manager

    Thank you so much for your review! We're delighted to hear that you love your work here, and that you're enjoying the programs, opportunities and benefits available.

    Continue reading
  2. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Purdys Chocolatier full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible and easy going. Customers the majority of the time are happy as we sell chocolate.

    Cons

    Favouritism can be prominent sometimes.

    Purdys Chocolatier2019-10-16

    Purdys Chocolatier Response

    October 17, 2019Internal Communications Manager

    Thank you for your review of Purdys. We appreciate hearing that your experience is positive, and that you enjoy a flexible and easy-going working environment. We'd definitely like to hear more about favouritism - if you would be open to reaching out to your P&C advisor confidentially then we can see how we can help with this. Thank you!

    Continue reading
  3. "You should definitely work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Windsor, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Purdys Chocolatier part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing company to work for! Value their employees. Always room for growth and advancement. Extensive training and room for personal creativity.

    Cons

    No cons available at this time

    Purdys Chocolatier2019-09-27

    Purdys Chocolatier Response

    September 30, 2019Internal Communications Manager

    Thank you for this glowing review! It's great to hear that you felt valued and enjoyed opportunities for growth and creativity.

    Continue reading
  4. "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Purdys Chocolatier full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary Work from home Company lunches Great brand

    Cons

    Work environment is not that great

    Purdys Chocolatier2019-09-19

    Purdys Chocolatier Response

    September 20, 2019Internal Communications Manager

    We hear that many of our Support Office staff appreciate the flexibility to work from home from time to time and we're pleased to hear that this was a benefit to you. We also recently completed some renovations of, and additions to our Chester St. Support Office spaces - we hope this would have addressed your feedback about the work environment. Thank you again for sharing your experience.

    Continue reading
  5. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Purdys Chocolatier full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Upper Management is absolutely amazing - the only company I have ever worked for where DM's and CEO's put on an apron and hop on the floor to work along side their sales associates -Product is so good that it's hard not to sell -Fun and Modern updates to store layouts, packaging and marketing

    Cons

    I don't think I have a bad thing to say about this company. Most of my complaints come from the shopping mall atmosphere I worked in but that has nothing to do with Purdys itself.

    Purdys Chocolatier2019-09-16

    Purdys Chocolatier Response

    September 16, 2019Internal Communications Manager

    Thank you for this wonderful review! We truly believe in respecting and supporting each other, and it's great to see that you've experienced lots of this in your shop from all levels of the company. We've also been working hard on some renovations this year - sounds like that's a highlight too! We really appreciate the kind words, thank you.

    Continue reading
  6. "good management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Retail Store Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Purdys Chocolatier full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nice team and good working environment

    Cons

    Need to be introduce more marketing stratergies

    Purdys Chocolatier2019-09-10

    Purdys Chocolatier Response

    September 11, 2019Internal Communications Manager

    Thank you for your review! We're always looking for ways to up our marketing game so that more customers learn about Purdys. We'll make sure to share this feedback with the team.

    Continue reading
  7. "Respect and Support are truly paramount"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Purdys Chocolatier full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Community and support with respect for work life balance

    Cons

    I cant think of any!

    Purdys Chocolatier2019-08-27

    Purdys Chocolatier Response

    August 28, 2019Internal Communications Manager

    Thank you for reviewing us! Having no cons to your experience here totally made our day. Thank you for everything that you do as a Shop Manager.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Purdys Chocolatier full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people, helpful management. Lots of long time employees.

    Cons

    Not a lot of upward mobility

    Purdys Chocolatier2019-09-09

    Purdys Chocolatier Response

    September 11, 2019Internal Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Purdys. It sounds like you had some great experiences with Purdys people.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Purdys"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fundraising & Business Gifting Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Purdys Chocolatier full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -departments are close-knit and work together to fit their specific departments goals -many perks (ex. limitless free almost-perfect chocolates) -yearly celebrations (BBQ & Holiday party etc)

    Cons

    -disputes between departments -mixed guidance from management -many employees are on contract and receive minimal training -high turnover of staff (full time, part time and contract)

    Continue reading
    Purdys Chocolatier2019-09-25

    Purdys Chocolatier Response

    September 30, 2019Internal Communications Manager

    We appreciate you providing this feedback about working at Purdys. We agree that investing in our staff is vital, and this is an area that we're always working to improve. While we're sorry to hear that you wouldn't recommend working here, we do wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great experience for young workers (vs. other typical fast food or retail jobs)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Chocolate Connoisseur in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Purdys Chocolatier part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked part-time at a Purdy's Chocolatier retail location while I was in high school. My coworkers were friendly and awesome. As a keyholder, I was trusted with more responsibilities than the typical retail/fast food job high school students get, which meant I got a great learning experience. The minimum wage offered at Purdy's during my time with the company was always a certain percentage (approx. 10%, I believe) above the legal minimum wage.

    Cons

    No major cons. Sometimes customers can be difficult and occasionally cleaning will take longer than usual after close if that evening was busy. These "cons" are expected at any retail job though.

    Purdys Chocolatier2019-08-17

    Purdys Chocolatier Response

    August 19, 2019Internal Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Purdys. We're pleased to hear that you had a great learning experience, and that you took on responsibilities - such as keyholding - that helped you to grow. We wish you all the best in the future!

    Continue reading
Found 123 reviews