Pocket Gems Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Pocket Gems CEO Ben Liu
Ben Liu
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work environment, good work culture(in 7 reviews)

  • "Fun place to work - free food, happy hours, talks, events(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, but nothing else really(in 5 reviews)

  • "Pay is lower than most traditional tech companies(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Game Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pocket Gems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive culture, emphasis on improving job skills, collaborative teammates

    Cons

    new project pipeline has some minor issues, consensus-driven org can sometimes slow the decision-making process

    Continue reading

    Pocket Gems Response

    July 20, 2020Recruiting Team

    Thank you for taking some time to share! We’re ecstatic to hear that your experience at PG aligns with our company value to support employees in building the best team.

  2. "Good emplyer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Picker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pocket Gems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly staff made working ok

    Cons

    pay was not enough to live on

    Continue reading

    Pocket Gems Response

    May 5, 2020Recruiting Team

    Thank you for sharing your experience! We value your feedback and wish you the best on your journey!


  3. Helpful (2)

    "Comp is competitive in the gaming industry but not when compared to tech companies that employees have been lost to"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Development Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pocket Gems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart teammates, flexibility with work schedule, many opportunities to grow

    Cons

    Lower pay compared to larger tech companies in the area like google, fb, Twitter, Dropbox. Employees are being lost to non gaming companies and constantly needing to retrain new hires is hurting the quality off the products

    Continue reading

    Pocket Gems Response

    May 5, 2020Recruiting Team

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We know it’s a hot market and are consistently looking for ways to stay competitive. We appreciate your feedback and wish you all the best on your journey!

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Overall positive experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pocket Gems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible vacation policy (unlimited PTO), generous comp (for some), really smart team members

    Cons

    The company aspired to be a horizontal workplace and encouraged “candor” among its employees, but it was pretty hierarchical / most meaningful decisions about products were handed down from on high. They also short-changed a lot of people with equity — people came on board at the same time & same position but received wildly different equity packages.

    Continue reading

    Pocket Gems Response

    March 11, 2020Recruiting Team

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re glad your experience was positive, and we wish you the best in your future endeavors!

  5. "Great team!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pocket Gems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    collaborative environment - passionate team - upper management goes out of their way to demonstrate that employees are valued

    Cons

    none that come to mind

    Pocket Gems Response

    March 11, 2020Recruiting Team

    Thanks for sharing your experience! We’re always striving to help our teams remain collaborative and engaged. We’re glad you’re enjoying your time at PG!

  6. "Good game company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pocket Gems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Worked with people with a passion for video games

    Cons

    Deadlines were stressful (though pretty much on par with the rest of the game industry)

    Pocket Gems Response

    March 11, 2020Recruiting Team

    Thank you for sharing your experience working at Pocket Gems. Working with people who are truly passionate about video games has been a staple since the beginning of this company, and it’s something we hope to continue fostering moving into the future!

  7. "Great Company! Have worked here my entire career!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Principal Artist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pocket Gems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - great collaborative environment - flexible work hours - passionate team

    Cons

    - expensive location (Bay Area) - crowded commute

    Pocket Gems Response

    December 20, 2019Recruiting Team

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We're proud of the culture and environment we've built at the company over the years and it's Gemmers like you who have helped grow Pocket Gems into the workplace it is today.

  8. "Good place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pocket Gems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Open, fun and diverse culture that i really love to.

    Cons

    Not seeing a prosperous future of this company

    Pocket Gems Response

    November 12, 2019Recruiting Team

    Thank you for writing a review! We’re glad you enjoy being a part of the culture.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great compensation, poor management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pocket Gems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, benefits, work from home options, interesting coworkers.

    Cons

    Poor management. When I started, I was inspired by their vision. By the time I left, I'd been beaten down by poor management, goalposts and deadlines that were constantly moved without any acknowledgment, and a nonstop battle between creative and product management.

    Pocket Gems Response

    November 12, 2019Recruiting Team

    Thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback. One of our values is to work together as one team, and we’ll continue growing in this area as we know that our best work is done together!

  10. "Good place to work on games"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pocket Gems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Feels like a startup, but seems stable enough to last (with two games still going strong after half a decade). While there is a lot of legacy code, that code is not nearly as bad as I feared, compared to most codebases of the same age I've worked on. Games are fun, and coding games is fun. Lots of sharp people, who aren't arrogant. Decent balance between enough process to keep things on track but not too much to drown in, although that does seem largely down to each team to get right independently. Atmosphere, location (downtown SF right off multiple bus/Metro/BART), hours (11-7), perks (food, etc.).

    Cons

    The pay seems good for the games industry, but that's still significantly lower than I could get elsewhere. It seems like, at least for engineers, you're expected to dive in and figure out how things work, quickly, on your own initiative—which I enjoy, but I'm not sure everyone would. The old building may look pretty cool, but it means the office is cold and clammy or hot and muggy whenever the weather isn't great outside. Which is especially unpleasant when we have an all-hands meeting and pack everyone together.

    Pocket Gems Response

    October 8, 2019Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for sharing your experience!

Found 67 reviews