Progressive Insurance Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 400 of over 4k reviews

3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Progressive Insurance President and Chief Executive Officer Tricia Griffith
Tricia Griffith
1,347 Ratings
Pros
  • "They really care about their employees and the work environment they create(in 227 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, including working from home(in 222 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "sometimes poor work life balance(in 206 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is poor due to heavy work load(in 106 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Work for the money

      Dec 11, 2020 - Claims Adjuster 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay is really good and the culture in the company is overall inviting and pleasant

      Cons

      You’re going to work for your money. Work life balance is preached here but in all actuality it’s not that easy to do that. The company tends to be reactive to issues instead of proactive so those on the front lines are dealing with a lot more than they probably need to.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best Insurance Company to Work For!

      Sep 17, 2020 - Customer Service Specialist in Cleveland, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Very flexible attendance policy and time off options to help make having a work/life balance much easier. - Shift bids every 8 weeks - Leadership is very involved and supportive of the employees below them - So much opportunity for advancement, quickly - The hourly pay is very good and they always post available overtime hours - Shift differential for evenings and weekends - Amazing CEO to work under

      Cons

      The ONLY con is that talking on the phone with 50+ different people a day can be very exhausting and draining. But, once you get used to it and know what you are doing, you don't even notice.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great place to work

      Sep 12, 2020 - Outbound Subrogation Specialist in Mayfield Heights, Cuyahoga, OH, Optional[OH]
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity for growth is endless Work/life balance is a main priority Very flexible Multiple ways of getting any help you need be it training, guidance, etc. A company that truly cares about their employees. When my mom was sick And dying my senior manager called me into his office and told me to do whatever I need to do and quote “work will always be here, do what you need to do to be with your family”

      Cons

      Pay is slightly under industry standard as they factor in gainshare, however gainshare is not guaranteed. That being said I’m not unhappy with my salary.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Pros and Cons

      Jan 19, 2021 - Claims Adjuster 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Gainshare, casual attire, management is committed to safety of employees

      Cons

      Poor work-life balance, high stress position, not all employees are held to the same standard.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Claims

      Jan 11, 2021 - Claims Adjuster in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, great coworkers, work from home options

      Cons

      Heavy workloads, no work life balance, inconsistent

      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best job ever

      Jan 14, 2021 - Software Engineer in Colorado Springs, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work life balance. Hours

      Cons

      There are no cons In my mind.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Say Goodbye to Work/Life

      Aug 28, 2020 - Claims Adjuster 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Higher than average salary Decent ETB package Flexible hours Work from Home options

      Cons

      As a salary employee since I left training I have not worked less than 10 hours per day. I regularly work on Saturdays. I am not paid anything above my salary because I am not eligible for overtime. However, there is zero work/life balance for this position. I have witnessed coworkers break down at their desks because of the workload. Regularly there are 1-2 people out on leave for what I can only assume is mental health. You cannot make anyone happy in this job. You are micromanaged and constantly drilled to follow a plan that simply does not work for an eight hour work day. The level and amount of work required in this job has made me extremely stressed. I’m putting in my notice this year. I can’t take it anymore.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Very good company

      Jan 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work-life balance here at PGR

      Cons

      Cannot think of any cons

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Worsening work/life balance nightmare

      Sep 9, 2020 - Claims Adjuster in Lancaster, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good starting pay - Provide decent training and entry into field - Work from home (due to covid-19) - Bonus (profit sharing) - Skill set booster (admin, financial, ect) - Progressive has solid technology assets --- Leader in the field

      Cons

      - Poor health insurance (Aetna) --- No copays. You must meet a large deductible first - Unrealistic workload and expectations --- Up to 12 work-intensive claims within 2 days --- Covid19 procedures are increasing workload --- No leniency for covid19-related delays - Absolutely no work/life balance at all --- 10+ Hour shifts are becoming the norm --- "Work extra hours or find another job" mentality - Company prioritizes speed over quality --- Closing claims more important than accuracy - Excessive micromanagement --- Constant negative feedback from supervisor --- Criticized for obstacles outside of our control

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Wasn't the worst

      Oct 5, 2020 - Auto Claims Adjuster in Yonkers, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cover in state auto accidents Promotes team environment with building expertises

      Cons

      Too small an office, everyone is in everyone's business Work life balance is rough. "Penalized" when taking vaca's or called in sick because the work you left behind will still be there and you'll have backed up voicemails from the claims you couldn't touch while out of the office

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 400 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Progressive Insurance Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Progressive Insurance? Share Your Experiences

    Progressive Insurance logo
    or