Plentyoffish Media Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Plentyoffish Media Reviews

Updated 31 January, 2019
40 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Malgosia Green
6 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plentyoffish Media full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great Place to work. Great People. No complaints.

    Cons

    There are no cons. ideal work environment.


  2. "Great atmosphere, awesome perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advertising Executive in Vancouver, BC
    Former Employee - Advertising Executive in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Plentyoffish Media (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fun company culture, amazing parties, free food, beautiful office with the best view in the city. The other best thing is that although the work impacts millions of users worldwide, it's not life or death, so there is less pressure there. Not to say that expectations are not high, they are, but they are reasonable.

    Cons

    Old technology, with any change to the website, there is a high likelihood of something breaking (which negatively impacts ad revenue), so the CEO was conservative with change, understandably.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! Something I'd love to see in the future would be for each department to share a clear path of what career advancement at POF looks like — it would be motivating for those who crave professional growth.

    Plentyoffish Media Response

    2 Jan, 2019 – People and Culture Manager

    First, we're really grateful to receive your feedback! It is great to hear you had such a great experience at POF. Each department has career guides available and we hope to continue to promote... More

  3. "There are very little/if any negatives to working here. Would encourage anyone to work here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Vancouver, BC
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plentyoffish Media full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Everyone is friendly and easy to talk to
    - Great HR Staff that care and are approachable
    - Unbeatable office view of Vancouver
    - Company really cares about your personal growth
    - Great Xmas party each year (Whistler 3 days)
    - Hackathons
    - Office hosts tech meet-ups
    - Unlimited Snacks and drinks (healthy and unhealthy)
    - Happy Hour - Drinks on Fridays
    - Professional Development Fund allocated to each employee
    - Flexible working hours
    - Everybody gets their Birthday off
    - Lunches and Treats/Surprises most weeks
    - Great Office Manager - creating events and company parties/activities, creating a great company culture. Including celebrations (Baby Showers, Halloween, Valentines Day, Xmas Party, Weddings etc.)
    - POF Swag always available (Umbrellas, Hoodies, T-Shirts, Mugs)
    - Fitness classes available during Lunch/After work
    - Great benefits package
    - Huge Referral Bonus'
    - Bonus opportunities at the end of each year

    Cons

    - Very little negatives to working at POF

    Advice to Management

    At this moment from what I see POF is going in a great direction and happy to be part of it.

    Plentyoffish Media Response

    20 Dec, 2018 – People and Culture Manager

    Thank-you so much for sharing your feedback! We love to hear employee perspectives like this which include the things you love most about working for POF.


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Overall a good place with nice perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Plentyoffish Media full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I've worked for 5 companies in Vancouver, POF was the best of the bunch.

    - Superb office in accessible location, best I ever worked in
    - Decent hardware / software. Never had an issue getting the tools I needed.
    - They really know how to celebrate success!
    - Monday morning tech standup did a good job at motivating us for the week ahead
    - Regular hackathons with few rules, was so awesome for creatives
    - Social employees, lots of good laughs in the kitchen at lunch! In fact I've never smiled so much in any other work place
    - Great coffee and free food selection (requires self discipline haha).
    - Fast responses to issues, engaged team who work collaboratively
    - RSP and medical benefits are decent
    - Christmas parties are legendary for a reason
    - There's a lack of unnecessary process, lean company makes it feel like there aren't too many barriers compared to big orgs (but not sure if that changed since the match.com takeover)

    Cons

    (I left a while ago so things may no longer apply!)

    - Technical staff reported to a project manager which was always a bit odd
    - Office security could be improved
    - No adjustable standing desks which is not good for people with back pain
    - Sprint planning / estimation was a little hit and miss
    - No sprint retrospecitives made it hard to properly learn from mistakes
    - 15 days vacation (like most places in Canada) is not enough. I was able to take unpaid leave but I always felt a bit guilty asking for this as it wasn't encouraged
    - Every few months they'd totally disrupt the teams and shift where everyone is seated and people don't get say in it. Some spots with a lot of foot traffic are terrible for concentration / productivity
    - You could work remotely if you had a specific reason (like a severe cold) but it wasn't an option if you just preferred some time away from the noise to think and knock out some code.
    - There was no traning provided to people holding interviews. I was once interviewing a candidate with someone else who spent the whole time browsing on their laptop and not really listening. That really annoyed and embarrassed me let alone the candidate!

    Plentyoffish Media Response

    20 Dec, 2018 – People and Culture Manager

    We want to say thank-you for taking the time to write a review! Hearing feedback is important to us and it's nice to know what areas we're excelling in and which areas we can improve. You're right in... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Work/Life Balance Extraordinaire's!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plentyoffish Media full-time

    Pros

    Amazing office culture!! They have really mastered work/life balance and appear to do everything in their power to create a fun, welcoming and supportive environment. Tons of work perks like weekly fitness classes, weekly happy hours, endless snacks and drinks and yearly weekend retreat with a ton of great teambuilding and bonding activities. Everyone in the office is incredibly friendly and there is a great team of execs. The whole office uses slack to communicate which makes it fun and easy to get a hold of and talk to coworkers and the company has a really great onboarding process. Really can't say enough good things.

    Cons

    So many snacks and desserts (realistically this is not a con but if you have zero willpower then it is a little bit)

    Plentyoffish Media Response

    10 Sep, 2018 – People & Culture Manager

    We're thrilled to read your review on our work/life balance and culture here at POF and we do enjoy any opportunity to bond with our coworkers and especially love our food! Thank you for sharing your... More


  6. Helpful (3)

    "Changing Times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Plentyoffish Media full-time

    Pros

    Good culture, although that is changing fast
    Interesting product brings big challenges
    Nice view from office
    Improving processes
    Great HR

    Cons

    Cramped quarters
    Rapid cultural change to become more top down
    Declining transparency and stifled debate
    Decisions arent deeply considered, leaving bugs, knee jerk reactions, and wasted time
    Redundant staffing

    Plentyoffish Media Response

    22 Aug, 2018 – People & Culture Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We couldn’t agree more that our product is really interesting and brings big tech challenges which is what makes it exciting to work here... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Work Hard/Play Hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Web Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Current Employee - Senior Web Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plentyoffish Media full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Best company culture I have ever experienced. Company provides: unlimited snacks, drinks every Friday afternoon, and frequently puts on special lunches and social activities for employees. They are selective in their hires to ensure a strong cultural fit, to go with strong technical skills or professional expertise.

    The office is located in a central location with a fantastic view of Vancouver.

    Cons

    You will probably get fat.

    Plentyoffish Media Response

    23 Jul, 2018 – People & Culture Manager

    We're really pleased to hear you've had such a great experience at POF so far and we really take pride in the strength of our company culture. Thank you for sharing your feedback!

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Collaboration with some brilliant people.
    Challenging tasks.
    Flexible work schedule.
    Casual and fun atmosphere.
    Free snacks, and the view from the office is hard to beat.

    Cons

    Fast-paced, sometimes too much so.
    Not enough time to think carefully about the best answer to problems.

    Advice to Management

    Consider implementing some type of profit-sharing incentives tied to individual projects.

    Plentyoffish Media Response

    5 Jun, 2018 – People & Culture Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback!


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plentyoffish Media full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    great open culture, nice in house fitness program, best location with great waterfront view; free snacks and Friday afternoon happy hour.

    Cons

    working space is small, people sit too close to each other.

    Plentyoffish Media Response

    24 Apr, 2018 – People & Culture Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback!


  10. Helpful (2)

    "A fresh breath in my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Automation Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Current Employee - Automation Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plentyoffish Media full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    1. Plenty of opportunity to work hands on latest technologies starting from mobile automation, web and API
    2. Hackathon - loved it, for 2 days you can work on anything you want, build a cool app, present your pitch and take your prize away!
    3. Lunch & learn - share lunch with colleagues while listening attentively to the speaker, never heard of that before!
    4. Snacks - free snack for everyone!
    5. Happy Hour - every Friday you assemble and mingle with others , discussing topics ranging from sports to politics or get warmed up at Foosball table or board games!
    6. Trivia night & V-day party - both are awesome and very captivating!

    Cons

    We are still growing and sometimes it puts a lot of pressure to churn out latest app to our users
    We are trying very hard still scammers/spammers are making our lives really difficult :(

    Advice to Management

    More Recognition and Rewards program will definitely help to boost employee morale.

    Plentyoffish Media Response

    24 Apr, 2018 – People & Culture Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! We're really pleased to hear you're enjoying your time here at POF and you're so right there is always something happening for people to get... More