Provincial Health Services Authority Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Provincial Health Services Authority Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 159 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Provincial Health Services Authority CEO Carl Roy
Carl Roy
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "good benefits (health and dental)(in 20 reviews)

  • "Benefits, work-life balance and senior leaderships interest in opportunities for improvement(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "PHSA is a large organization with a lot bureaucracy(in 11 reviews)

  • "Senior management is not interested in the way staff are treated(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Network Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Consultant in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Provincial Health Services Authority full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is a good environment to learn new technology.

    Cons

    The office a little bit small

    Advice to Management

    You can find time to improve your knowledge

    Provincial Health Services Authority2019-08-12
  2. "Good job with room for growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Coordinator in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Provincial Health Services Authority full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stability and job security. Also some of the best benefit packages.

    Cons

    Large organization so changes are slow. Some poor upper management.

    Provincial Health Services Authority2019-09-10
  3. "Good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Intelligence Analyst in Burnaby, BC

    I have been working at Provincial Health Services Authority full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team members are with nice and helping each other. Working hours are flexible, and sometimes can work from home. Some activities for team building.

    Cons

    Salary not competitive Not enough training

    Provincial Health Services Authority2019-08-31
  4. "Good organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Analyst 

    I worked at Provincial Health Services Authority full-time

    Pros

    Great people Career opportunities Work life balance

    Cons

    Remuneration package could be better

    Provincial Health Services Authority2019-08-14
  5. "Love the team hate the silence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounts Payable in Prince George, BC

    I have been working at Provincial Health Services Authority full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, team players, work life balance

    Cons

    Really quiet where I work...feels like any socializing is not acceptable

    Advice to Management

    Create fun so people can feel more comfortable at work

    Provincial Health Services Authority2019-08-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of Turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Analyst 

    I worked at Provincial Health Services Authority full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Type of work is very rewarding

    Cons

    Poor management is resulting in lots of turnover

    Provincial Health Services Authority2019-08-28
  7. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clerk in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Provincial Health Services Authority part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity, good benefits and wage

    Cons

    Health Care can be a toxic environment

    Advice to Management

    Less micromanagement

    Provincial Health Services Authority2019-07-25
  8. "Dynamic work environment with room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Coordinator in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Provincial Health Services Authority part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The HR team is very large. You definitely have the opportunity to learn different parts of the business and gain experience in all areas of HR

    Cons

    Large public organizations can be very slow to make decisions or take action. Work load can be overwhelming at times, but you will have the support of your leaders.

    Advice to Management

    There needs to be serious meaningful action taken to address the gap between salaries and cost of living in Vancouver. This can be as simple as allowing people the ability to work remotely.

    Provincial Health Services Authority2019-07-04
  9. "Senior Business Analyst- BCCDC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst 

    I have been working at Provincial Health Services Authority full-time

    Pros

    Well paid at the organization

    Cons

    Not innovative to think outside the box

    Advice to Management

    Reward by merit, not seniority

    Provincial Health Services Authority2019-06-29
  10. "Not for the ambitious or they young."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Provincial Health Services Authority full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Competitive starting salary - Defined benefit pension plan - 4 weeks vacation - Ample opportunity to slack off and do as little as possible while getting paid

    Cons

    - Salary will only increase by 1-2% annually - Roles are purely operational with no room for innovation - Average age is 35 and up - Others take advantage of the opportunity to slack off, even if you don't

    Advice to Management

    You need to foster young talent. Provide opportunities for self improvement and a reasonable salary growth. Otherwise you will only retain older employees who come for the pension and benefits. The amount of money that is just wasted at this level of government makes me worry.

    Provincial Health Services Authority2019-07-12

    Provincial Health Services Authority Response

    August 1, 2019Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for letting us know about your experience with PHSA. We totally agree that we need to foster young talent; in fact, nearly half of our workforce are Millennials. One way we are developing emerging talent is by expanding our leadership coaching program, so that we can develop ...

    Show More
Found 159 reviews