Public Outreach Fundraising Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Public Outreach Fundraising Reviews

Updated Nov 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "Pros- Great environment for starting fundraising positions as the management and communication is very up much to build and develop your skills(in 21 reviews)

  • "J'ai deja fait beaucoup d'entreprise et je trouvce que chez Public Outreach, nous ne sommes pas qu'un numero(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Really hard fundraising and stressful at time(in 28 reviews)

  • "You are phoning people trying to get them to donate to charity, you're not always going to get the loveliest people (sometimes you do(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "My Public Outreach Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Public Outreach Fundraising full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As a supervisor and a fundraiser at Public Outreach, I'm encouraged to share my ideas and I can participate with my own vision, working alongside wonderful people, each person brings something to the table and I love the fact that i get to grow and learn in such an open and equal environment

    Cons

    working in fundraising and all, it is a disorganized environment sometimes

    Public Outreach Fundraising2019-07-18
  2. "Good for development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fundraising Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Public Outreach Fundraising full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - receive a lot of training - supportive coworkers - move up quickly

    Cons

    - low pay - office politics

    Advice to Management

    Follow through with planned initiatives

    Public Outreach Fundraising2019-11-03
  3. "Great Entry into the non-profit industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fundraiser in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Public Outreach Fundraising full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great vision, fun atmosphere and the people are really enjoyable to work with. This job will strengthen your communication and resilience.

    Cons

    Lack of communication between departments, can be stressful if you aren't properly supported by your manager or have trouble talking to 100's of people a week.

    Advice to Management

    Support staff, take a look at who your managers and make sure they are supporting staff with more than a weekly chat.

    Public Outreach Fundraising2019-10-01
  4. "Great place to get awesome sales experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Fundraising Manager in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Public Outreach Fundraising full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pros- Great environment for starting fundraising positions as the management and communication is very up much to build and develop your skills.

    Cons

    As you get higher in management, there are areas of internal disputes and unorganized development.

    Public Outreach Fundraising2019-09-18
  5. "Great place but disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fundraising Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Public Outreach Fundraising full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture Team-oriented Company outings are fun

    Cons

    Lack of leadership No business sense Policies change regularly

    Advice to Management

    Hire a controller or VP of Finance to tighten things up

    Public Outreach Fundraising2019-09-29
  6. "Hard job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Fundraiser 

    I worked at Public Outreach Fundraising full-time

    Pros

    good culture but hard to stay motivated

    Cons

    hard to stay motivated and bot the best money

    Public Outreach Fundraising2019-09-26
  7. "An exciting, rewarding job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fundraiser in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Public Outreach Fundraising full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The opportunity to build strong people skills.

    Cons

    I see no bad it.

    Public Outreach Fundraising2019-08-09
  8. "Good Cause, Bad Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Door to Door Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Public Outreach Fundraising full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only real redeeming quality about the nature of the job was that it was fundraising for charities so it felt like a good cause. Some of the people you worked with could also be a benefit

    Cons

    The day started early in the morning around 9 and would end around. You'd walk for hours in the summer sun knocking on doors to try and get people to sign up for monthly charitable donations by giving their credit card info. In a world where people fear scams and rightfully so, this model is inherently flawed. There was a lot of pressure to hit donation numbers and what felt like a fake-friendly environment.

    Public Outreach Fundraising2019-09-05
  9. "Not too bad, but would be so much better with proper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fundraiser in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Public Outreach Fundraising full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Super flexible schedule Pay above minimum wage Decent people

    Cons

    Management does literally nothing except create schedules, and sends you to the same turf over and over again, then is surprised when you don't do well In the last few months, management has gone downhill fast, offers absolutely no coaching, switch training or incentive to do well There is a lack of guidance and assistance from management if you aren't meeting goal

    Advice to Management

    Get your act together honestly. There's so much I could write here. Provide more coaching, go out with teams more, improve the raps that you give to teams. The whole company would benefit if you could realize there's more than three neighbourhoods to fundraise in. Despite what you claim, most of the city isn't over canvassed

    Public Outreach Fundraising2019-07-24
  10. "Be prepared to be humiliated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fundraiser in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Public Outreach Fundraising full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's an easy summer job. If you put in the hours and are prepared for a lot of walking, it's very easy to get promoted and move up in the company.

    Cons

    Be prepared to be publicly humiliated and bullied through group chats ran by the managerial staff, or while on the job in front of your coworkers. If you do not reach your quota for the day group leads will forgo all professionalism and blatantly humiliate you or your coworkers in the group chat. Forget about working as a team, you are all competing against each other for numbers. It stops being about raising money... for a good cause and is just about the numbers. The charitable aspect of the company is a facade, in reality it's like any other corporate job that care more about the money than the very people who work for them. For a company that raises money for organizations such as CAMH, it seems hypocritical that the people who are suppose to help train and guide you through the company, have instead created a toxic work place that is detrimental to you and your coworkers mental health. The senior staff at Public Outreach Toronto have responsibility to reassess their management style in order to reflect that of empathy, encouragement and togetherness.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You need to do better. Look at ways to help employees do better and reach their goals instead of publicly shaming them when they fall short.

    Public Outreach Fundraising2019-08-23
Found 235 reviews