Prodigy Game Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Prodigy Game Reviews

Updated Nov 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
93%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Prodigy Game Co-CEOs Alex Peters & Rohan Mahimker (no image)
Alex Peters & Rohan Mahimker
55 Ratings
Pros
  • "Prodigy is high growth in every sense of the word(in 12 reviews)

  • "Plus a great Health and Learning fund(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "There's not really anything negative I've ever experienced in my 10 months at Prodigy(in 8 reviews)

  • "There are no cons to working here(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prodigy Game full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    mission, coworkers, environment, benefits, education

    Cons

    commute, public transit access poor, growing pains, documentation overload

    Prodigy Game2019-11-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Prodigy is a good place for career growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Burlington, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prodigy Game full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My whole team has 4 weeks vacation. The work is challenging. I've learnt a lot since being here. Definitely a place where you can grow. Lot's of opportunities. There's a learning fund. Everyone is friendly and welcoming. Company/team events are worthwhile. Real drive to improve education.

    Cons

    Unclear if the company valuations are accurate. Leadership seems to use some arbitrary formula. No independent appraisals. The rest of the company only has 3 weeks vacation. Doesn't feel fair.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Keep learning. Keep communicating.

    Prodigy Game2019-11-22
  3. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partnerships in Burlington, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prodigy Game full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance Health and benifits plan Stock options Room to grow CEOS are totally transparent Feel like you are making a difference with and incredible product

    Cons

    Too many meeting. Not a huge con but sometimes it can interrupt your day

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing I am literally happier than I have ever been in my workplace. Your passion and drive are infectious

    Prodigy Game2019-11-08
  4. "Incredible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partnerships in Burlington, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prodigy Game full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Prodigy is the best company I have ever worked for and highly recommend as an employer.

    Cons

    No cons I can think of - Really!

    Prodigy Game2019-11-08
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prodigy Game full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ping pong and smash bros

    Cons

    Management is a mess. Does not trust employees. Workload for each employee is way too much and the top execs reap the benefits of the people at the bottom. Pay is nowhere near market and the hole 1030 to 330 is a lie.

    Prodigy Game2019-11-22
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Prodigy Game: Helping all Students around the world to love Education, and Loving work while doing it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher Success Specialist in Burlington, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prodigy Game full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing Culture - Wonderful People - TONS of room for growth and opportunity - Flexible Work hours - Incredible Benefits - Gym & Learning Funds - Stock Options - Super Smash Bros!! - Fantastic mentors & leadership

    Cons

    There's not really anything negative I've ever experienced in my 10 months at Prodigy. This job really is an absolute dream come true. The only potentially negative points would be, Fast-Paced/Big goal work environment, which can lead to high levels of stress. These shouldn't scare you away from this revolutionary company though if anything you should be excited about these things! Prodigy provides you with the... tools for success/growth, part of the process is taking risks and learning on the fly!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for being so involved, and transparent with our company direction. Both of you are an absolute inspiration for all employees at Prodigy. Please don't ever lose the sight of your core company values, since those are what truly unites us all together at Prodigy. Motivating us to achieve our company mission and to help all students around the world to love learning!

    Prodigy Game2019-08-21
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Prodigy is a genuinely good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Stack Developer in Burlington, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prodigy Game full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Everyone at Prodigy lives and breaths our vision and truly wants to contribute towards better education for everyone - Top talent throughout - Tons of fun company events - Growth opportunities - Good, friendly people - Transparent leadership

    Cons

    My commute is a little long, but I plan to move closer!

    Prodigy Game2019-07-08
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Nice people, but run per management book theories and with engineer mindset."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burlington, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Prodigy Game full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Top management seems to truly care about making education fun for kids. Workplace was generally fun, with support for Agile processes.

    Cons

    Focus on learning from management theory books and metrics. Worried about killing the golden goose, which kept new ideas smothered under committee.

    Advice to Management

    Actually value and communicate with employees as creative humans, less on metrics. Talk with, not at.

    Prodigy Game2019-06-18
  9. "Excellent Company With Great Values and Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - School Partnerships Manager in Burlington, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prodigy Game full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture Many growth opportunities Management genuinely cares about the well-being of their staff Everyone's contributions are valued Company has a great vision Hardworking employees Great social events Everyone you work with, all the way up to the CEOs, are great people Amazing focus on work/life balance Overall a great place to work for years to come

    Cons

    None at all to be honest.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work so far, you've established an amazing culture, keep adapting and growing!

    Prodigy Game2019-05-16
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Prodigy Game full-time

    Pros

    Work balance Give you food (snacks and even random meals here and there, also breakfast they provide) Employees are super down to earth and friendly. Everyone knows they are here to work and no need to gossiping or bad atmosphere. Management is great as well! They have good benefits and other perk (staff events).

    Cons

    None really. You just have to do your job, slacking off won’t help you at all.

    Prodigy Game2019-04-11
Found 62 reviews