Progress Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Progress Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 419 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Progress CEO Yogesh Gupta
Yogesh Gupta
95 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, employee stock purchase plan, work/life balance(in 61 reviews)

  • "A professional and comfortable work environment with well-promoted company culture and values(in 32 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Controller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Controller & Sales Director in Thornhill, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progress for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Managements life balance and flexible attitude towards employees life goals. Willingness to try new methods and new ideas as it pertains to software and computer systems

    Cons

    Company is far too connected to its suppliers. The decisions that are beyond managements control have far too much influence on the company's future

    Advice to Management

    Continue establishing your own applications that are not dependant on suppliers source codes.

    Progress2016-09-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Progress full-time

    Pros

    Good Culture and Environment here

    Cons

    Management Changes and random changes happen

    Progress2018-03-20
  3. "Credit Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lending Administrative in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Progress full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment to learn Friendly mentors and supervisor supportive and easy workload

    Cons

    Nothing much in cons. Company is still growing.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Progress2016-08-09
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Do Not Reccomend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Progress for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nothing good to report about this company. Lost

    Cons

    Ethics are questionable. Direction lost.

    Advice to Management

    Change your ethics . Destroying reseller companies and taking their customers for Progress's gain is questionable even without antitrust laws.

    Progress2016-02-24
  5. "A great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Writer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Progress full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, great flexibility, very good salary. I went to Progress when my company was purchased by them and was very satisfied with the way the company treats its employees.

    Cons

    Unfortunately they changed focus away from web services management and our company was sold to another corporation. They do seem to have a way of purchasing companies and then selling them off a few years later.

    Advice to Management

    You guys really should have stuck with Actional. As it is that company has been gutted and many people who really enjoyed working for Progress are now scattered in other companies. So much wasted knowledge...

    Progress2014-01-21
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Progress Sales Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Management in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Progress full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, easy work.

    Cons

    No Innovation, feels like you just moving the deck chairs on the titanic

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of a C-level clowns and start over (again)

    Progress2019-08-19
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Good place with solid products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progress full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The products are solid and Progress has a large customer base including a lot of large brands. Customers use and renew products at a 90%+ rate. For the most part, quotas are achievable. Work-life balance is recognized. Good ESPP program.

    Cons

    Things can move slowly due to internal process and politics. The office in Bedford is dated and kind of depressing. The other offices are nice.

    Advice to Management

    Reduce the amount of internal process. As a tech company we should be more agile. Not everything needs 7 steps of approval.

    Progress2019-07-25
  8. "No Progress, No Software, On Kinvey Sales Team for 10 Months & No Sales Across Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Waltham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Progress full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, CEO, offices, people and salary.

    Cons

    I was on the Kinvey sales team for over a period of ten months with a dozen sales reps, really stellar senior reps and inside pros on the team, and thought we would kill it! However, during that time not one Progress employee sold Kinvey to any F2000 enterprise over 10+ months-OMG! WHY? The Kinvey platform has no development support, other than spinning to the prospect, "we're enabling you to build apps faster on Kinvey."...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Kinvey's Sales and technical management team is stuck on antiquated sales processes and training. They need to right size for the market and know what they are selling and shift focus from F500 target customers. When you are a nobody- unknown and untested in F500 world you need to build a book of business up from SMB's and F2000 enterprises before a F500 will take you seriously especially in the competitive landscape...

    Show More
    Progress2019-08-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Best IT company to work in Bulgaria"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sofia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progress full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    experts and professionals, great work-life balance, very open-minded, additional health care, private gym in the building, company teambuildings

    Cons

    I can't think of any!

    Progress2019-07-11
  10. "It's a good company to learn from and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Sofia
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Progress full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Professional atmosphere with lots of smart people

    Cons

    The core members are no longer there after Telerik was sold and Became progress, although some people still work there

    Progress2019-07-01
Found 419 reviews