Postmates Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Postmates Reviews

Updated Feb 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
55%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Postmates Co-Founder & CEO Bastian Lehmann
Bastian Lehmann
131 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long wait times between deliveries results in unreliable work stream(in 181 reviews)

  • "They literally have an army of couriers on the streets ready to deliver at all times(in 154 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews by divisions

  1. "Awesome Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Professional in Windsor, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Postmates part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Pay, Flexible schedule, all yur resources at one place, Management is Understandable.

    Cons

    Angry Customers, angry Merchants and angry Couriers otherwise outstanding.

    Continue reading
    Postmates2016-01-05
  2. "Great Employers, Degrading Customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Busser/Runner in Lagrange Hlds, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Postmates part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management and co-workers. Tips can help.

    Cons

    The people who come into the restaurant are snobs and degrade the employees

    Continue reading
    Postmates2020-02-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postmates Courier in Columbia, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Postmates part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Choose when want to work

    Cons

    Unlike door dash, if the customer doesn’t tip, postmarked won’t give you any extra pay

    Postmates2020-02-13
  4. Postmates - Fleet | Division of Postmates

    "Not bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outpatient Coordinator in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Postmates part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good starting place to put on a resume Work whenever you want

    Cons

    You dont make as much money Sometimes there are slow days

    Postmates2020-01-31
  5. Postmates - Fleet | Division of Postmates
    Helpful (1)

    "Postmates Employee Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Driver/Customer Service Representative in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Postmates part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy Money, convenient work hours.

    Cons

    Poor pay, too many deliveries are too far.

    Continue reading
    Postmates2020-02-06
  6. Helpful (3)

    "If you like poor leadership, lack of transparency, and politics— Postmates might be the place for you!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Talent Acquisition in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Postmates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Catered lunch 2 days a week and fun employee events -- not THAT cool, considering that every other tech company provides this + way more.

    Cons

    A few keywords that come to my mind: Lack of transparency. Favoritism. Lay-offs. Bleeding money. Politics. Unqualified leadership. Anxiety. Deceitfulness. Where to begin... I worked at Postmates full-time in SF for ~2 years in Talent Acquisition. The team scaled from ~10 to ~35 during my time there and then was literally cut in half during a mass layoff in December 2019. Over 50 people in SF/LA and 70+ in Nashville were laid off and the Mexico City office was completely shut down. There was also a large engineering layoff that occurred before this in October and another small wave in December. These layoffs were the result of a board meeting on Tuesday 11/19. (Privacy is clearly not Postmate’s strong suit). As soon as this board meeting ended, there was a reoccurring meeting every single day from the day of the board meeting through the day of the layoff. The calendar invite was a blend of HR/Legal team members who did NOT know how to make their Google Calendar invite private. CLASSIC. The meeting was titled Project 710 which, according to Google, signifies closures and new beginnings. Creative. After this calendar invite was sent, there was an announcement to the Talent Acquisition pod area literally screaming, “NO EXTERNAL MEETINGS OR ON-SITES ON TUESDAY 12/3!” with a Slack channel message to follow stating the same thing— AKA D-Day. Again, as HR professionals, how dumb can you be? There was quite literally no rhyme or reason as to *why* people were laid off either— entirely random selection. I was undoubtedly a top performer with exceeded goals across every single metric. Teammates who remain on the team did not necessarily hit or exceed those same goals. We also hadn't had performance reviews since April 2019 and were straight up told "GOALS DON'T COUNT" in Q4 2019. This was basically them saying "Hiring Freeze" as there was a c-level email that straight up read "HIRING FREEZE". Another dance around lie to cover this up. On top of this, the severance package was pretty pathetic and far from standard for an SF tech company (6 week pay that overlapped with the holidays/historically the slowest time period for hiring and identifying a new opportunity). Money is clearly an issue for Postmates right now. As an HR and recruiting professional, this is NOT a team that I would join if I wanted to learn or grow. It’s essentially the blind leading the blind. I mean, come on. What kind of HR professionals don’t know to make a calendar invite about layoffs private? Human Resources 101. They should be mortified as individuals and as an organization. SUMMARY: This company is a sinking ship. I would not join this company at any level for any role. An IPO is out of the question and the best case scenario would be an acquisition. Leadership at every single level is not qualified for their role. I get text messages every single day from people that are still employed there about how miserable it is and their exit plans to get out. Since the layoffs, a number of people (leadership and IC’s) have left on their own terms and they are now starting to backfill that headcount. If you're interviewing at Postmates-- you're likely a backfill for someone. I would avoid this place at all costs. I would not tell my worst enemy to work here. PS. Since the layoff, I have become an avid Ubereats user. Faster, more efficient, and more cost effective. They literally have an army of couriers on the streets ready to deliver at all times. My tummy and wallet have never been happier. 10/10 recommend Ubereats :P

    Continue reading
    Postmates2020-02-20
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Good, But Needs Improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Postmates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible WFH policy Catered Lunch Monday and Tuesday Excellent Events Team and Offsite Company Activities

    Cons

    Egotistical Leadership who make poor decisions Career advancement is cloudy

    Continue reading
    Postmates2020-01-03
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Avoid working here at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Postmates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pros of working here are the stereotypical ones you find at all tech companies in San Francisco: - Free snacks and catered lunch three times a week - Modern open office - Dog friendly - Good health/dental insurance - Fun company events

    Cons

    Postmates is quite possibly the worst company in SF to work for. If you value your mental health and career goals then avoid it at all costs. The company works hard to externally promote an image of trust and progressiveness but internally a culture of fear and disorganization runs rampant. It seems like from day one of Postmate’s inception the leadership never considered a positive company culture or coherent internal operations a priority. Instead, they felt it was more important to instill a culture of fear which has never left the company. Talking to employees who have been here long enough to be fully vested, the majority of them have horror stories or saved communications of the verbal abuse and beratement that came directly from the top. Do enough digging in certain slack groups and you can personally find many examples for yourself. Our HR has a horrible reputation internally to the point that coworkers no longer feel comfortable going to them with issues because of how atrociously they’ve handled serious complaints such as harassment. Like other reviewers have said, at Postmates internal raises and promotions are few and far between. More than likely, your boss will quit or someone on your team will be fired/leave and you will inherit their title and workload with zero financial compensation. Pretty much the only way to receive any type of raise is to receive a counteroffer from another company or play into the extreme office politics of your department. Product and branding are prioritized above everything else because it is imperative for Postmates to retain its verb status and prized LA market. Endless amounts of time and resources will be poured into showing just how cool we are with branded promotions and celebrity endorsements while crippling internal issues continue to fester. Burnout here is so common that it’s not surprising to have a coworker take a leave of absence or quit because their mental health has deteriorated so severely. Little is done internally to promote having a healthy work/life balance as it’s baked into the culture to work long hours, always be one call, and take as little vacation as possible.

    Continue reading
    Postmates2020-02-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Catastrophic Courier Platform"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Independent Contractor in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Postmates part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to set your hours

    Cons

    No onsite managers or H.R. Giveaways are poorly planned and operated. Poor communication. Complete reliance upon app. The app is poorly set up for drivers. Requirements for drivers are unreasonable. Compensation is not fair. Hidden costs for drivers.

    Continue reading
    Postmates2020-02-06
  10. Helpful (2)

    "AE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Postmates

    Pros

    some of the people are really friendly and they have cool events.

    Cons

    Managers micromanage you and put constant pressure to go beyond quota when you have already hit. Not professional in anyway. Pay is way too low, if you ever do miss a month of quota it is not enough to live off of. Too much gossip and drama HR is horrible Expect you to work overtime constantly Not the company I thought I would be working for.

    Postmates2020-02-04

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 242 reviews