Princess Cruise Lines Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Princess Cruise Lines Reviews

Updated Mar 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Princess Cruise Lines President  Jan Swartz
Jan Swartz
147 Ratings
Pros
  • "I enjoyed the 9/80 work schedule allowing one day every other week for me to be home with my family after school(in 39 reviews)

  • "Traveling, good work/life balance, ability to explore ashore, great internet connection(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours of work, screaming guests(in 42 reviews)

  • "Low Pay (lowest in the cruise industry for IT Professionals)(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent opportunities for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Princess Cruise Lines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, invest in employees, forward thinking,

    Cons

    Work remotely so not able to interact with team on a regular basis

    Princess Cruise Lines2019-09-07
  2. "Excellent Opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Princess Cruise Lines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This company is great for interns. Provides excellent, hands-on experience with a great pay rate at $18 an hour for undergraduate students and $30 for masters students.

    Cons

    Although being hired full time after completing an internship is expected, the starting salaries are a little low, given the cost of living in Southern California.

    Princess Cruise Lines2020-02-11
  3. "Lifeguard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Princess Cruise Lines

    Pros

    Great experience overall Great company Well paid Princess put a great deal of trust into us

    Cons

    Some standardization of job duties would benefit Depending on who your team leader is, schedule can have long hours

    Princess Cruise Lines2017-12-24
  4. "Butcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Butcher in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Princess Cruise Lines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free to travel anywhere in the world

    Cons

    When there is a low pressure

    Continue reading
    Princess Cruise Lines2017-05-09
  5. "Shipboard employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Cruise Director in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Princess Cruise Lines for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing work/life balance Strong management guidance Excellent training and coaching Travel benefits Health benefits Multiple Opportunities Career Growth

    Cons

    Pay for some onboard jobs is low VERY SLOW and expensive internet for crew Uniforms pieces are not always available on board for all sizes - shocker for first contract crew

    Continue reading
    Princess Cruise Lines2017-02-10
  6. "Great company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Princess Cruise Lines

    Pros

    The company was really great to work for. They cared about culture and that was evident from the top down. I enjoyed my time working with them

    Cons

    The nature of the industry is that the work is long hours and can change at a moment's notice. The systems on board are a bit outdated, though, so if you are technologically savvy this may irritate you.

    Continue reading
    Princess Cruise Lines2016-12-05
  7. "Photographer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Princess Cruise Lines

    Pros

    Saving money, traveling the world, meeting new people The company offer various training for the employee, good food Great experience for new graduates

    Cons

    Long hours, No days off in 6 months, No privacy(You need to share a room with an another crew) Low wages depending on where you are from. You need to be away 6 months from home

    Continue reading
    Princess Cruise Lines2016-05-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Assistant Purser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Purser in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Princess Cruise Lines for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Nice working environment. Travel a lot

    Cons

    No benefits. Low salary compared to other cruise lines.

    Princess Cruise Lines2015-07-27
  9. "Shore Excursions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Princess Cruise Lines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great travel and professional expereince

    Cons

    Compensation does not match the hours worked

    Continue reading
    Princess Cruise Lines2015-07-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "I was able to see fabulous places thanks for the company which I never would've been able to visit :)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Princess Cruise Lines

    Pros

    Working at sea is a good opportunity to save as much money you wish!

    Cons

    Be ready to work 7 days a week 10-13 hours a day for 6 month without a single day off!!((()))

    Continue reading
    Princess Cruise Lines2014-04-15
Found 359 reviews