Pollard Banknote Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Pollard Banknote Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
40%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Pollard Banknote Co-Chief Executive Officer Douglas Pollard and John Pollard (no image)
Douglas Pollard and John Pollard
21 Ratings
  1. "One of Winnipeg's best companies!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pollard Banknote full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    After over 10 years with Pollard and even through it's tremendous growth, I am still impressed with the efforts that go into treating it's employees like family, creating opportunities for so many to progress upwards or into other positions that present interest, great working conditions, significant investment back into all areas of the company and fair compensation. I have worked in numerous companies and still... regard Pollard as the benchmark for others to aspire to.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing that is significant enough to note

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Pollard Banknote2018-08-16
  2. "Loved the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Worker in Sault Ste. Marie, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pollard Banknote full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    3 days a week, 12 hour shifts, close to home, benefits , overtime

    Cons

    Poorly managed. Turned blind eye to dangerous safety concerns. More worried over hurting feelings then safety of employees. Pollard likes to do everything twice, blame the low end employees for short comings. Management is poorly run. Not an environmen of professionalism . I like the job the politics made it rediculous Reward poor employees. No value for good employees . Revolving door of employees.

    Advice to Management

    Figure out how to manage effectively. Value employees . Maintain a professiona work environment, employees safety should come far and above floor gossip. Get rid all the bad apples they are poisoning the work environment. Dont blame all employees when you have attedance issues, loose the bad apples. Hope Winnipeg knows what's going on this plant one day!

    Pollard Banknote2019-12-06
  3. "Long shifts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Finishing Associate 

    I have been working at Pollard Banknote full-time

    Pros

    Tons of over time if your willing to work

    Cons

    Long shifts and if you working overtime no time for work and low pay

    Advice to Management

    Train at least more than a day

    Pollard Banknote2019-08-13
  4. "No room for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winnipeg, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pollard Banknote full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits program, approachable supervisors

    Cons

    most people work in the same positions for many years without option to advance

    Pollard Banknote2019-09-09
  5. "Sales & Marketing rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Marketing 

    I have been working at Pollard Banknote full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The team is friendly and the office are nice

    Cons

    Bad management, very low salary, no career plans, unpaid overtime, and no real benefits compared to other companies. Employees outside the department are very rude, stubborn, not open to any changes

    Pollard Banknote2019-08-29
  6. "Learning Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Pollard Banknote full-time

    Pros

    Work closely with co-workers in open concept work environment. Many opportunities to learn from others.

    Cons

    Traditional organizational structure. Sometimes it could feel like work was being slowed by unnecessary processes.

    Pollard Banknote2019-02-12
  7. "Honest Opinion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pollard Banknote full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Love working at PBL. As a part of one of the Software Development group, I have had tremendous opportunity to learn and contribute to the software development of various products. In addition to this, the cutting edge technology used to build the applications makes every day more exciting. I have had the opportunity to work at different stages of SDLC. The organizational culture and environment is excellent to... work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of.

    Pollard Banknote2018-08-15
  8. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pollard Banknote full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Open culture - employees are truly invested in doing their part to make the company successful. CEOs and Executives work as hard as everyone else. Lots of opportunity to contribute and be recognized for doing great work. People are welcoming and helpful. Growing, successful company. Exciting, dynamic, fast paced environment. The company provides support for continued education.

    Cons

    With growth comes growing pains. If you want a company that is the same day after day, year after year, this may not be the best fit for you.

    Advice to Management

    Be as visible and interactive with staff as you can, as often as you can.

    Pollard Banknote2018-08-15
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Winnipeg, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pollard Banknote full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good for junior employees who don't mind getting underpaid while gaining experience.

    Cons

    Low pay, boring repetitive tasks, incompetent management.

    Advice to Management

    Pay way more and give more interenting work to your employees.

    Pollard Banknote2018-07-23
  10. "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pollard Banknote full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are accommodating and nice, and treat each other with respect. You can talk to anyone if you have questions, and they'll be sure to help you out. There are lots of opportunities to grow either within your department or outside.

    Cons

    Work-life balance can be improved. Hopefully there will be more opportunities for social engagement among employees.

    Pollard Banknote2018-02-01
Found 33 reviews