Prodigy Game Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Prodigy Game Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 57 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Prodigy Game CEO Alex Peters & Rohan Mahimker (no image)
Alex Peters & Rohan Mahimker
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "Prodigy is high growth in every sense of the word(in 11 reviews)

  • "Plus a great Health and Learning fund(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "There's not really anything negative I've ever experienced in my 10 months at Prodigy(in 8 reviews)

  • "Burlington itself, a car might be the best option for transit)(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Prodigy Game: Helping all Students around the world to love Education, and Loving work while doing it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher Success Specialist in Burlington, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prodigy Game full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing Culture - Wonderful People - TONS of room for growth and opportunity - Flexible Work hours - Incredible Benefits - Gym & Learning Funds - Stock Options - Super Smash Bros!! - Fantastic mentors & leadership

    Cons

    There's not really anything negative I've ever experienced in my 10 months at Prodigy. This job really is an absolute dream come true. The only potentially negative points would be, Fast-Paced/Big goal work environment, which can lead to high levels of stress. These shouldn't scare you away from this revolutionary company though if anything you should be excited about these things! Prodigy provides you with the tools for success/growth, part of the process is taking risks and learning on the fly!

    Continue reading
    Prodigy Game2019-08-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Prodigy is a genuinely good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Stack Developer in Burlington, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prodigy Game full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Everyone at Prodigy lives and breaths our vision and truly wants to contribute towards better education for everyone - Top talent throughout - Tons of fun company events - Growth opportunities - Good, friendly people - Transparent leadership

    Cons

    My commute is a little long, but I plan to move closer!

    Prodigy Game2019-07-08
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Nice people, but run per management book theories and with engineer mindset."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burlington, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Prodigy Game full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Top management seems to truly care about making education fun for kids. Workplace was generally fun, with support for Agile processes.

    Cons

    Focus on learning from management theory books and metrics. Worried about killing the golden goose, which kept new ideas smothered under committee.

    Continue reading
    Prodigy Game2019-06-18

    Prodigy Game Response

    June 25, 2019

    Thanks for taking time to write this review and highlighting some concerns! We’re sorry to hear you feel as though new ideas don’t come to fruition at Prodigy. We’re trying to address this issue by involving those outside of senior leadership more actively in key planning processes, such as brainstorming and setting quarterly objectives and key results. On top of that, we’re focused on building out a more thorough product discovery framework. In doing so, we intend to surface and execute new ideas more frequently and effectively. As for our focus on books, we’ve found that a culture of continuous learning -- from the team member level to the senior leadership level -- has played a key role in our growth by allowing us to quickly build skills as well as encourage effective teamwork and management practices, such as radical candor. With all that being said, we’re happy to hear your experience was positive overall and that the company-wide passion for making education accessible was evident. Receiving this kind of feedback lets us know we’re on the right track in terms of fostering a cohesive culture -- thank you! If you want to expand on your feedback to help us implement it properly, Sarah-Jayne Lehtinen -- our Senior Director of People Ops -- and Tara Poirier -- our Senior HR Manager -- would love to hear from you!

    Continue reading
  4. "Excellent Company With Great Values and Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - School Partnerships Manager in Burlington, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prodigy Game full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture Many growth opportunities Management genuinely cares about the well-being of their staff Everyone's contributions are valued Company has a great vision Hardworking employees Great social events Everyone you work with, all the way up to the CEOs, are great people Amazing focus on work/life balance Overall a great place to work for years to come

    Cons

    None at all to be honest.

    Continue reading
    Prodigy Game2019-05-16

    Prodigy Game Response

    May 26, 2019

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We’re thrilled to hear your experience at Prodigy has been so positive. Reading reviews like yours makes all the initiatives and daily work that Leadership, People Ops and individual team members do to instill and improve our culture worth it! As you’ve said, we’re confident the amazing team we’ve put together will ensure Prodigy remains “a great place to work for years to come.” If you ever have more feedback, feel free to talk to Sarah-Jayne Lehtinen, our Senior Director of People Ops, or Tara Poirier, our Senior HR Manager.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Prodigy Game full-time

    Pros

    Work balance Give you food (snacks and even random meals here and there, also breakfast they provide) Employees are super down to earth and friendly. Everyone knows they are here to work and no need to gossiping or bad atmosphere. Management is great as well! They have good benefits and other perk (staff events).

    Cons

    None really. You just have to do your job, slacking off won’t help you at all.

    Prodigy Game2019-04-11
  6. "Quality Assurance Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance Analyst in Burlington, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prodigy Game full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Hours, unlimited sick days, Work from home availability, growth & learning oriented environment, great medical plan, health fund, learning fund, free snacks and much more!

    Cons

    The company is growing so fast we're running out of room!

    Continue reading
    Prodigy Game2019-03-20
  7. "Great Culture, Fun Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burlington, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prodigy Game full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are many pros to working at Prodigy. 1. Great mission! To help enable every child in the world to love learning. It's not "make the most money" or "be the best at...", it's all about the children and helping them to love learning. Awesome! 2. The People. I have yet to run into 'that guy', and I don't think there is one here. They take their hiring process very seriously, with a technical and a cultural interview, and even if you succeed at one, you might not at the other. Everyone is friendly and enthusiastic about working here. 3. The 'Perks'. Great healthy snacks, tons of games in the lunchroom, ping pong, basketball, and a fantastic Team Building Committee that focuses on making our work life great! Plus a great Health and Learning fund! 4. The Growth. They are building out the team fast and we are growing so quickly. There are lots of opportunities to grow in your role and take on more responsibilities.

    Cons

    Right now, because of the growth, we are spread out within the building so it makes it difficult to bond with people on different floors. But this is just a short term problem, everything else is GREAT.

    Continue reading
    Prodigy Game2019-03-20
  8. "The Greatest Growing Company To Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prodigy Game full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of room to grow - Encouraging - Flex hours - Great people to work with - Great CEO's - We take great pride in who we hire - Great benefits - Lot's of room to learn

    Cons

    I don't have much to say here, but if I was going to give something I'd have to say: - Processes could be streamlined a bit

    Continue reading
    Prodigy Game2019-03-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Office Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burlington, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prodigy Game full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flex hours, supportive managers and colleagues, gym and learning fund, growth opportunities. Creativity to make the job your own.

    Cons

    There are no cons at this time.

    Prodigy Game2019-02-23
  10. "Office Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager in Burlington, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prodigy Game full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company cares about your growth and development. Extremely helpful employees who always help one another. Lots of communication.

    Cons

    Have yet to see any

    Continue reading
    Prodigy Game2019-02-26
Found 57 reviews