Pocket Gems Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Pocket Gems Reviews

Updated Dec 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Pocket Gems CEO Ben Liu
Ben Liu
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work environment, good work culture(in 7 reviews)

  • "Fun place to work - free food, happy hours, talks, events(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, but nothing else really(in 5 reviews)

  • "The engineers often gripe about product management -- it sometimes feels like they walk all over the engineers (not every manager is alike, though(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company! Have worked here my entire career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Principal Artist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pocket Gems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - great collaborative environment - flexible work hours - passionate team

    Cons

    - expensive location (Bay Area) - crowded commute

    Pocket Gems2019-12-07
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pocket Gems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Open, fun and diverse culture that i really love to.

    Cons

    Not seeing a prosperous future of this company

    Pocket Gems2019-10-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great compensation, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pocket Gems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, benefits, work from home options, interesting coworkers.

    Cons

    Poor management. When I started, I was inspired by their vision. By the time I left, I'd been beaten down by poor management, goalposts and deadlines that were constantly moved without any acknowledgment, and a nonstop battle between creative and product management.

    Pocket Gems2019-11-06
  4. "Good place to work on games"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pocket Gems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Feels like a startup, but seems stable enough to last (with two games still going strong after half a decade). While there is a lot of legacy code, that code is not nearly as bad as I feared, compared to most codebases of the same age I've worked on. Games are fun, and coding games is fun. Lots of sharp people, who aren't arrogant. Decent balance between enough process to keep things on track but not too... much to drown in, although that does seem largely down to each team to get right independently. Atmosphere, location (downtown SF right off multiple bus/Metro/BART), hours (11-7), perks (food, etc.).

    Show More

    Cons

    The pay seems good for the games industry, but that's still significantly lower than I could get elsewhere. It seems like, at least for engineers, you're expected to dive in and figure out how things work, quickly, on your own initiative—which I enjoy, but I'm not sure everyone would. The old building may look pretty cool, but it means the office is cold and clammy or hot and muggy whenever the weather isn't... great outside. Which is especially unpleasant when we have an all-hands meeting and pack everyone together.

    Show More
    Pocket Gems2019-10-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Bad experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Pocket Gems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good location though. Nice view lol.

    Cons

    All of cons you can imagine

    Pocket Gems2019-10-15
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Toxic culture and going downhill since 2 years ago"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pocket Gems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    (1) Some colleagues are extremely supportive, creative and smart. (2) Great location (SF downtown). (3) Not bad perk in gaming industry. (4) Good to join if you have no other options.

    Cons

    (1) Ever since the failure of PG's new game, every insider knows that the company is obviously going downhill with acceleration. Stars are leaving gradually and some people got laid off. (2) The management is like a family run business. The hilarious thing is that they are playing unprofessional management seriously. PG's management emphasize on shifting blames and micro managing. The result is the toxic culture.... Another keyword of the culture is hypocritical, where people pretend to be enthusiastic and love PG but are actually actively seeking jobs outside and blaming leads. If you search the current employees names (both leads and non-leads), without any surprise you'll find many of their resumes were updated on some recruiting platforms quite recently :) (3) My team is not that bad but overall employees are suffering from long hours. For this one it's not only PG's fault, but the original sin of the game industry to get low pay with long hours.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Good luck.

    Pocket Gems2019-09-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pocket Gems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People, culture, benefits, atmosphere, continuous improvement minded staff

    Cons

    Working hours (work doesn´t really begin until 11am and ends late) but we get dinner so that makes up for it

    Advice to Management

    Continue taking care of your people and striving for improvements

    Pocket Gems2019-06-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "good work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Product Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pocket Gems full-time

    Pros

    good benefit, good office environment, good location

    Cons

    there is nothing specifically bad

    Pocket Gems2019-04-03
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Best company I’ve ever worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Artist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pocket Gems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay, perks, relaxed atmosphere, great people, culture, organization, the list goes on and on.

    Cons

    Location. That is the one con, it is located downtown and I am not a huge fan of riding the BART as drug addicts, beggars, litter, etc fill the stations and cars.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up.

    Pocket Gems2019-01-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to develop mobile products, amazing work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pocket Gems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Too many perks to list... Awesome office environment, very 'google'-esc

    Cons

    Can feel left out of the loop on the high level company direction. Can spend too much time on a product, second guessing decisions

    Advice to Management

    Listen to Harlan, I trust him with my life.

    Pocket Gems2019-01-09
Found 61 reviews