Prospera Credit Union Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
44%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
Prospera Credit Union President and CEO Gavin Toy
Gavin Toy
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "Wonderful work environment, Great benefits, amazing company, room to grow(in 5 reviews)

  • "work life balance(in 3 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No one knows if they will have a job in 6 months(in 4 reviews)

  • "I gave Work/Life Balance a 2/5, simply because I've seen my colleagues work even after going home sick(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Mar 30, 2021 - Director in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great cultural values all around

      Cons

      Still a bit messy after merger

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee

      We need to work on actual change

      Jun 4, 2021 - Information Technology in Surrey, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, Investment in a modern work place.

      Cons

      An organization's corporate culture establishes and maintains the business philosophy among employees. It's made up of three components: the values, behaviors, and unwritten rules. Things like teamwork, integrity, and collaboration are all struggling. We have tried to force these changes but always avoid dealing with the unwritten/unspoken rules at the core. This culture continues to revolve around the idea of "well, this is just how we do things". The fear is, this will never change.

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Going to work today? Some would rather not, bad energy I think

      Apr 21, 2021 - Banker 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People are nice, understand they need more diversity, odds of becoming a manager are high

      Cons

      no common management style, need to understand the meaning of what talk the talk and walk the walk is. Too many branches, not enough innovation to support the future. Don't listen to staff feedback, don't understand why they ask.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Room for growth.

      Mar 8, 2021 - FSM in Maple Ridge, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team level managers who trust their employees and help you grow your career. Lots of room for growth and opportunities for movement.

      Cons

      Work life balance is a challenge.

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Interview

      Mar 26, 2021 - Se Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Have a Good pay structure

      Cons

      It's a good place to work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      They will use you and then CYA Later

      Dec 10, 2020 - Employee in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get a pay check. employee benefits

      Cons

      Should I stay or should I go?? Westminster Savings "merged" with Prospera Jan 2020. They promoted their employees into higher management positions. They weren't promoted because they were the best and most qualified to do the job. Once this new leadership gets what they need from you and if you were not part of their plan, you will be let go. No long term outlook at this place. There are few good people left. What is hard is working in an environment with no trust and all the control. It feels suffocating. Where is the board? They are hiding. Embarrassed probably with the decisions they made. Too many projects!!

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Low Employee Morale and Lack of trust to senior management

      Jun 26, 2020 - Business Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work life balance. Good team work with a lot of collaboration between colleagues. Nice work environment. Less internal competition than other F.Is

      Cons

      There is a very low morale and job instability. A large number of employees have been laid off. Employees don’t know if they will still have their job in 6 months. The company is going through a lot of changes after the merge with Westminster Savings. They are struggling due to low liquidity and weak capital ratios. The company does not offer opportunities for career progression and advancement. Trust to senior management has eroded after the merge. Promises were not fulfilled If I knew the company was going to be like this after their merge, I would have not voted in favor of the merge.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Was So Good Until The Merger

      Oct 8, 2020 - Financial Advisor in Okanagan, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people with a passion to do well for the members

      Cons

      Gavin Toy, ex ICBC executive who has forgot to leave the ICBC culture and values at ICBC, shame you brought the ICBC culture and value with you. I fear for the Okanagan......................

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Toxic management

      Oct 18, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When I started, I truly believed in the brand and the company. The people (for the most part) are fantastic and very dedicated. Non-customer facing employees (in the department I was part of) were very committed to making their members' lives easier. I feel that there are (or were) career opportunities in some corporate departments but they aren't going to be senior contributor roles or even associate manager roles.

      Cons

      There's a multitude of things that were huge red flags with this organization: - Corporate management is resistant to changes on the technology side of things. There have been times when online banking has gone down or its products are working inconsistently--things that in retrospect could have been prevented if we maintained documentation or held post-mortems with the greater team - I've been asked by management to do tasks that are not related to Prospera and at the time, I did not refuse because I felt like my career goals to move into a specific career path would have been affected. This feeling has been formed based on stories of this same manager making life difficult for another former employee in a similar position, coupled with verbal and non-verbal communications with employees in other departments who have worked with this manager. - If you're looking for career growth in a specific role at a specific level (as I once did) from a mid- to senior-level contributor into an associate manager role in Corporate, you are likely better off searching elsewhere. I waited a few months after merger for new opportunities (and note that I was well aware of the fact that a merger is followed by "business as usual" for a long period of time), but the roles that did emerge weren't aligned with my career goals. - We made a shift to a new tool and upon the topic of training, I was told that there was no budget available. We were still expected to perform our roles despite the lack of training on top of our regular duties. Note that no extra time was given to try and teach ourselves the new tools and technology to do my role. (It's also a big part of why I ranked Compensation and Benefits the way it is--most companies will, in absentia of a training budget, will allow you time to play with a tool or technology in lieu of a formal training plan). - I gave Diversity & Inclusion scoring that lies in the middle but most of that is a reflection of most of my time at Prospera which was, for the most part, diverse (female and male executive leaders with a variety of ethnic backgrounds). At the time of my leaving, it longer holds a similar ratio on gender and ethnicity. - I gave Work/Life Balance a 2/5, simply because I've seen my colleagues work even after going home sick.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Nov 14, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great management and culture. Good benefits

      Cons

      lack of future opportunities for those who want to grow

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 69 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Prospera Credit Union Job Seekers

    Financial Services Officer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Systems Engineer/Database Administrator
    Learn About the Job
    Financial Services Associate
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Prospera Credit Union? Share Your Experiences

    Prospera Credit Union logo
    or